don't keep doing what your nickname suggests.Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:ok tts it...too much liao...gota end this...
the conclusion is...no conclusion...
Pardon me for not being clear, but I didn't say the two equate. My logic is that just as how a father who is very proud of his school can pass down the same pride to the son, an arrogant attitude could also be passed down in the same way.Originally posted by LazerLordz:That's a very discriminating statement, how does being an old boy equate to having bratty kids as a reality?![]()
My hands are itchy.I can't stand snobs.Originally posted by seow:RI has snobs too, the parents too.I have a really distant relative at a gathering, keep on boasting her son is in RI and he is in special stream and kept asking other people what school and stream their children are in, all the while, both mother and son looked and acted so ya-ya.
Usually, sometime is only worth talking about if there's something really bad or really wrong with it. Who would want to complain about something that's good?Originally posted by ne0matrix:Well, This is such a long thread.![]()
u ve mistaken...my nick is one word only..see, no space...n only one syllable...Originally posted by vito_corleone:don't keep doing what your nickname suggests.![]()
To each his own I suppose.Guess you met the lamers then And may I know if you slamming another person's musical tastes is something to be proud of too?Is speaking English a crime?no lah.......but if you put all these factors together, you get the typical ACS bastard with the dulan face everytime u talk to 'em.
i also eat potato sect..not happy ah?no surprise to me. i see your user ID, like some phucking combination of english, french, german, SG-peranakan-baba mixed together, i more or less guess you're a jiak-kantang SG-Chinese.
Originally posted by Nikar:(LazerLordz)
no lah.......but if you put all these factors together, you get the typical ACS bastard with the dulan face everytime u talk to 'em.
need i say more?
Yeah, no one's perfect.Originally posted by kuekj:as the ACS slogan goes: "The best is yet to be."
i jiak-kantang but i'm proud to be chinese .. cannot issit?Originally posted by Nikar:(LazerLordz)
no surprise to me. i see your user ID, like some phucking combination of english, french, german, SG-peranakan-baba mixed together, i more or less guess you're a jiak-kantang SG-Chinese.
Diversity among singapore is big but the fact that we were all born in singapore, bred on guei chap and mee siam should be sufficient ground for all of us to engage one another, regardless of our background. Hokkien is the most commonly spoken chinese dialect here so peranakan chinese has no disadvantage.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Regarding the common topic issue, I think we have to be fair.You can't force an Ah Beng to talk about Literary Studies or how the impact of losing one town to Zarqawi's men might have on the US Army in Iraq.Common stuff comes with greater understanding at first, and once you get to know people better, the common ground is enlarged.
I certainly feel unhappy when we are tarred with one huge brush that says intolerant, snobbish and haughty.Confidence is not snobbery, literacy is not arrogance and ideas of school loyalty should not be construed as being elitist.
I'm Chinese Peranakan, and yes when I was younger, I did have this notion that other people are not worth the trouble of understanding.But after entering NS and realising that diversity is one of God's greatest gifts to man, I'm much more engaging to anyone, even those who are of different backgrounds from me.
Well, maybe it helps that I do speak fairly fluent Hokkien and yes, I'm proud of my culture, which is that of Singapore and Brunei.I see myself as a Straits/SEA Chinese, born in the tropics, bred on bak chor mee and roti prata.I may hate durians but I certainly love the smell of laksa and seafood.I believe that you need to speak the language of others to be a true cosmopolitan and not insist on some pre-conceived notion of linguistic superiority.Better to order char kway teow in Hokkien and see a faint smile than stumble your way around in broken English trying to get your point across, by which time, the food is cold and the queue wants your pound of flesh.
Contrary to popular belief, we are not bootlickers of Western culture, save for the ignorant young who will mature and realise that their education has made them confident enough to face the world and be equally adaptable to anywhere they live, work or play.
do your indian from other schools also think the same about ACS indians??Originally posted by sethrogx:sgdiehard
to answer your questions read my first post
aloof
personall i think although we may have more money , we shouldnt really flaunt it as that makes people dislike us . And again we are generalizing if we say ACS boys have more money than everyone cause its just not true.
Some of my best friends are from neighbourhood schools and some of them are WAY richer than me , the school doesnt really mean anything dudes .
