think better not....confirmed this show will be making me wash my face with tears liaoOriginally posted by FireIce:gotta see the movie!!!
i was in a music forum and got a siao kia said she watched it 90+ times and everytime she watch it she will cry..........
my suggestion is, in the first place, u shouldnt get a digital piano... since u are keen in learning, u should invest in a proper instrument (acoustic piano)... sound is different, touch response is different, and worse stil, weight of the key is so different... possiblility is, when u finally try to play ur pieces on an acoustic piano, u may find difficulty pressing the keys becoz the weight is heavier...Originally posted by a_splash:long long ago......when i was mid way p6 to sec 1....then my studies no good....i had a tok with mum.....we decided tat i stopped the piano then....but my teacher said its a waste cos i hv the interest there...too bad....
learning piano has always been on my mind....and i tot maybe when the kids grow up and if i can afford i will get one to learn....
din know my wish can be fulfilled earlier...spotted a second hand digital piano clavinos (sp?) $800 at yamaha, had a strong urge to buy..and here i am....
tuning is oni 50-60 every half a year... and the heater is 15watts oni... oni 10cents per day... how much can u waste on getting proper practice?? after all, digital piano teks more electricity bills when u turn it on for two hours a day everyday...Originally posted by a_splash:did thot of looking for 2nd hand upright..but i tot about the running cost of fine-tuning ( annually??) and also have to keep the humidifyer on 24hrs rite?? Wasn't sure then if i will hv much time to play and also not sure if there will be many music pieces i can play by self learning with my standard.......
as for my girl's interest to play.....was not expected....
send mi the song pls... thankx !! pm u my email le..Originally posted by FireIce:the movie is R(A)
not sure if you can get it from ur usual vcd shops.....
so far i have not seen it in singapore
a fren got it for me from msia.....
i have the theme song by michael nyman "The Heart Asks The Pleasure First"
if you have a gmail or yahoo acct i can send to you....
sent~Originally posted by carpe diem jur:send mi the song pls... thankx !! pm u my email le..
i can consider if it's a steinwayOriginally posted by k4korny:I got an upright piano at home.. anyone interested can PM me. I'll sell it cheap cheap*!! cos my mum will be happy to get rid of it, since nobody is playing it anyway.
wha!!.. sure anot.. need so pro..Originally posted by FireIce:i can consider if it's a steinway
how u know!Originally posted by k4korny:u part time play at hotel lobby one ah?
Beethoven.. u look at his face u know he 'zou huo ru mo' liao lah. LaughingThat's his 1st movement. You get the full score and see the last movement lah... like some mad song..farking fast - presto agitato.
But his Moonlight Sonata quite easy mah.
Liszt composing style is like that one. He does it so that he could play and show off. That's why Chopin didn't really like him ...hahaOriginally posted by Mr Fugue:virtuosity for its own sake is nothing.
me bought that book too...but i think level 2?Originally posted by Cristiano@Red_Devils.com:Wow, surprised to see so many forumers here who knows how to play piano!
See u all discuss abt playing those classical tunes, make me paiseh..
I beginner only, just started learning about 2 mths ago. I'm a late starter, im 27 this year.
I'm currently taking lessons from a private tutor, the lesson course follows a book called 'Alfredo's basic adult piano course' Level one. I also recently bought a 2nd hand yamaha clavinova CLP840 upon recomendation from my tutor. On average, i spend around 1-2 hrs a day to practise, now covered slightly over half the book.
