you should just ask the seller how much shipping is on their side. and if you think its too ex, (most earn some cash from there) you can choose not to buy.Originally posted by Glen999:hi all,
first time trying ebay. found an item in USA although i'm in singapore now. the item is like a shoebox in size but not heavy, how much is the shipping?
any experience to share? thanx.
ebay sellers have their own rates lah!!Originally posted by FireIce:

I"m an experience ebay user, can ask me.Originally posted by Glen999:hi all,
first time trying ebay. found an item in USA although i'm in singapore now. the item is like a shoebox in size but not heavy, how much is the shipping?
any experience to share? thanx.
can post an example on how you save by singpost? i haven't use vpost before, so.. im curious how you can save on say a single item?Originally posted by FireIce:international shipping might be more costly
so vpostUSA has this service whereby ur purchases (from ebay or other e-stores) will be shipped to a US address, leveraging on the cheaper or free local shipping.....
ur item will be then shipped to singapore by singpost.....and on a cheaper rate than direct intl shipping
i have been using this for quite a while and it relli helped me save a lot on freight charges......
i shop heavily on the net......and if i encounter shops or sellers tt dun freight overseas, i will use vpostUSA.....
u may PM me for more info about buying from the net or shipping.....![]()
if you're buyer, no use. sellers will hv their own method of shipping, can't force them to use yr method.Originally posted by Ito_^:can post an example on how you save by singpost? i haven't use vpost before, so.. im curious how you can save on say a single item?
jus a quick illustrationOriginally posted by Ito_^:can post an example on how you save by singpost? i haven't use vpost before, so.. im curious how you can save on say a single item?
it will send to a us address, nothing to do with method of shipping. domestic shipping is cheaper, but im more thinking of what goes after that.Originally posted by Mr Fugue:if you're buyer, no use. sellers will hv their own method of shipping, can't force them to use yr method.
some sellers do "combine" shipping, but the cons is that you have to wait for other auctions to end, but you may not win all of them. so in the end, wait for nothing.Originally posted by Ito_^:it will send to a us address, nothing to do with method of shipping. domestic shipping is cheaper, but im more thinking of what goes after that.
of cuz if i stack em up, it will somewhat save.. but what about single items? and save how much?
oh i see.. but thats for air right? is it cheaper than the usual surface mail like fed post? both needs 3 weeks anyway.Originally posted by FireIce:jus a quick illustration
i buy a dress - USD$100
if ship to SG direct, the handling charge and freight is USD$35
if ship to a US address, freight charge $5
so i choose to ship to vpostUSA's address
vpostUSA receives the package and sent me email, tell me the freight cost is S$12*
so i only need to pay about S$20 instead of S$50+ for shipping
perhaps the only boo is that......the package takes 3 weeks to reach me......
direct intl shipping will be faster....
*note tt this is jus an example, to find out about vpostUSA's rate, pls refer to the link i have provided above and use the calculator....also depends on item.....
i think it's by per shipment....Originally posted by Ito_^:of cuz if i stack em up, it will somewhat save.. but what about single items? and save how much?
Originally posted by Mr Fugue:so, you live in US?
you live in sg, but send to us then to sg?Originally posted by Ito_^:no la.. im juz telling him, with vpost its gonna get sent to us address first la.
i dun send.. aiyo..Originally posted by Mr Fugue:you live in sg, but send to us then to sg?
dun make sense to me lehz...
for ebay auctions, if the item u die die must hv or veri RARE, I myself won't be so calculative abt a few dollars for shipping.
must see the big picture mah.![]()
oh, you're a seller. that's a diff story. what's yr nick in ebay, maybe I've bought from u?Originally posted by Ito_^:i dun send.. aiyo..
i said, the item will send from u.s to u.s (domestic mah) den from u.s den to singapore. rather den from u.s straight to singapore. i noe some sellers purposely charge higher for international (being myself oso wad), thats why the so-called flat rate. and like fi says, combine simply sucks.
and some simply dun send internationally.
secondly, i wanna compare us postal and vpost de pricing. so if vpost pricing damm cheap den might as well use vpost cuz some items got free domestic shipping for u.s.
i noe wad vpost is, sign up le, but never try before.. lol..
big picture is, if you buy every month den whole year will be freaking costly.
u bought stained panty from me har?Originally posted by Mr Fugue:oh, you're a seller. that's a diff story. what's yr nick in ebay, maybe I've bought from u?![]()
:lol nvm ill give it a try anyways..Originally posted by FireIce:at least vpostUSA quote me in SGD
now the exchange rate is 1.7 leh.......
tt time it went as low as 1.63......i bought a lotta stuff..........
all need few days to process. he is screwed.Originally posted by FireIce:Verify your account by:
(a) Apply for our Giro-On-Demand (GOOD).
GOOD is a flexible payment mode by vPOST that lets you control how much and when you want to pay. Click here to download form. Please allow 3 weeks for banks to process your application
(b) Bring along your NRIC/FIN to any Post Office.
Our customer service officer will assist you with your request.
(c) *Email / Fax / Mail a copy of your NRIC/FIN to:
- Email: [email protected]
- Fax: 6841 3982
- Mail: 10 Eunos Road 8, #07-33, Singapore Post Centre, Singapore 408600
*Note: For customers who email/fax/mail, a letter will be sent to your address as stated in your NRIC/FIN. This letter contains a PIN number for you to activate your vPOST account. Upon receiving the letter, log on to www.vpost.com.sg to activate your account.