I don't think there are checks and balances in hell.Originally posted by dragg:what will happen if you burn a CPIB? (corruption prevention investigation board)
This is where misunderstanding is all about. When my grandpa and grandma died, they are buddhist ( or Taoist i not so sure) , and during the burning ceremony, the "su hu" ( those Taoist priest that pray when a person die and chant wan lah ) , he said to the member of families ... " Ehh, u all must form a circle around the paper house when it is burning, so that u can protect the property , if not other ghost down there will take it away from ur grandpa. ur grandpa must get the house" ...ehmmm wat does this imply?? he nvr say it is for the guards?? and he is a Buddhist/ Taoist priest/monk hor..... those say chant wan hor..very experience wan, ..they say like that then how leh?? one monk say this, the other monk say that? go thailand, thailand monk say different thing...go japan, say different thing?? very difficult leh like that...Originally posted by CoolMyth:The "luxuries", are not actually burned to their own people. This is a common misunderstanding....
These "luxuries" are actually burned to the guards in hell just so to "bribe" them so as to allow their relatives not to suffer so much in hell. As someone has said, you don't enjoy "life" in hell.
Luxuries are actually burnt for the hell guards, not to their own dead relatives or family members.
The recent drama of the "underworld" is actually crap. Actually, as this tradition passed by, many people have slowly misunderstood that these "offerings" are for their own people, to pray for 4D numbers etc. Crap lah.....![]()
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:is it true that hungry ghosts are able to receive paper money while those in hell cannot?
Maybe I'll burn my exam papers so that the ghosts can pass their exams too.
Anyway, the 7th month is originally a Buddhist day for offering merits to the lower realms, but it is [b]not by burning paper money. It is Chinese traditions that believe in burning paper money and hell gates open.[/b]
Cannot. And yes, it is not a Buddhist practice, although 7th Month has Buddhist origins.Originally posted by disappear:is it true that hungry ghosts are able to receive paper money while those in hell cannot?
in any case, i think burning paper money is not a buddhist practice.
how childish. if u wan to argue back with me, please state ur logic and of coz supported with facts. at least what i wrote is logical....u shd go down first, becoz i dun believe in those burning and recieving it in hell concept. so u go down there, i burn for you a computer ok...wireless notebook, so i can communicate with u...ok, if no reply, that means i know u cannot recieve it liao. I am just stating some logic, if u wan to disagree is ok, but STATE ur facts, like " AM ETERNAL NOW", he enlightened me that it was a tradition that was originally swayed...ok...Originally posted by adrian_4781:Y DUN U GO DIE NOW AND TELL US WHAT HELL IS LIKE..
SO ..........
GO TO HELL!
personally, i feel that reciting Buddha's name and transferring/directing merit to that person would be better.Originally posted by AMD2004:This is where misunderstanding is all about. When my grandpa and grandma died, they are buddhist ( or Taoist i not so sure) , and during the burning ceremony, the "su hu" ( those Taoist priest that pray when a person die and chant wan lah ) , he said to the member of families ... " Ehh, u all must form a circle around the paper house when it is burning, so that u can protect the property , if not other ghost down there will take it away from ur grandpa. ur grandpa must get the house" ...ehmmm wat does this imply?? he nvr say it is for the guards?? and he is a Buddhist/ Taoist priest/monk hor..... those say chant wan hor..very experience wan, ..they say like that then how leh?? one monk say this, the other monk say that? go thailand, thailand monk say different thing...go japan, say different thing?? very difficult leh like that...
Originally posted by PlayGameAllDay:who got IMH number?![]()
Your message reeks of forced belief.Originally posted by coffeeortea:indeed.. better be safe than sorry..
i am childish?Originally posted by AMD2004:how childish. if u wan to argue back with me, please state ur logic and of coz supported with facts. at least what i wrote is logical....u shd go down first, becoz i dun believe in those burning and recieving it in hell concept. so u go down there, i burn for you a computer ok...wireless notebook, so i can communicate with u...ok, if no reply, that means i know u cannot recieve it liao. I am just stating some logic, if u wan to disagree is ok, but STATE ur facts, like " AM ETERNAL NOW", he enlightened me that it was a tradition that was originally swayed...ok...
If you dun like, you can pour some water onto the fire.Originally posted by hobbitsexy:..in front of my doorstep!!! also at the crossroad and every steps i took, always step on the ashes.....wth.....so smoky....![]()
got link wan ar?Originally posted by findingnewidea:Let me tell you the story...
Long long time ago, when Qin Shi Huang (Qin Emperor) killed many of the scholars who had different views from him and burnt all their books.
Those not educated folks thought that burning papers is a need when people die. Therefore, the tradition keeps pass on until now after several thousand years...
got link wan ar?Originally posted by findingnewidea:Let me tell you the story...
Long long time ago, when Qin Shi Huang (Qin Emperor) killed many of the scholars who had different views from him and burnt all their books.
Those not educated folks thought that burning papers is a need when people die. Therefore, the tradition keeps pass on until now after several thousand years...
Hey.. do us a favour to prove its bull sheet by going round this month stepping and kicking the ash... pls.. pls.. pls....Originally posted by Vivek Oberoi:what kind of f3cktard theory is that Ghosts , paper money , picking up?
Wtf? Are u all ok? all bull sheet.
yes, may peace be with you.Originally posted by gasband:Seriously, I am a christian and I seriously do not believe in all these religious practices that even my own parents engage in. But then, there must be a certain amount of tolerance. If we do not believe, fine...we do not go around taunting and discrediting them.....that does not reflect well on yourself...