What's TCM?Originally posted by the Bear:TCM right?
they take something like a back of a comb and scrape the heck out of you...
then you look as if you just got beaten up because the blood comes up to the surface... and you bruise...
it's supposed to regulate the "qi" in your body and remove any excess "heat" in your body... it also relieves muscle aches...
do it only when you're not going to wear clothes that reveal some of your skin coz you will look severely bruised...
Originally posted by Honeybunz:What's TCM?
you tried?
Dunno whether painful or not![]()
I am just curious to try. Anyway, I always have a lot of heat in my body. Where you did your gua sha?Originally posted by the Bear:Traditional Chinese Medicine...
and yah.. i've tried everything... including mimicking a pincushion
anyway, what happened to you that you wanna try this? it's pretty drastic when you have to resort to gua sha... i had severe muscle spasms and way too much heat in my body that they resorted to that...
anyhooo... if you're still bored, on saturday, come meet the gang again at Muddy's... and wear your school uniform coz that's the theme that night there
(i may need to go to the chinese physician after that... nosebleeds)
p.s. it's not that painful.. but i've been told i've got an insane threshold for pain.. i told tare that acupuncture isn't painful (it isn't for me) but she said it was
Originally posted by Honeybunz:I am just curious to try. Anyway, I always have a lot of heat in my body. Where you did your gua sha?
I never have a chance to try acupuncture leh though at one time last year I was seeing the Sin Seh at Thong Chai Medical Hall for my migraine. The sinseh said will only poke me only if it doesn't improve. Now a lot better.
Originally posted by F Bunta:Gua Sha is the mispronunciation of Puasa, which means fasting in Malay.
I just went for Gua Sha this morning. Damn painfulOriginally posted by the Bear:Traditional Chinese Medicine...
and yah.. i've tried everything... including mimicking a pincushion
anyway, what happened to you that you wanna try this? it's pretty drastic when you have to resort to gua sha... i had severe muscle spasms and way too much heat in my body that they resorted to that...
anyhooo... if you're still bored, on saturday, come meet the gang again at Muddy's... and wear your school uniform coz that's the theme that night there
(i may need to go to the chinese physician after that... nosebleeds)
p.s. it's not that painful.. but i've been told i've got an insane threshold for pain.. i told tare that acupuncture isn't painful (it isn't for me) but she said it was
Originally posted by Honeybunz:I just went for Gua Sha this morning. Damn painful![]()
Dunno leh. Haven't look at my back in the mirror yet.Originally posted by the Bear:oh dear.. poor honeybunz..
you're bruised all over now?
hope you get well soon
Oh, Sha is toxin!Originally posted by laurence82:Alamak, guasa dont scrape the heat out of u
Gua = scrape
Sha = toxins
Basically, guasa is a way to scrape the toxins out of ur body, u will notice that people doing guasa on u dont need to use a lot of force to scrape, but the effect is that u will notice ur body is bruised as well as some dark liquid forming on ur body, these are the toxins being purged, of cus there is heat forming on ur bod
And u dont guasa anywhere anyhow
Usually one will do it with clothes off, in a ventilated room but aircon or fan is
not on
And you dont scrape anyhow, there is certain direction to scrape for diff parts of the body according to the meridien
Get someone who is experienced to do it for u
I did it when i was young, but with a ceramic spoon tho, when i had prolonged high fever and no clinics and hospital could bring the fever down....
Jialat part is when immense amount of heat coems out from your body....
Wah! Bear!Originally posted by the Bear:anyway, it scraped whatever the heck it was outta me..
worked pretty well for the "heat" part too
and honeybunz, do go check it out.. and try not to be too shocked yah?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Wah! Bear!
My back look like kenna abused leh!!!![]()
Originally posted by laurence82:There are three forms of guasa if i am not wrong
First is for theraphy, u can do it urself. When u are free, listening to radio or watching tv, grab one of those bullhorn-made guasa scrape from any retail shops and do it on ur arms and legs
Second is full body guasa, i guess this is the one u guys been subjected to.
Third one is interesting. According to TCM, u can noe which part of ur body is ill by looking at the pattern of bruise that form on the back of ur body.
Its sumthing like if there are large patch of toxins and bruise that form on the top part of ur back, it could mean there is sumting wrong with ur lung. Afterall, if ur lung is healthy, why the hell would large amount of toxins comes out of there. Pretty accurate to see who been smoking.
Just go check with these 'scrapers' and do a diagnosis on urself.
NopeOriginally posted by Honeybunz:![]()
Tell me honestly.... Are you one of the Gua Sha Master?
She also scraped my head. Dunno whether my face will turn black or not. (sekali the toxins flow downwards onto my face areaOriginally posted by laurence82:Nope
i learned a bit, having been subjected to an abuse myself.....
I think the most impt part is on which direction u scrape for each part of ur body, and what each patch of bruise and dark liquid mean
This u must go ask the Masters....