singapore is filled with them, can't blame itOriginally posted by aCid_rAIn:we have a quitter whining and bitching about his life. nothing more than that.
You're just jealous you do not have the ability to leave this place.Have you ever stepped for one moment outside our shores and stayed on local terms for more than a week?Originally posted by aCid_rAIn:we have a quitter whining and bitching about his life. nothing more than that.
Ironically, the system that we run away from gave us a chance to walk ahead of others overseas.But let's not get too sentimental, these days, you gotta cover your six before clearing that room full of baddies ahead.Originally posted by Beep:like i say, online is a unique platform for people to air their views, so dun hastily condemn others as quitters, etc etc..
what he say does make sense, well, to a certain extend you know.. a china scholar maybe (just maybe) would be saying this to his fellow countrymen in china about singapore, about how Singapore offers him/her endless possibilities, be it in academic or economical pursuits... , i believe, personally of course, that saying singapore hammers down opportunities for her citizens is downright untrue.. we're actually opened to many opportunities the moment we're born, but its always the competition that closes them all...
look, actually i've a point to make here, no, im not nationalistic, well its just being fair you know to say this..
You see, in Singapore, whether you're born into a chink, mat, or ah neh family, whether you live in a 1 room flat or a freehold SemiD doesnt really affect what your furture to be, its basically hard work... a son of any random cabbie, if he works hard enough (not just in studies, but in arts and sports too) he is able to be successful. just look at some of our ministers, they're sons of butchers, etc..etc..
now lets look back at america and australian.. come on, lets just say you're born into a black ghetto or an aboriginal community in Australia... now buddy, whats your chances of success? Are you exposed to equal opportunities in comparism to the whites there?
++
a point to think about
And the FTs here feel second class?I beg to differ..there is no shame in taking up foreign citizenship and impressions are all in your mind.Originally posted by dragg:but if you emigrate and take up foreign citzenship or whatnot you are still 2nd class citizen to them.
YOU DONT AND WONT BELONG!!!
dont compare our PR/citizenship policies with other countries.Originally posted by LazerLordz:And the FTs here feel second class?I beg to differ..there is no shame in taking up foreign citizenship and impressions are all in your mind.
Get with the flow and live their way of life.Same as those who come here, get with it and live our way of life.
Heard and read...Have you lived there for long, walked and breathed the suburbian air and not in the typical tourist spots?Originally posted by dragg:dont compare our PR/citizenship policies with other countries.
we are cosmopolitan. our people and govt generally welcome foreigners of any race/nationalities. australia doesnt. there are a lot of racism there. unlike angmo from other countries we, asians can hardly blend into their society.
i have heard and read of lots of stories about asians being targetted there.
Well, that's one thing we can agree on.Lots of us indulge in casual racism not knowing that the other party might mind.But if it aint malicious, we could just look past it and ignore it as part of our local fabric, where the average EQ level is still stuck somewhere between the mud and the first tree branch.Originally posted by vito_corleone:IMO singapore is the most racist..for example, even if you're born and bred here all your life but if you have white skin you're called an "ang moh", an outsider. in the states never once have i been called a chink or yellow belly, nor did they regard me as a foreign intruder into their country, i was treated just like any other american..same thing in australia..so stop listening to the MITA's bullcrap and go travel more to experience things yourself before making any stupid comments.
Haha,that I've seen, but it's not racism by the Aussies, more like us who are laidback , pointing them out and having a hoot over our "kiasu" cousins.Originally posted by Harris_JeyaRaj:No offence to Chinese....But they are a bit racist in some countries towards chinks...because the reason is plain simple..They brought their Singaporean "kiasuism" over there....And Kiausism is more identified with chinks than malays or Indians..Indians or others may have it easier there because they are able to blend in attitude wise....
Amen to that.China students...ooh their pure, unravaged, uncouth and loud academic attempts to appear smart just cracks me up on the train.Now that's not racism, that's factual reporting.Originally posted by vito_corleone:whatever it is..try your very best to blend in and adapt to the local lifestyle...don't act like a bloody tourist or some weirdo who just wants to stick to his own click like a lot of china students here.