mainly debts n earnin too littleOriginally posted by Peppermint:in another topic posted previously on how much you save....majority forummers seem to have difficulty...saving up...is it because of upkeep of lifestyle? earning too little? or too much finanical committments?
will the thought of u losing your job today spur u on to save more for rainy days?
of course that assumes that...you are able to eat at home, stay with parents, got bf ^^...etc etc..Originally posted by FireIce:low income, high expenditure........
mainly on food, transport.......
if im out of job (touch wood) but everyday at home zo bo, expenses will be low loh......
How come he bought so much insurances? hopefully he bought the correct policies.. I'm already saving some $$ in case i got retrenched or quit my job so that i have the $$ for pay for my expenses such as insurance bills, HP bills etc.. The amount of $ he owned Credit is not hugh but imaging the longer he draged.. the higher the interests..Originally posted by Peppermint:for how long if you lost your job today?
was chatting with a gal friend of mine..she mentioned that her bf (28 this yr) will be out of job this year due to end of contract...
apparently...her bf owes abt 3k of credit card debts and has almost close to 0 savings...part of the money is spend giving to parents (abt 400-500) and payment of insurance premiums (abt 400)...the rest about 1.5k?? no idea....most likely on entertainment...and daily expenses...
the 0 savings is frightening (to me at least) despite him getting about 2.5k (after cpf). more importantly..how is he going to finance his premiums and lifestyle while he is looking for a job?
in another topic posted previously on how much you save....majority forummers seem to have difficulty...saving up...is it because of upkeep of lifestyle? earning too little? or too much finanical committments?
will the thought of u losing your job today spur u on to save more for rainy days?
if u're out of job.. i dont think u will be able to contribute to the family.. unless u really SAVE a lot..Originally posted by Peppermint:of course that assumes that...you are able to eat at home, stay with parents, got bf ^^...etc etc..
i suppose u do not have to contribute to household expenses? like daily essentials? utlities bills?
if you do...will it still be low?
yes me also wondering what sort of insurances policies he bought...Originally posted by tokyofire:How come he bought so much insurances? hopefully he bought the correct policies.. I'm already saving some $$ in case i got retrenched or quit my job so that i have the $$ for pay for my expenses such as insurance bills, HP bills etc.. The amount of $ he owned Credit is not hugh but imaging the longer he draged.. the higher the interests..
assuming my expenses remain constant...(not boasting or what) but i can survive for about a year...this would include contributions to the family...Originally posted by tokyofire:if u're out of job.. i dont think u will be able to contribute to the family.. unless u really SAVE a lot..
u're doing much better than i!!Originally posted by Ito_^:3 days.![]()
no, im serious.
ehh are u working full time?Originally posted by Ito_^:3 days.![]()
no, im serious.
are you an insurance agent?Originally posted by tokyofire:Let me give some of u guys a bit of advises..
First of all, try to save a min amount of money.
Gross salary x 3 times
$y x 3 = $3y
This will be ya emergency money.. never try to touch this amount of $$. Always try to save this emergency money first.
Insurances is not a must.. just get something that is enough for u.. remember to have critical illiness in ya policy.. will save u if u have the 30 Major CI.
Get a good hospitial plan to protect yaself from high medical costs.
There is a nice website where u guys can learn about insurances and investments.
http://forums.sgfunds.com/
Hope it benefits u guys~
come come.. here is 10 bucks. there another day will pass.Originally posted by sonicworld76:No i dun have, i will die on the spot
Dear Peppermint,Originally posted by Peppermint:assuming my expenses remain constant...(not boasting or what) but i can survive for about a year...this would include contributions to the family...
after that if i still have no job / other income...i will have to depend on my income from investments...
edit
this is because like i mentioned..i live a frugal lifestlye...no clubbing, expensive gadets, drinking, car, cc debts etc...almost to the point of boring
then u are still ok lah ;pOriginally posted by Ito_^:come come.. here is 10 bucks. there another day will pass.![]()
no la! of cuz im not a full time worker, haven even go ns u say leh.![]()
dragg,Originally posted by dragg:are you an insurance agent?
yes its always not enuff...however much we plan...someone up there/down there has other plans for uOriginally posted by tokyofire:Dear Peppermint,
It's possible to survive for a year with contributions to family. Only if u have low expenses and alot of saving.. but remember that as time goes by, ya saving will decreases.. But remember there is always unseem circumstances like Health problems, Hospitalisation etc which will cost u a bomb nowdays.
And when u're really down on luck.. lot of unlucky things start to happen.. (maybe true or not)
Always be prepared to for the worse..