Originally posted by gentlerock:Hi,
I've been to Korea many times since years ago, always on business and leisure mixed. I didn't like it at first because I thought the people were aggressively rude (and some are)....but after I got to know them, I found them warm and pleasant.
October is the typhoon season on the northeastern coast of Asia (Hong Kong, Taiwan, China, Japan, Korea). Most of the time, all this translates to is some bumpiness on flights in that area. Sometimes (and you've really gotta be "lucky" to have this), you may get a bit more....
October is also the Autumn season where its cool, yet you won't need a jacket (except for going out in the evenings).
Hotels are VERY expensive (but then again, I usually stay at the Myeongdong area, which is downtown Seoul, where the most expensive Korean real estate is). Whatever you do, stay out of the 5-star hotels like Hilton, Hyatt, etc.....or else you'll go bankrupt before check-out time the next day. The only time I've been to a 'branded' hotel was when a friend took me to Hyatt for the buffet dinner. She had coupons for the buffet, so it was OK for me.
Getting around is not difficult because there are very established networks of buses and trains all over the city of Seoul.
Seoul is not a pretty city to me. Its grey, spread out, boring. I always felt that Seoul looks like a slightly less chaotic version of Taipei (if you've been to Taipei, you'll know what I mean). In fact, doing business with the Taiwanese and Koreans are the same....they're equally demanding and aggressive!
I don't think I will elaborate on the areas in Seoul to visit because you can find that in any tourist website, brochure or book. Myeongdong, Itaewon, Lotte World, blah blah blah. Outside Seoul, I think one place which would be interesting to visit is the DMZ (demilitarised zone) - the border between the two Koreas. Sadly, I've never been there.
Shopping is very expensive in the department stores. But roadside stalls can be cheaper than Bangkok (for accessories and t-shirts). I bought a Be The Reds soccer t-shirt for S$3 only (but maybe it was because the World Cup was over by then). I heard that many of the imitation goods (eg. handbags, etc.) sold in Bangkok are imported from Korea anyway.
Koreans have the reputation of generally being rude, rough and uncouth....and you may see some of that, especially on flights in and out of Korea. BUT.....Seoul is the only city where I've experienced 3 times in a single day where people came up to offer help by giving directions (I was walking around with a map, at times standing on the street trying to figure out those maps). I say that the best is to go with an open mind and judge for yourself. As for me, I actually quite like them once I got to know them. Lets face it, Singaporeans are not known to excel in the area of friendliness either....
I feel that there is a bit of xenophobia in Korea. Maybe its because they've always been quite a closed-up society, whacked left-right-centre by foreigners, by North Korea....occupied by Japan for decades and all. If you dress, behave and talk different, you may get people staring at you (especially the older ones). They are harmless and probably just curious. Just either ignore them or smile and nod at them. It happens in every country anyway.....including right here in Singapore.
The Korean culture is based on conservative Confucianism, which I feel they're still half submerged in. Many Koreans are learning Mandarin now, mainly due to the emergence of China (social and business reasons). The older ones all can read traditional written Mandarin by the way....its part of their education, even though they've got their own writing (invented by King Sejong).
The Korean language has many similarities with the Chinese languages too. If you break down the Korean words, this becomes quite obvious. Like kongju (princess).....leng mien (cold noodles)......hakseng (student)....pok-pok (just kidding).
Korean food is spicy and good for me. Good restaurant food is expensive and elaborate (S$100 or more per person). Roadside restaurant (more like coffee shops) food is about the same price as our food courts. Roadside stalls sell the best food, at very low prices (S$1.50-2.00 for a bowl of rice cakes, or meat on skewers). If you don't speak Korean, you may have to pay more.....what I usually do is to wait and watch how much the guy before me pays, then I buy it after him.
One thing you'll never have is constipation in Korea. All kinds of spicy kimchi for every meal, spicy bibimbab, spicy fibre dishes of all types.......these all ensure that you'll keep going and going....![]()
ooops paisay ya 'winter' or the coldest season is in Jun not Dec...Originally posted by LinYu:Gold Coast Winter in Dec?
Anyway. U can travel to gold coast without tour guide. It will be good if u can drive and rent a car urself. Pretty friendly place and easy road map.
Korea - too big a place to travel urself unless u have alot of time. Language is also a problem. May have to take domestic flights.
Happy Holiday.![]()
ya....i blurr...'so called winter' in Gold coast is in Jun.Originally posted by augleo:Aust. is in SUMMER during Dec hor?
Korean, u need 2take up tour package for conv.sake.
