That I think is quite impossible. The main attraction of singapore for foreign talents is the tax rate and that is one of our weapon to attract FDI.Originally posted by organization:To illustrate, before 21st century, do you know that if you are earning S$50,000, your taxes will be S$20,000?
40% tax?? hmmm duno remember what is our highest personal tax rate already... but dun think so high... but it's higher than coporate tax rate if i am not wrongOriginally posted by Gazelle:That I think is quite impossible. The main attraction of singapore for foreign talents is the tax rate and that is one of our weapon to attract FDI.
The highest tax bracket for residents making 320K/yr and above is only 22% and it will be reduced to 21% in 06. For average singaporean making 40K or 80K it should be around 9 and 15% respectively.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):40% tax?? hmmm duno remember what is our highest personal tax rate already... but dun think so high... but it's higher than coporate tax rate if i am not wrong![]()
On the first 20k-0Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):40% tax?? hmmm duno remember what is our highest personal tax rate already... but dun think so high... but it's higher than coporate tax rate if i am not wrong![]()
so so soOriginally posted by Gazelle:The highest tax bracket for residents making 320K/yr and above is only 22% and it will be reduced to 21% in 06. For average singaporean making 40K or 80K it should be around 9 and 15% respectively.
wat i mean is , before 21st century, if u are earning S$50,000 per month, your taxes will be S$20,000.Originally posted by organization:To illustrate, before 21st century, do you know that if you are earning S$50,000, your taxes will be S$20,000?
my another suggestion is to rent it. I'm paying for my 2 bedroom apartment at ECP around SGD1300. got swimming pool, tennis court, squash. and close to the beach.Originally posted by waterfalz:My colleage's monthly is $6000. He intends to buy a condo. He is married with two kids. Wife not working. Will you stay in condo if your salary were $6000?
action speaks louder than words...Originally posted by CoolMyth:Definitely peanuts! Must be >$25,000 monthly!![]()
Do u still need to pay for the management fee on top of this $1300?Originally posted by Glen999:my another suggestion is to rent it. I'm paying for my 2 bedroom apartment at ECP around SGD1300. got swimming pool, tennis court, squash. and close to the beach.
if no job, move to HDB.
anyway, HDB/condo are 99 yrs lease.
The disadvantage of renting: -Originally posted by Glen999:my another suggestion is to rent it. I'm paying for my 2 bedroom apartment at ECP around SGD1300. got swimming pool, tennis court, squash. and close to the beach.
if no job, move to HDB.
anyway, HDB/condo are 99 yrs lease.
CPF money got interest 4%. all my money for unit trust went negative.Originally posted by Gazelle:The disadvantage of renting: -
a) You dont get to use your CPF money
b) You cant renovate your place or buy bulky furniture
c) You cant take advantage of the 30/40K grant from government
d) Rental is 100% expense with zero returns
e) Your landlord might decide to sell the place or increase the rental
f) Cant take advantage of the low interest rate
g) Over time property will be more expensive to buy
h) You cant be renting forever.
HDB is leasehold, Condo can be 999 and Freehold.
Renting only make sense if you are working in Singapore on contract terms, or you are in between buying and selling a property, or the economy is in recession and property prices are falling.
If you can afford it, it is always better to buy.
Originally posted by waterfalz:My colleage's monthly is $6000. He intends to buy a condo. He is married with two kids. Wife not working. Will you stay in condo if your salary were $6000?
CPF OA account only give you 2.5%.Originally posted by Glen999:CPF money got interest 4%. all my money for unit trust went negative.
SGD1300 is fully furnished and it includes management fee.
for your point 'D', who bought a condo/HDB in 1998-2002 and can sell with profit? so, asset appreciation doesn't work. (like my landlord, he lost around 300-400K on my unit and the condo is getting older - (99 lease))
And i will stuck my 200K+ for my house.
if i hate this place, i just move.
if oppurtunity comes, i can even move out of singapore.
you are like the people in 1990... "why should I sell NOW" at 1997.. then the price went down afterwards... then they all are hopping that the price will go up.Originally posted by Gazelle:CPF OA account only give you 2.5%.
If I have purchased a property in 98 to 02, why do I need to sell NOW? I can always sell it 10 years later when the property price recover. If you are intending to stay in that property, I dont think it is necessary to even think about selling it.
Like I said before, it only make sense to rent if property prices are in the down trend. Right now it is not the case.
mind revealing how much was the rental for your condo in the west? u had the whole apartment to yourself?Originally posted by Glen999:As for me, I rented condo at WEST coast when i worked at Tuas.
then rented at ECP when my work shifted to east.