As I've said, the ground has changed since our time.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Diversity among singapore is big but the fact that we were all born in singapore, bred on guei chap and mee siam should be sufficient ground for all of us to engage one another, regardless of our background. Hokkien is the most commonly spoken chinese dialect here so peranakan chinese has no disadvantage.
Generally only some of the speak chinese only have the misconception that those speak english only, or the jiak kangtang ones are "bootlickers" of western culture, such misconception is not about ACS guys only. Non ACS guys are equally confident in what we do, we are equally literate and we do have our own network of old school boys and girls, but somehow only ACS guys give ppl the impression that they are rich (in reality not all of them are rich), that they are elites (in reality a lot of those i know are just like me or worse) and snobish ( obviously this is also a sweeping statement). Is this a problem between ACS and neighbourhood schools or ACS vs all the rest??
surprised to learn that now ppl associate ACS guys with gay. Obviously there are many things i do not know.
i wasn't bred on guei chap and mee siam.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Diversity among singapore is big but the fact that we were all born in singapore, bred on guei chap and mee siam should be sufficient ground for all of us to engage one another, regardless of our background. Hokkien is the most commonly spoken chinese dialect here so peranakan chinese has no disadvantage.
Generally only some of the speak chinese only have the misconception that those speak english only, or the jiak kangtang ones are "bootlickers" of western culture, such misconception is not about ACS guys only. Non ACS guys are equally confident in what we do, we are equally literate and we do have our own network of old school boys and girls, but somehow only ACS guys give ppl the impression that they are rich (in reality not all of them are rich), that they are elites (in reality a lot of those i know are just like me or worse) and snobish ( obviously this is also a sweeping statement). Is this a problem between ACS and neighbourhood schools or ACS vs all the rest??
surprised to learn that now ppl associate ACS guys with gay. Obviously there are many things i do not know.
I said the same thing.Originally posted by ditzy:Gay is a term used nowadays to reflect something not necessarily gay. Like how we use the word "Fuck". Like sometimes we call people gay even though they're not. Like how you call some people Fuckers, but you know they don't go around screwing.![]()
Actually, it's just the thing about ACS guys being snobbish. And it's not just a problem between ACS and neighbourhood schools, that I can gurantee you. In stature, ACS guys are in no way really the best, they're not all the richest, and in terms of being elites they are outclassed too.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Generally only some of the speak chinese only have the misconception that those speak english only, or the jiak kangtang ones are "bootlickers" of western culture, such misconception is not about ACS guys only. Non ACS guys are equally confident in what we do, we are equally literate and we do have our own network of old school boys and girls, but somehow only ACS guys give ppl the impression that they are rich (in reality not all of them are rich), that they are elites (in reality a lot of those i know are just like me or worse) and snobish ( obviously this is also a sweeping statement). Is this a problem between ACS and neighbourhood schools or ACS vs all the rest??
Originally posted by aloof_guy:u wanna noe my opinion of ACS guys?at first i dun give a fuc k about them...now...i just say fuc k you bitch....
Many people have the misconception of ACS guys. Its true that many guys in ACS are flirts and stuff. But the term ACS is too broad. Theres only 1 school which has spoilt brats and flirts. I wouldnt want to say that particular one but its ruining the image of ACS.
People also insult students of ACS. In my opinion its basically because their jealous that their incapable of getting a place into the school. Im sure there are many Acsians in this forum but when we put on the ACS uniform, we feel proud of our school, unlike other institutions. Arent that what they teach students? To be proud of their school?
Would just like to know of your opinion of ACS guys.
SJI lotsa posers man.Originally posted by SumOne:Actually, it's just the thing about ACS guys being snobbish. And it's not just a problem between ACS and neighbourhood schools, that I can gurantee you. In stature, ACS guys are in no way really the best, they're not all the richest, and in terms of being elites they are outclassed too.
It's really just that attitude and culture of the people.
If you're rich but you don't flaunt and show off your wealth, people won't make an issue out of you.
You can say ACS people adopt a very elitist attitude, but not because they're richer, smarter or anything. They just think that being from ACS makes them elite, and that being from ACS(I) gives them the right to look down on others.
The SJI fraternity is just as strong if not stronger than that of ACS(I) or ACS(Barker). Yet no one complains about SJI guys being snobbish.
Hanor, gays the lot.Originally posted by vito_corleone:SJI lotsa posers man.![]()