Not a necessity but doesn't mean don't learn.Originally posted by stellazio:after all..good english weren't exactly needed to qualify you to enter the poly..![]()
the way you put it is rather insulting.Originally posted by Einstein99:I think poly education in SG is to give everyone paper qualification so that they can find a job.
In most country, there's elementary or primary school, secondary or high school and then uni. I think poly is set up for those who cannot make it to uni so as to reduce the social problem of too many unemployed ppl around.
Therefore, I think it's no necessary to subsidise more for poly edu.
Isn't that the way for US?Originally posted by dragg:the way you put it is rather insulting.
Originally posted by tRiAgE:In order to be old and wise;one must first be young and stopid
that's such a sweeping statement.Originally posted by Einstein99:I think poly education in SG is to give everyone paper qualification so that they can find a job.
In most country, there's elementary or primary school, secondary or high school and then uni. I think poly is set up for those who cannot make it to uni so as to reduce the social problem of too many unemployed ppl around.
Therefore, I think it's no necessary to subsidise more for poly edu.
Poly was an institution that provides education for students who can't get into a JC.. sth like an ITE, but with more stuff inside. that was what i heard from my uncle.Originally posted by aCid_rAIn:that's such a sweeping statement.
please know the hard facts before u disgrace urself.
At least he did get his facts right, just that he didn get the time line rightOriginally posted by aCid_rAIn:that's wat the older generations are thinking, perhaps even true in the old days. but things had changed in this generation and poly actually offer specialised courses in preparation for further studies in the particular field or career skills.
people do get good grades for o'lvl and goes to poly too cos they have an idea of what they want to study and some also want to make their own choices instead of following the so called enlightened-road-to-uni-through-jc; nothing against JC though.
einstein still have that kinda mindset which looks at poly like a 2nd grade educational institution which i would beg to differ. such thinkings should be changed for the benefit of himself and people ard him to prevent rather foolish comments to come out of him.
well, there are still some ppl with that kinda mindset. like my mom. she thinks i'm dumb becos i entered poly. well i was dumb not to work harder to get into Ngee Ann.. or temasek.. i wanted to do finance.. i went to nyp, did finance for a while n left. the depth wasn there.. the diversity was there tho...Originally posted by aCid_rAIn:so am i.
that's y i dun understand y people still have this kinda mindset. i must say i have the points to get in the top JCs but i made the choice.
ITE's gettin better, they are now offering courses that was once only available in poly..Originally posted by sohguanh:I think time makes a difference in this debate between poly n JC. Maybe when poly was created during that time, it's intention was quite different from that of JC. It's aim is to produce graduates that will be deployed to the working world right after they finish their studies and NS if applicable. JC on the other hand was meant as the only way to enter the local University in this route.
The only constant is change so now I think Poly has evolved and that the distinction is getting blurrer. There are now more places in Uni for Poly graduates. In fact, I heard there are actually courses not offered in Uni but only in Poly. Some kind of specialisation field I guess.
Maybe we can take the debate to say ITE vs Poly? Differences?
the intention of having ITE is to supply cheap labour to the market and also to provide a route to those who have nowhere better to go after poor 'o' level results.Originally posted by sohguanh:I think time makes a difference in this debate between poly n JC. Maybe when poly was created during that time, it's intention was quite different from that of JC. It's aim is to produce graduates that will be deployed to the working world right after they finish their studies and NS if applicable. JC on the other hand was meant as the only way to enter the local University in this route.
The only constant is change so now I think Poly has evolved and that the distinction is getting blurrer. There are now more places in Uni for Poly graduates. In fact, I heard there are actually courses not offered in Uni but only in Poly. Some kind of specialisation field I guess.
Maybe we can take the debate to say ITE vs Poly? Differences?
Well..Im looking at the annual report. The gahmen give my poly $188,000,000 in grants last year....but I feel that they should give more....I think poly fees are still very highOriginally posted by shinta:ah shade ar... u should go read up u know... the government subsidised quite a huge sum liao wor...
think around 10k is subsidised per sem..
can't rmb
Go read up teh breakdown on ur tuition fees...Originally posted by shade343:Well..Im looking at the annual report. The gahmen give my poly $188,000,000 in grants last year....but I feel that they should give more....I think poly fees are still very high![]()
cost me at least 2k per year
Yah I read that liao its around 11.5k per year, gahmen subsidise 9k....but I think more can still be done...my expense is very high as compared to a JC student...Originally posted by shinta:Go read up teh breakdown on ur tuition fees...
10 k per year/sem de..