Previously, i took up a famous tour agent in Chinatown. The local leader is not performing but the Korean guides and driver are in super good services. Really miss those days. Yes, language is barrier as those roadside stalls owners are rude and can shout at u cos they dun understand our "quick-learned" Korean. heehee! U can see woman n man fights in public...is common. Pulling each other hair....Korean women don't Q like S'porean. Push n Push. Anway that is few years back, mayb now is better.enjoy ur holiday. no matter where u choose...so good in holiday mood.
umm....now i feel like trying out driving in gold coast liao...Originally posted by shadowlunar:If you want to go Gold Coast, I suggest you go by "free and easy". You can drive there with our driver's license. There's nothing much to see there, except the Seaworld, Movieworld, Dreamworld, some countryside sceneries and the beach, of course. Most of the places are short distance drive away, except the countryside. You can get season tickets from the local agencies. If you go the cities, there are much more things to see.
For Korea, I suggest you join the tour group. Depending on where you want to go, those places are scattered all over the country. And because of the language barrier, you probably need a local tour guide to get you around.
Be prepared to spend more if you go by tour group unless you really can control yourself.
hmm...i don hv this probl during my 1 wk in Korea. in facts, we were brought to extra places at no charge. out of my few guided tour, so far the KOREA tour guide is still the best.Originally posted by a_splash:ya....i blurr...'so called winter' in Gold coast is in Jun.
ha ha ...ya that's wat i heard too....ppl can start fighting on the street when they not happy with this or that....very fierce ppl.....scary neh...
i find tour agent hv this pay and pay biz....they will tell u oh there is another place this this that that but not included in your itinery...but if u want we can bring u....then u compensate us this amount...so ended up the trip cost more than expected....even when its included in the itinery, not nec will get to go....cos too bad it was the prince or king's birthday, sorry can only see from this distance...wth....then to the disney land (tokyo) cos its Christmas day...will hv long queue,....the guide will go queue for us the nite before, this also taken as additional service??....isn't it their job???
Ya lor. the tips is US$5 per day per person (include babies). Anyway since u r there, just be a sucker and enjoy urself most.Originally posted by a_splash:ya....i blurr...'so called winter' in Gold coast is in Jun.
ha ha ...ya that's wat i heard too....ppl can start fighting on the street when they not happy with this or that....very fierce ppl.....scary neh...
i find tour agent hv this pay and pay biz....they will tell u oh there is another place this this that that but not included in your itinery...but if u want we can bring u....then u compensate us this amount...so ended up the trip cost more than expected....even when its included in the itinery, not nec will get to go....cos too bad it was the prince or king's birthday, sorry can only see from this distance...wth....then to the disney land (tokyo) cos its Christmas day...will hv long queue,....the guide will go queue for us the nite before, this also taken as additional service??....isn't it their job???
Originally posted by LinYu:Ya lor. the tips is US$5 per day per person (include babies). Anyway since u r there, just be a sucker and enjoy urself most.![]()
i m not a shopper....don't know how to find much joy in shopping...window shopping maybe ok lah....Originally posted by ditzy:Gold Coast in december is summer already.And if you think Singapore is hot, try the summer here. It's something you'll live to remember.
Nothing much at gold coast unless you like shopping and got wads of $$$ to spare.
If I were you, I'll take Korea anytime.![]()
Never heard of it.Originally posted by a_splash:i m not a shopper....don't know how to find much joy in shopping...window shopping maybe ok lah....
how about o'reilly hill? is it very far from gold coast??
Not too far. I went to the country farmhouse in the morn and then drive up the jill to look at birds. Defintely very nice if you love nature but can get dizzy going up hill.Originally posted by a_splash:i m not a shopper....don't know how to find much joy in shopping...window shopping maybe ok lah....
how about o'reilly hill? is it very far from gold coast??
aiyo....u still on holiday or not??Originally posted by ditzy:Never heard of it.![]()
I don't live at surfer's paradise. Even though it's just 45mins drive away.Originally posted by a_splash:aiyo....u still on holiday or not??
go explore lah....u din explore enugh.....![]()
oh....ok...then i hv to consider, not sure if my mum will feel dizzy....Originally posted by LinYu:Not too far. I went to the country farmhouse in the morn and then drive up the jill to look at birds. Defintely very nice if you love nature but can get dizzy going up hill.![]()
where where where??Originally posted by ditzy:I don't live at surfer's paradise. Even though it's just 45mins drive away.![]()
NO!Originally posted by a_splash:do u know if there is any snowy mountain nearby goldcoast?? or bisbain??
Adelaide.Originally posted by a_splash:where where where??
that's where melbourne is rite?? like mount bullah etc....Originally posted by ditzy:NO!If people in Queensland wanted to go visit snowy mountains, they have to go all the way to NSW. Sad, but true.
/me smacks forehead.Originally posted by a_splash:that's where melbourne is rite?? like mount bullah etc....