maybe..sigh..im in i.t line...Originally posted by Gedanken:Note that the article cites two people in the IT business, and not any other industries. What I'd like to see is how the migrant employment rate in IT stacks up against the local employment rate in the same industry. Looking at the overall number of people looking for IT jobs, I wouldn't be surprised if it was simply a case of IT jobs being hard to come by.
It all depends on the industry you're looking at- pick one that's flooded and you're going to have problems looking for a job whether you're a local or a migrant.
if only our govt is willing to do the same...Originally posted by av98m:The companies in aussieland should be applauded for not blindly giving jobs to immigrants at the expense of their own people!![]()

At least they give priority to their own people. When times are bad, the Aussie citizens have little to fear. Remember SIA laid off the local pilots first during the recession of 2003?Originally posted by av98m:The companies in aussieland should be applauded for not blindly giving jobs to immigrants at the expense of their own people!![]()
Yah lor. But actually you should say our local employers/companies. The impression I get from the article is that while the aussie govt is happlily welcoming these immigrants, their local employers are not biting, for which they should be praised and applauded.Originally posted by dragg:if only our govt is willing to do the same...
HI ,
migrating to Australia is not a short term option ,and P.R is not like a ATM card where you insert and you get the money.
New migrants should go there with an open mind and with not very high expectations. the priority should be to kick start first to cover the expenses ,then slowly stabilise and grow.
Based on my experience of meeting so may migrants, it may take any where between 3 months to 3 years to get your dream job.
that doesnt mean you give up, i know people who did all sorts of jobs to survive, now they have grown up and now are very well settled.
Life is the best teacher and there are certain calculated risks in life which are worth taking. iN my opinion migrating to Aus is certainely one.
Potato want taste good unless you boil it, you need to heat iron to give some shape and you need to dig deep to find Gold.
Success in life requires struggle and standing up to new challenges it has to offer.
when you go through struggle, you will enjoy the success more.
if you always want to play safe , you will be in the same place where we are now.
So better to be prepared and march forward.
Tell me ALL abt it man ....Originally posted by Gedanken:Note that the article cites two people in the IT business, and not any other industries. What I'd like to see is how the migrant employment rate in IT stacks up against the local employment rate in the same industry. Looking at the overall number of people looking for IT jobs, I wouldn't be surprised if it was simply a case of IT jobs being hard to come by.
It all depends on the industry you're looking at- pick one that's flooded and you're going to have problems looking for a job whether you're a local or a migrant.
Meritocracy. That's why Singapore is always ahead of M'sia in development.Originally posted by av98m:I rather the indians/mainland chinese be the ones driving taxis than our own retrenched executives.![]()
Then why the SIA pilots who served their NS kena retrenched first? And ironically, the $hit-stirrer in Alpas was a Malaysian PR, not even a local-born.Originally posted by zhaozhilong:Besides, actually Singapore Government do set a quota on maximum percentage of foreign employees in a company.