Perception or Discrimination . . . ? ?Originally posted by daphne_1802:i'd rather english expletives than the hokien language in general. hearing a person speak in hokien can be more offensive than a single vulgarity in the english language. swearing in english does not make u low class. besides that, so what if eminem has explicit lyrics in his songs. he is famous because of that and it is the reason why his records go platinum in such a short time. he is certainly not low class.
Yes bro. I totally agree with u. Such an immature comment from the thread starter. Muz be those jia kang tang gin na( Opps i use hokkien, i'm low class anyway )Originally posted by 105090:i think a chinese who dont speak chinese but prefers english is low class! adopting an enemy's language is definitely worst!! maybe u r rite, most hokkien-speaking scold vulgarities, but vulgarites in english is still there, and i tell you, there are more powerful hurtful words in the english language than chinese or dialects.. dialects, as 1 guy said, brings homeliness. talking to the hawker or neighbour makes you open up more as u 2 talk in a tongue ccomfortable to both.. maybe thats why u dont see a chinese guy and a malay guy talk in english as friends, but in hokkien or bahasa melayu? i dont feel good talking to another chinese in english either..
please, ms daphne, if u cant beat them, join them! IF you are born after 1990, i cant blame you if you dont speak and hate hokkien, but fm ur profile, u in 1982, should know how to speak.. i spoke hokkien since small.. i tresyre it as an asset, which is slowly dying and is endangered in singapore.. when i went to xiamen, i got no problems talking there! with ur condition, maybe you are out of bounds from china etc..
so what happens if some1 scolds you in melayu, and u dont undertand? assume its vulgar also? u only know wht is KNN and CCB in hokkien only.. thats why u think hokkien all vulgar, and Cantonese ppl and hokkien pl are very rich , look at HK, look at Macau, look at Taiwan!
go and think of what u had said to make so many people unhappy.
haha... True man. I dunno why they wanna act like know how to speak, really disgusting n ambarrassing if speak to those tat really know how to speak proper hokkien.Originally posted by 105090:Majority of Chinese Singaporeans knows and speak hokkien.. you cant escape from it.. its an asset, rather than a shame.. those who know good english, but not mother tongue//dialect is more shame.. i look down on today's youth who like to kay kiang talk a bit of hokkien etc.. want to speak, speak proper hokkien! and if u go to taiwan or xiamen, u sure die..
Spore english, how much can we expect from the banana gang. More or less broken one la...Originally posted by Dounut:All in all, I don't look up on those people, who look down on others for not able to communicate with them in English. Yet, they themselves, their English are not fantistic anyway . . .![]()
Worst, if they were actually speaking "Broken" English . . .![]()
ahem actually it really depends on where and what company you grow up. personally grew up in an environment where more cantonese is spoken but not hokkien, so do reconsider your statement.Originally posted by 105090:i
please, ms daphne, if u cant beat them, join them! IF you are born after 1990, i cant blame you if you dont speak and hate hokkien, but fm ur profile, u in 1982, should know how to speak.. i spoke hokkien since small.. i tresyre it as an asset, which is slowly dying and is endangered in singapore.. when i went to xiamen, i got no problems talking there! with ur condition, maybe you are out of bounds from china etc..
Than don't look down on others who speak non English . .Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Spore english, how much can we expect from the banana gang. More or less broken one la...
Yeah theres a point here but the problem is this kid is insulting our chinese culture n langauge... Bloody he ll. She / he is a disgrace to human race... A lost soul.Originally posted by hisoka:ahem actually it really depends on where and what company you grow up. personally grew up in an environment where more cantonese is spoken but not hokkien, so do reconsider your statement.
in addition there is actually chances where the parents in a bid to do good actually tried to limit dialect assess so the kid learns more englisha nd chinese. nothign really wrong with that since dialect is not essiential.
May the person u mix wid are poser so u will think tat way?Originally posted by daphne_1802:YES i hate ppl who speak hokien 80% of the time and chinese when they arent speaking hokien. needless to say they sound ungentle and vulgar and they think acting like that is cool.
Originally posted by 105090:Haha, well said...
HIGH CLASS: in asia, singaporeans: [b]the 5 Cs, speaks friendly but in a shed crocodile tears manner, law by law, spent money on unnecessary frills, eat out, not cook at home, HATE kids, thinks traditional things are old-fashioned and stupid, spoils SG image, buys everything, nothing is home-cooked.. buys from branded shops eg.Breadtalk. use High-end nokia phone, takes TODAY newspaper, take taxi, wear nice nice to even downstairs.
in actual fact, high class means saving ur face, not be malu, means pleasing yourself for the sake of pleasing people and make yourself look expensive
LOW CLASS: ppl who have more hospitablity, speak in a friendly manner as in sincerity, closing one's eye, not minding small things, believes the tradition and the original is the best. makes own pineapple tarts, buy bread from HDB shop, takes feeder bus, and save up $$
in actual fact, u care about yourself, and not others views. u let things go on as they are. natural, not artificial. as they say, old is best, old is gold.. the good old days.. [/b]
Well, I have taxi drivers that open up to me the minute I start telling them directions in Hokkien.Originally posted by Prestroz:Haha, well said...Singaporeans are getting more materialistic than ever, and I dun deny that I'm part of them... but striking a balance is important though, having extreme materialistic ideas makes one a sore thumb to others, while saving too much is like a torture to oneself... wat matters the most is doing what you're comfortable with... like me, I enjoy buying higher end stuff like handphones, electronic products, sports stuff etc... but at the same time, I still enjoy hawker centre, drinking traditional kopitiam kopi and taking bus... so am I high class or low class
haha...