Anyone got any advise for late learners like me, on how to improve and upgrade faster or something? I cant wait to start playing proper music pieces...
appreciate![]()
thanks carpe!Originally posted by carpe diem jur:my suggestion is, in the first place, u shouldnt get a digital piano... since u are keen in learning, u should invest in a proper instrument (acoustic piano)... sound is different, touch response is different, and worse stil, weight of the key is so different... possiblility is, when u finally try to play ur pieces on an acoustic piano, u may find difficulty pressing the keys becoz the weight is heavier...
another advantage of learning on acoustic piano is ears training... ur digital piano will never get out of tune, so it is completely different from real acoustic piano... get wat i mean?
anyway, u could easily get second hand piano at less dan 2k mah...
ic....the cost of electricity for the heater is so lowOriginally posted by carpe diem jur:tuning is oni 50-60 every half a year... and the heater is 15watts oni... oni 10cents per day... how much can u waste on getting proper practice?? after all, digital piano teks more electricity bills when u turn it on for two hours a day everyday...
in this case u can consider letting her play for leisure....Originally posted by a_splash:ic....the cost of electricity for the heater is so lowi hv no idea...thanks
anyway, she only practise once or twice a week less than 2hrs and she will go for her lesson liao....she always tell me she only like to play but hate to practise![]()
so me not sure how long she can last
anyway i told her if she is so lazy to practise but still like to play....just be better than mummy lor....finish level 2 then next time if she likes she can pick up from where she stops....![]()

thanks alot FireIce!Originally posted by FireIce:in this case u can consider letting her play for leisure....
means, no need go for ABRSM exams
i would recommend the book "Piano Pieces The Whole World Plays"
it's a good compilation for leisure players.....
all the popular piano classics.....
got book 1, book 2 and so on....depending on the level......
this book looks like this
can get from most music schools or bras basah
thankx !! received....Originally posted by FireIce:sent~
no prob... anyway, its all up to individuals...Originally posted by a_splash:thanks carpe!
the feel is pretty close to the real thing....and other then finding the price within our means, i also like it cos it can adjust the volumn or use a headphone....i was a nite player....strong urge to play only in the nite......but everytime i played back then.....i always hv to stop when it gets too late else will disturb the neighbours.
and now in flats i think a real piano is too loud...so that was all my consideration...
but certainly will hv to get one if my girl do manage to reach level 4? was told this one can be used up to level 5.
Good that you really practise 1-2 hours a day. Do that consistently, and you'll definitely see results.Originally posted by Cristiano@Red_Devils.com:Wow, surprised to see so many forumers here who knows how to play piano!
See u all discuss abt playing those classical tunes, make me paiseh..
I beginner only, just started learning about 2 mths ago. I'm a late starter, im 27 this year.
I'm currently taking lessons from a private tutor, the lesson course follows a book called 'Alfredo's basic adult piano course' Level one. I also recently bought a 2nd hand yamaha clavinova CLP840 upon recomendation from my tutor. On average, i spend around 1-2 hrs a day to practise, now covered slightly over half the book.
Anyone got any advise for late learners like me, on how to improve and upgrade faster or something? I cant wait to start playing proper music pieces...
appreciate![]()
Thanks for you guys' words of encouragement!Originally posted by teekh:Good that you really practise 1-2 hours a day. Do that consistently, and you'll definitely see results.
Also, don't need to always follow the pace of the teacher. If you really mastered what you'ved learned (notes correct, rhythm correct), you can go try other songs ahead.
Better still, find some pop scores or something to spice up the experience. It could be pretty boring to be always practising exercise scores.
Actually, i think once you hit higher grades(near 8 ), it would be much more fun and inspiring experience to be able to play the songs you hear on your CDs(ie Mozart's Rondo Alla Turca, Chopin's Nocturne - take them as a challenge cos it's possible)...the middle grades were actually the toughest phase for me. Depends on each individual perhaps...
can, heard piano version b4Originally posted by a_splash:peer gynt 'morning mood' by greig.
can this piece be played solely on piano?? super nice one leh!
yea, this book is good.Originally posted by FireIce:in this case u can consider letting her play for leisure....
means, no need go for ABRSM exams
i would recommend the book "Piano Pieces The Whole World Plays"
it's a good compilation for leisure players.....
all the popular piano classics.....
got book 1, book 2 and so on....depending on the level......
this book looks like this
can get from most music schools or bras basah