You have no way of proving that he did lose a girlfriend to an ACS boy, and you aren't doing any better to prove the credibility of ACS guys either. ACS guys have a stuck up attitude and rather than try to retaliate with personal attacks, how about putting up a credible arguement.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You must have lost your girlfriend to an ACS boy. It is true that many ACS boys come from English-speaking families and have difficulties with Chinese but that is changing rapidly. In any case, I bet my Chinese is better than yours....
So the issue at stake is whether ACS guys are gay?Originally posted by aloof_guy:Yes i think some ACS boys are arrogant. But only a small minority. What other people are saying is that we'll snobbish,spoilt and even..GAY! lolAnd when people start giving us praises, people start saying we'll arrogant. These stuff. All in the mind.
That is so wrong. You are proving the point that ACS guys think they're above everyone else.Originally posted by aloof_guy:Actually i feel really sad for these people. They have never experienced what to be united, our hearts our hopes our aims are one.
I'm sorry, could you clarify this point?Top sports players gets easy entry into ACS schools. But why did they choose ACS when the "suppose" public thinks ACS are snobs and spoilt brats? haha go figure dudes. [/quote]
Not all top sports players go ACS or ACJC. Besides, from what I've seen, a lot of ACS swimmers and rugby players choose to go RJC instead of ACJC. But personally, my issue isn't with their sporting achievements. Good for them that they've managed to groom a bit of talent, if only they could incultivate a good attitude in their students as well.About the person stating "Tell me which ministers are successful from ACS?? Its their character not because their from ACS"
I believe they're not the only ones who do that. And it'd be good also if they could tell the current students not to be stuck up people.I think you get your sayings all messed up. Examples of some of the ministers are ng eng and balakrisnan.(Not sure how u spell them) These ministers GOT THEIR CHARACTER FROM ACS. They frequently go back to ACS schools to encourage and motivate the boys to go on. This is what i call school unity and spirit.
Originally posted by aloof_guy:My nick is Sumone, not Sum41, just for clarification sake. Anyway, what I meant about personal attack was that comment about losing a girlfriend. If you really want to speak up for your school or your fraternity, you should do it with more dignity than that.
Haha Sum41, that girlfriend part wasnt for real to that girl. It was just a mere expression.
[b]QUOTE FROM SUM41:
"ACS guys have a stuck up attitude and rather than try to retaliate with personal attacks."
Define your meaning of personal attacks ACS guys have done.[/b]
ACSian too?Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Wow. This brings back (mostly fond) memories....
It's been many years, and I don't recall if we sang this during flag-raising in the Quadrangle at Barker Road. I know we recited the Pledge and sang the National Anthem (usually without much enthusiasm).
Please, I know what I'm saying. Don't attempt to discredit me by such cheap means. I would appreciate if you could provide me some statistics, I'd be more convinced that way. I'll admit the truth where it's due. So far, you've not done anything for me to believe that.Originally posted by aloof_guy:Sumone you have all your listed arguements wrong. Clearly you know little abt schools these days. How old are you?.
Can see you're still making attempts to carry out personal attacks. I shall ignore that for now, only shows your (lack of) character anyway. As I have said in an earlier post, good for ACS that they get the chance to groom some sporting talent. But they have some work to do about the attitude, as seen from the likes of you and social87.NOTE:I did not say ACS guys think they're above everyone else. You came out with this statement yourself. I stated that acsians are united and that others seldom have the chance to experience such unity.[/quote]
You are giving that impression. And you're still doing that, by assuming that only ACsians know what is the feeling of being united. Your attitude is just proving my point.
I know about ACS unity very well, and it is there. But to assume that they're the only school with a united school spirit is very wrong.NOTE:Another statement made by the clever sum41. I clearly did not say all top sports players go ACS or ACJC. I merely stated that Top players get easy entry to ACS schools and it is their decision whether or not to go into it. Clearly you do not know what your talking about haha..
Thank you for clarifying that. Would better appreciate it if you stopped attempting to make personal attacks.NOTE:earlier on i read one post saying hes never heard of a successful minister from ACS and that even if there is one, its not because of ACS thats why hes successful..