Singaporeans just don't understand how powerful languages are... with westernization, english is considered as "high class" while chinese and dialects are "low class". Like wat's discussed earlier, english is a foreign language but mandarin and dialects are our roots... Individuals who can only speak good english are so common to the extent that they are not valuable anymore. On the other hand how many people can really speak good mandarin and dialects... many chinese can't even pronounce evening" in mandarin properly, saying "Pang Wan" with the actual pronunciation should be "Bang Wan"... It's reali a shame...Personally I'm a hokkien, and I can converse well in both english, chinese as well as hokkien and teochew. I'm ready to switch to different languages if the need arise... crudeness in all in the speaker... not the language... being in sales previously, I've seen CEOs and directors from many big companies prefer to speak to me in dialects rather than english... some of them are even masters and PHD holders from renowned universities in the world... It creates that unique bond which english lacks, and obviously, there's a higher chances of a deal being closed... even trivial things like buying at hawker centre, speaking dialects can also create this bond which could result in more fish ball in fish ball noodles... haha
englishc cannnot be considered a foreign language as almost everybody in every single country takes up english as thier first language and it definately sounds more high class than certain languages. i really dont mind not having the fish ball noodles as i dont fancy food like that. why go to a hawker centre if there are food courts that are air-conditioned and more hygenic? and even so, the food is so expensive i rather add in a dollar or so to go to a fast food restaurant where its so much better.Originally posted by Prestroz:Haha, well said...Singaporeans are getting more materialistic than ever, and I dun deny that I'm part of them... but striking a balance is important though, having extreme materialistic ideas makes one a sore thumb to others, while saving too much is like a torture to oneself... wat matters the most is doing what you're comfortable with... like me, I enjoy buying higher end stuff like handphones, electronic products, sports stuff etc... but at the same time, I still enjoy hawker centre, drinking traditional kopitiam kopi and taking bus... so am I high class or low class
haha...
Singaporeans just don't understand how powerful languages are... with westernization, english is considered as "high class" while chinese and dialects are "low class". Like wat's discussed earlier, english is a foreign language but mandarin and dialects are our roots... Individuals who can only speak good english are so common to the extent that they are not valuable anymore. On the other hand how many people can really speak good mandarin and dialects... many chinese can't even pronounce evening" in mandarin properly, saying "Pang Wan" with the actual pronunciation should be "Bang Wan"... It's reali a shame...Personally I'm a hokkien, and I can converse well in both english, chinese as well as hokkien and teochew. I'm ready to switch to different languages if the need arise... crudeness in all in the speaker... not the language... being in sales previously, I've seen CEOs and directors from many big companies prefer to speak to me in dialects rather than english... some of them are even masters and PHD holders from renowned universities in the world... It creates that unique bond which english lacks, and obviously, there's a higher chances of a deal being closed... even trivial things like buying at hawker centre, speaking dialects can also create this bond which could result in more fish ball in fish ball noodles... haha
bitter-sweet.. but yes, many parents actually prevent their kids from learning dialects, presumbly thinknig its low class to a n extent.. and, as we study 2 languages now, ppl end up on a half-past-6.. bad in chinese, and sadly, not good in english either.. broken english, non-standard/proper english mixed with malay, chinese etc.. maybe Singaoreans shouldnt be let to study in 2 languages compulsoryily, but rather, to study English OR cchinese, with a 2nd language voluntarily..Originally posted by hisoka:in addition there is actually chances where the parents in a bid to do good actually tried to limit dialect assess so the kid learns more englisha nd chinese. nothign really wrong with that since dialect is not essiential.
ni jiang sem mohOriginally posted by 105090:.. k daphne.. since u told us u not really 100% chinese, i can understand better.. from experience, most of my classmates who are of eurasian roots or learn chinese/malay as a mother tongue always flunk in their 2nd language. say a person has chinese/portugese parents, so he comes here, take chinese. but he does not have any1 to speak to in chinese etc, so of course the impression gets worse..
However, if you are born in singapore, u are no different from any other singaporean born locally, despite your roots. if u came here when you are a child, then not good in chinese is understandable..
btw, i hope u said u passed chinese, is not the mother tongue B syllabus..
PS. i got friends who thought the same as you, i understand a bit of ur plight, still, SG by large, remained traditional despite westernised, and this is important as a role-model for future generations.
peace..