I've finish a model... "Gundum Hell Custom" model.... I spray the model with metallic black...with a layer of transparent coat... It look Awsome!! But the Tear and wear part, i still trying to make it look Real....Originally posted by Rapture:I have many Zoids already painted.
They look awesome in spraypaint, much better than those hobbyshop toys!!
[This message has been edited by Rapture (edited 23 January 2002).]
Awesome hor ??Originally posted by Adam&Eve:I've finish a model... "Gundum Hell Custom" model.... I spray the model with metallic black...with a layer of transparent coat... It look Awsome!! But the Tear and wear part, i still trying to make it look Real....
Hee... I only bought 4 colours... metallic black, white, transparent and grey...Originally posted by Rapture:Awesome hor ??hehe
try not to use transparent coat on metallic paints. It'll make your colour look dull.
wat other colours have you bought?
1) Nice symbol I really dont know where to get. You can check bookstores which sells stickers, or why not you draw yourself on a white sticker and cut it out? Better this way isnt it?Originally posted by Adam&Eve:Hee... I only bought 4 colours... metallic black, white, transparent and grey...
But I only use 2 colours for the model only, Black and transparent...
I got a few question to ask :
1) Do you know any idea how to get those nice symbols (other than stickers) ... to paste on the model , then spray over it and peel it off ... then the paint will be nicer than the sticker on the model. Hope u get what i mean...
2) I bought the grey colour,... intially for "wear and tear" look but it seems not quite nice...care to teach how to make it more realistic?
3) I got some tips from some webpage ... they said they use weathering to make it look dull ... What do they mean by weathering? Is it put under the sun and rain?
Hey really thanks for the help...now i'm gonna buy another model liao...any nice model to recommend?
Originally posted by Rapture:Just look through the net for models... Hmmm...maybe will be taking the "Kampfer" It looks like a Knight to me... Pretty impressive...
1) Nice symbol I really dont know where to get. You can check bookstores which sells stickers, or why not you draw yourself on a white sticker and cut it out? Better this way isnt it?
2)As someone said above, use sand paper and thinner. Thinner corrodes the plastic away, then you can continue to use sand paper to scrub on the corroded part untill it looks dented. Also use pen knife to carve on it. Then when you decide the part looks "damaged" enough, mask that part and spray paint the "damaged" part with a colour which you think looks "damaged".
Finally after the paint is dry, continue to scrub it [b]lightly with sand paper and chip it with pen knife. Some of the paint will then come off and make it look damaged enough.
Also If necessary, use a brush to touch it up with different colours.
Well, that's my method.
3)Weathering usually makes the model looks like a used combat machine which has gone through countless battles.
I am not to sure how weathering is done but why not you try placing the model under hot sun for many days? The heaT is likely to dull the colours and made them looks old.
If I were you I will even go all the way: placing the model in mud and rain then throw it in the hot sun leaving it to dry and let the wind and heat peel the paints. Finally wash it and dry it clean.
However I suspect that spray paints doesnt have any effect under weathering. Because they are too strong and dont peel. Only Tamiya coulours are likely to peel and become dull. Try it if you want.
If you dont want your model to look old and wear out, dont ever try weathering loh.
I may try it soon, because I have bought a Zoid - Red Horn which is a Styracosaurus. I painted it the wrong colour...yesterday I bought a new one, the old one I will try it on weathering.
As for any nice model to reccomend you, I duno leh. I dont collect Gundam.
[This message has been edited by Rapture (edited 24 January 2002).][/B]
I happen to have one. new of course. email me if you're interestedOriginally posted by Inochi:i only got 1 Gundam W Zero. Been looking forward to have ZZ gundam =p but cannot find sia =(
Originally posted by Mark Liew:Actually if you're looking for gundam model kits you can msg me. I get the stuff in bulk so its even cheaper than comics connection member rates and the clarke quay flea market.
you can check out www.geocities.com/toyblaze if you're interested.
How much cheaper? If I buy 1...still can get cheap?Originally posted by Mark Liew:Actually if you're looking for gundam model kits you can msg me. I get the stuff in bulk so its even cheaper than comics connection member rates and the clarke quay flea market.
you can check out www.geocities.com/toyblaze if you're interested.
Me,i have a MG Patlabor,looks very cool,eheheOriginally posted by aCid_rAIn:who likes patlabor??
does anyone owns a Tallgueese?
care to scan your finsihed model and show us ??Originally posted by Adam&Eve:finish another model...getting better each time ...It need a lot of practise man!
But must take pic leh,...so troublesome.Originally posted by Rapture:care to scan your finsihed model and show us ??
put your model on the scanner and scan lah~Originally posted by Adam&Eve:But must take pic leh,...so troublesome.
why are you planning to buy when you can use spray paint?Originally posted by Adam&Eve:Guys i'm planning to buy airbrush + compressor. Share among 3 person... so any lobang where i can get cheap compressor?
Some of the parts that are very small need fine spraying which a spray paint could not forcus ... Somemore my frds are willing to share... not buy a compressor and an airbrushOriginally posted by Rapture:why are you planning to buy when you can use spray paint?
Aiyo dont need to buy lah.Originally posted by Adam&Eve:Some of the parts that are very small need fine spraying which a spray paint could not forcus ... Somemore my frds are willing to share... not buy a compressor and an airbrush
But my frd sharing lor...no harm tooOriginally posted by Rapture:Aiyo dont need to buy lah.
Can use spray paint on small parts also.
What you need to do is: get some masking (for airbrush) to mask the small part. You can also use white stickers to mask the small part.
Make sure the paint is dry already before you do masking. if you are not sure whether the paint has completely dried, do this first: stick the stickers to clothes and peel them off. Repeat this untill the sticky part no longer feel very sticky. Then mask the small part. This so that the white sticker will not get too sticky and peel of the paint on the model.
Next cover the model with newspaper, only exposing the small part. You can use scotch tapes or masking tapes if you want to stick the newspaper togther.
Then you can continue to use the spray paint.
This is what I did, saved me a lot of money buying the compressor.
[This message has been edited by Rapture (edited 05 February 2002).]
Hai, Patlabor, a have a love hate relationship with them.Originally posted by aCid_rAIn:who likes patlabor??
does anyone owns a Tallgueese?
------------------
One world
One love One mind
One soul One life
One peace One goal
The MG Patlabor is quite ok leh.The quality is expected from an MG model,eehehOriginally posted by hermanchauw:Hai, Patlabor, a have a love hate relationship with them.
I love the vinyl parts, look so cool and makes the model realistic with their flexibility.
But the normal Patlabor models are not very high quality, and MANY seams to fill and sand.