I think we should see how it goes, there might still be people who want to add in their own comments, no doubt some will just be cheap personal attacks but I suggest we see how it goes.Originally posted by LazerLordz:ACSian too?
Anyway, let's just close this discussion off.There is no conversion without pain, and let's save some of that pain and realise that there will be differences.
In the end, when you step out to work, it's not The most important thing.
Guess that really is some serious hate for the school, but we've also seen some very spirited defesnse as well.Originally posted by Ito_^:its just a secondary school, oso can debate. siao eh.![]()
Yup. Primary (Coleman St.) and Secondary (Barker Rd.) back in the 70s and 80s. What about yourself?Originally posted by LazerLordz:ACSian too?
What can I say, you got weird taste. Just kidding, such things are a matter of preference. I have my preference of school for girls too, but I'm not saying.Originally posted by Rhonda:I've got a thing for ex-ACS guys!
So, when I was in ACJS, those two years were HEAVEN!!!![]()
Well-said, LazerLordz!!Originally posted by LazerLordz:Regarding the common topic issue, I think we have to be fair.You can't force an Ah Beng to talk about Literary Studies or how the impact of losing one town to Zarqawi's men might have on the US Army in Iraq.Common stuff comes with greater understanding at first, and once you get to know people better, the common ground is enlarged.
I certainly feel unhappy when we are tarred with one huge brush that says intolerant, snobbish and haughty.Confidence is not snobbery, literacy is not arrogance and ideas of school loyalty should not be construed as being elitist.
I'm Chinese Peranakan, and yes when I was younger, I did have this notion that other people are not worth the trouble of understanding.But after entering NS and realising that diversity is one of God's greatest gifts to man, I'm much more engaging to anyone, even those who are of different backgrounds from me.
Well, maybe it helps that I do speak fairly fluent Hokkien and yes, I'm proud of my culture, which is that of Singapore and Brunei.I see myself as a Straits/SEA Chinese, born in the tropics, bred on bak chor mee and roti prata.I may hate durians but I certainly love the smell of laksa and seafood.I believe that you need to speak the language of others to be a true cosmopolitan and not insist on some pre-conceived notion of linguistic superiority.Better to order char kway teow in Hokkien and see a faint smile than stumble your way around in broken English trying to get your point across, by which time, the food is cold and the queue wants your pound of flesh.
Contrary to popular belief, we are not bootlickers of Western culture, save for the ignorant young who will mature and realise that their education has made them confident enough to face the world and be equally adaptable to anywhere they live, work or play.
Please announce the next time you guys have a meet-up session, easier to elminate you guys in one group. How would you prefer to die?Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Yup. Primary (Coleman St.) and Secondary (Barker Rd.) back in the 70s and 80s. What about yourself?
There's a boatload of ACSians who post regularly over at Club 30 too, in 'Night Owl Chatterboxes'.
MG
Originally posted by ditzy:Next time I post, I won't abuse the term "gay".![]()
To be honest, there were ACS guys who I really disliked because they were arrogant and extremely snobbish! They went around school with their nose up and they looked down on you if you weren't an MGS girl.Originally posted by SumOne:What can I say, you got weird taste. Just kidding, such things are a matter of preference. I have my preference of school for girls too, but I'm not saying.![]()
still gay..dun give a flying fark...joking..Originally posted by Rhonda:To be honest, there were ACS guys who I really disliked because they were arrogant and extremely snobbish! They went around school with their nose up and they looked down on you if you weren't an MGS girl.I wanted to punch them right in the nose!
But then again, being an ACS guy doesn't mean that ALL of them are arrogant.
One of my best buddies for more than 10 years is an ACS guy. Two of my ex-boyfriends were ACS guys.
My point is, being in the same school doesn't mean that EVERYONE from that school will be sama-sama!![]()
Wishful thinking, squirt! Didn't you know ACSians are well armed?Originally posted by SumOne:Please announce the next time you guys have a meet-up session, easier to elminate you guys in one group. How would you prefer to die?![]()