Originally posted by daphne_1802:I think the critical word is "shout".....reminds me of me shouting Hokkien to my grandfather, not because I'm using expletives to scold him but because he is hard of hearing....
seriously if i am a foreigner and i havent been living in singapore, if i hear someone shouting in hokien, i would think they are scolding me. i choose to stay away as much as possible to ppl in this category
relax lah...Originally posted by CoolMyth:I think the critical word is "shout".....reminds me of me shouting Hokkien to my grandfather, not because I'm using expletives to scold him but because he is hard of hearing....
Similarly, what will be your first impression if someone shouts, not necessarily at you, using other languages? Are they scolding you? Not very likely. For example, those people that keep shouting "Lelong, Lelong!....", do you think they are scolding at you?
Paiseh, got a bit carried away....Originally posted by laurence82:Har? Since when i said speaking Hokkien reflects badly on me or that Hokkien is a vulgar language by itself?![]()
Nothing, right?Originally posted by Mr Fugue:where got?![]()
Nah, I'm not worked up or anything.....Originally posted by hyuuga neji:relax lah...
dun get so worked up...
wo bu zhi dao.Originally posted by CoolMyth:Nothing, right?![]()
relax bro...Originally posted by CoolMyth:Nah, I'm not worked up or anything.....Just felt like using some "brain-power" and improving my argumentative skills and suddenly saw this topic....
har? Eminem is a frequent user of expletives so much, that his first song alreadi kena censored like hellOriginally posted by daphne_1802:its depressing my school is half filled with these ppl who only speak hokien and chinese. i can assure u in any given day, u will hear the word ccb and at least 2 other hokien vulgarities if u sit in the canteen for an hour. these ppl actually shout them across the canteen shamelessly. its even sadder than ppl do not even read newspaper or never even heard of famous singers like..say eminem or britney spears. u may disagree with me but i think these ppl who behave immaturely ought to be shot
Originally posted by daphne_1802:eminem??? britney spears???
its depressing my school is half filled with these ppl who only speak hokien and chinese. i can assure u in any given day, u will hear the word ccb and at least 2 other hokien vulgarities if u sit in the canteen for an hour. these ppl actually shout them across the canteen shamelessly. its even sadder than ppl do not even read newspaper or never even heard of famous singers like..say eminem or britney spears. u may disagree with me but i think these ppl who behave immaturely ought to be shot
french gangster screaming explicitives in frenchOriginally posted by Mr Fugue:to sum it uplanguage stereotypes.
Originally posted by CoolMyth:Sigh.Daphne needed two pages to get her point across.The role of language as a communication tool has failed.
".....[b]low class are those who has limited vocab and speaks only in hokien, always repeating the same few words that are almost all vulgarities and unplesant words...."
You've only met people who know only the "vulgar Hokkien"....It is unfortunate that your belief is that those who use them excessively is low class....
But have you met people who can speak about local and global affairs using Hokkien? Or even those who converse using Hokkien with no vulgar language involved?
Using expletives itself is a "low-class" act. But classifying those who often use Hokkien just to converse with others and bringing them together, saying that they are low class is seriously wrong.[/b]
No, really, I'm fine here. I'm just into my "argumentative if a bit incoherent" mode....Originally posted by Mr Fugue:relax bro...![]()
dun get so worked up.![]()
Originally posted by hyuuga neji:french gangster screaming explicitives in frenchhigh class???
average s'porean conversing in hokkienlow class???

so never heard of britney is low class???Originally posted by daphne_1802:its depressing my school is half filled with these ppl who only speak hokien and chinese. i can assure u in any given day, u will hear the word ccb and at least 2 other hokien vulgarities if u sit in the canteen for an hour. these ppl actually shout them across the canteen shamelessly. its even sadder than ppl do not even read newspaper or never even heard of famous singers like..say eminem or britney spears. u may disagree with me but i think these ppl who behave immaturely ought to be shot
realli , what lazerlord said is trueOriginally posted by daphne_1802:i'd rather english expletives than the hokien language in general. hearing a person speak in hokien can be more offensive than a single vulgarity in the english language. swearing in english does not make u low class. besides that, so what if eminem has explicit lyrics in his songs. he is famous because of that and it is the reason why his records go platinum in such a short time. he is certainly not low class.
i only see red crosses...Originally posted by CoolMyth:Come, I add this pic as well:![]()

Originally posted by Mr Fugue:
if an angmo knows how to speak hokien, he certainly has the brains to act mature enough not to spew hokien vulgarites that are the most hurting, unless neccessary. unlike some singaporean chinese especially who say it on purpose to offend ppl and to 'act' gangster which is uncool and low class. angmo itself is already a hokien word too.Originally posted by hyuuga neji:miss daphne...
let me ask you...
if a ang mo guy starts conversing in hokkien...
will he be deemed as low class or a very smart person???
English expletives > Hokkien language?Originally posted by daphne_1802:i'd rather english expletives than the hokien language in general. hearing a person speak in hokien can be more offensive than a single vulgarity in the english language. swearing in english does not make u low class. besides that, so what if eminem has explicit lyrics in his songs. he is famous because of that and it is the reason why his records go platinum in such a short time. he is certainly not low class.
Originally posted by daphne_1802:History of the word: "angmo"
if an angmo knows how to speak hokien, he certainly has the brains to act mature enough not to spew hokien vulgarites that are the most hurting, unless neccessary. unlike some singaporean chinese especially who say it on purpose to offend ppl and to 'act' gangster which is uncool and low class. angmo itself is already a hokien word too.