All the more i can identify with what u are stating. Yes it was termed the golden decade. The US Economy was good and that affected SingaporeOriginally posted by About A GaL:economic problems, social problems, so many problems, poverty and widening income gap among singaporeans. All this is so different from the 90s glamourous singapore aka "the golden era". Gone forever. That was the time when we had the closest Swiss standard of living. No worries. No ERP , No wadever nonsense....
Remember on saturdays how we used to dress up and show off in branded clothing? All of us were happy and had the "inside glamour" about us.
What can u see nowadays, people who dress up so nicely but lack the inside "glamour" of the 90s. Imagine him or her struggling to make a living.
All a mask to hide the real self
Like the topic starter stated. Glamour is from the inside. The postive economic conditions of the 90s had a different effect on the mindsets of the people. Priorities shifted to standard of living , fashion trends, expensive goods reflecting the economic health ect. Much like what u find in developing or developed countries.Originally posted by choco B:Sorry I totally cannot relate to your post because I think Singapore never had any "glamour" whatever the era!!![]()
What i meant was that during the 90s people had different attitude towards life, like that rich man son/daughter , even the common man dislayed his expensive branded goods and watches ect. In those days it was we didnt need to worry about finances if we splurge on these goods. Even the HDB dwellers were into owning these thingsOriginally posted by choco B:Sorry I totally cannot relate to your post because I think Singapore never had any "glamour" whatever the era!!![]()
Yes it was prencious i dont disagree, but that wasi n the 90s like i said people like to show off at the time because economy good and stable . they can compete with each other to see who got the biggest car, house ect.Originally posted by mistyblue:all along I tot it was pretencious![]()
Could u elaborate what was embarassing in those times?Originally posted by mistyblue:I rather not think back... cause its like those embarassing periods in the 80s or 70s
I rather look forward...![]()
What is so embarrasing lah Ah BEng, Ah Lian? maybe yes, because the govt was promoting the Singaporean identity at the time (late 80s and 90s)Originally posted by mistyblue:I rather not think back... cause its like those embarassing periods in the 80s or 70s
I rather look forward...![]()
Agree,Originally posted by About A GaL:economic problems, social problems, so many problems, poverty and widening income gap among singaporeans. All this is so different from the 90s glamourous singapore aka "the golden era". Gone forever. That was the time when we had the closest Swiss standard of living. No worries. No ERP , No wadever nonsense....
Remember on saturdays how we used to dress up and show off in branded clothing? All of us were happy and had the "inside glamour" about us.
What can u see nowadays, people who dress up so nicely but lack the inside "glamour" of the 90s. Imagine him or her struggling to make a living.
That is before all the price shot up sky high... Tax increase, ERP, COE, etc... All Singaporean kenna rob blindly by the gahmen... Even the charity sector rob us blind... misleading us to thinking that our money were used for the less fortunate but in the end... a gold plated tap (which was replaced shortly) and high paid for its employees...Originally posted by About A GaL:economic problems, social problems, so many problems, poverty and widening income gap among singaporeans. All this is so different from the 90s glamourous singapore aka "the golden era". Gone forever. That was the time when we had the closest Swiss standard of living. No worries. No ERP , No wadever nonsense....
Oh god, u are that hardcore 90s punk! I used to wear those shirt too , could buy at peninsua right? And what was that famous Ricky martin song i can now remember!:Originally posted by Vasantham_Central:No more keeping long hairstlye with Elvis presley side burns
................................................................................
No more wearing that long sleeve black shirt with rose and skull kena stab by dagger printed at the back bought at peninsula
................................................................................
No more doing that Macarena thing Samba Latin Livin La vida Loca black cats and voodoo dolls wadever. Even Ricky Martin now has become ancient.
Let me see, some of things may still be around
Last but not least, The young punk now stop being wannabe of the 90s. The Gay and lesbian shit u see now. Wake up this is not 70s America u mudercocks
Welcome to Sinkapora 2005 , police and military controlled state.
Liivin la vida loca