Originally posted by electrolyte:Maybe he cannot make it there?
[b]Alchohol Ciggs Sex:
hey btw i heard PM Lee's 16 year old son studyin in ac(independent), wondered why he sent him there not RI, even though his grandad's from there.cool.lol
Originally posted by LazerLordz:OT a bit..there ARE a number of weapon specialists who are fellow ACSians too![]()
Good for you?Originally posted by lwflee:I was from ACS as well...
Never really did get into the whole "school spirit" thing though... Don't quite understand the hate as well. It all seems so pointless.
The most objective and truthful post so far.Originally posted by pisspisspiss:You cannot generalize and say all of them are snobs and whatever may.
But the truth is, their upbringing, school culture and peer influence does affect them somewhat and naturally mould them to behave in a specific manner. Whether good or bad, itÂ’s purely subjective (personally, I tend to find them too cliquey. They should learn the from SJI boys =D)
Also, to say they tend to be cuter is absolute bullshit. Good looking chaps are more or less evenly spread across all schools. The only reason they 'tend' to look better is because of their uniform. Trust me, there are a lot of ACS boys studying where I am at now, and they all (I personally know more than 30?) look average with an exceptional few (like everywhere else, including neighborhood schools students)
So please dun tell me bullshit like if you enter ACS, you'll turn cute.
Yes they can, you bl00dy girl wannabe.Originally posted by bout au revior:Icks.. my SC post got banned! Why r da moderators doin this? mmmkay.. lets keep this alive thn. In case ya didnt already noe.. all da anglo-chinese schs are top ranking in sports.. even nerdy RI cant beat em. ;]
Not true. I also know you're not really a girl.Originally posted by bout au revior:nt Sure if i shld post my creation here. snickerss.. it's a poem bout AC guys.. a lil on da kinky side thou.. kinda lyk da song 'candy shop' if ya get wht i mean.. But anyways, my own opinion.. ac guys haf da x-factor. somehow they noe how ta please women. true or nt u decide. ;]
oh, now i know.. acs is just loser who scare to compete with neighbourhood schs? lol.. since claims that acs is so "strong", why dun they just go into the sports and dominate it? still need to choose for wad. like microsoft wanna make IE the biggest web browser, they just did it even with the former monopoly of netscape. anw, sg sports? i nv once proud sg achievements in sports. foreign talents. or just losers in competitions with millions spent. that is not the pts anyway.Originally posted by RockeY:Must you excel in every sport to be considered a top sporting school?Well if you know you have more competitiors,you jolly well move on to a new area,thats business sense for you..If you have many competitiors in this area,why bother to fight,just move on to another not so highly competitive area..Anyway if you notice,the schools that ACS excels in also currently happens to be the pride of Singapore sports..
~ there seems to be an assumption that ALL the girls like acs guys. just like u ppls to take notes, perhaps girls like mgs, cedar, chij and those girl schs are interested in them. if u bother to go survey girls from neighbourhood schs, ya, they hate those brats as much as us guys.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Must I give way and room to your rash choler?
Shall I be frighted when a madman stares?
You must have lost your girlfriend to an ACS boy. It is true that many ACS boys come from English-speaking families and have difficulties with Chinese but that is changing rapidly. In any case, I bet my Chinese is better than yours....
it's kinda stupid for u brats to think that only acs has the thing calls "unity". no, u all just just stupid.Originally posted by aloof_guy:Actually i feel really sad for these people. They have never experienced what to be united, our hearts our hopes our aims are one.
Top sports players gets easy entry into ACS schools. But why did they choose ACS when the "suppose" public thinks ACS are snobs and spoilt brats? haha go figure dudes.
About the person stating "Tell me which ministers are successful from ACS?? Its their character not because their from ACS"
I think you get your sayings all messed up. Examples of some of the ministers are ng eng and balakrisnan.(Not sure how u spell them) These ministers GOT THEIR CHARACTER FROM ACS. They frequently go back to ACS schools to encourage and motivate the boys to go on. This is what i call school unity and spirit.
Lets hope this somehow goes to the newspaper. I wanna hear their views over this issue.lol.
after so much, these brats still think that they're being innocently flamed.Originally posted by aloof_guy:Yes i think some ACS boys are arrogant. But only a small minority. What other people are saying is that we'll snobbish,spoilt and even..GAY! lolAnd when people start giving us praises, people start saying we'll arrogant. These stuff. All in the mind.
izzit? do u refer to pri schs or sec schs? may i know if there's any acs students with family income less than $1000?Originally posted by aloof_guy:digicharat:
Nah you dont need money to enroll your sons in ACS. Connections maybe, cause abt 80% of places are taken up my old boys, 10% by churches if im not wrong. Doing some sort of work for the school such as PSG would help alot. Once enrolled, you would be almost ensured a good secondary sch and college. Reunions are v. important as thats where u make all your connections to very successful ppl whom may be your classmates![]()
u sound reallie sad ya noe...poor boy guess u're jealous that ur school doesn't have it...lol.maybe u can try writing for them...but i doubt it will be anywhere near this.Originally posted by skyfoo:Aims, characteristics, and reputation
The school's stated mission is to be a world-class institution in nurturing the holistic development of their students, and to have every student be "A Scholar, an Officer and a Gentleman." This is reflected in the school motto, "The Best Is Yet To Be." The phrase is taken from the first line of the Robert Browning poem, Rabbi ben Ezra (1864), "Grow old along with me! / The best is yet to be...", and is supposed to encourage students to greater heights by reminding them that their best achievements are yet to come.
The so-called "ACS spirit" is particularly strong because of close ties with alumni, who frequently donate funds to the school and send their children to be educated there, similar to the public school tradition in England. Students who attend the primary or secondary schools (including affiliated schools) are usually given priority when awarded places in the next higher institution.
Although morally conservative due to its religious roots, the school has a reputation for producing students who are, if not brighter, then possessing sharp and inquisitive minds. The literary, debating and drama societies are particularly well-supported. ACS students also have a reputation for possessing a quirky sense of humor, with pranks being a long-established part of the school history.
ACS is considered one of the more prestigious schools in Singapore. This is because of its long history and also because many of its graduates have gone on to be successful in business as well as professional fields such as law and medicine. Despite occasional lapses in academic standards over the years, the perception that ACS students are more confident and outspoken than students from other schools continues to persist.
The school's students have also been accused of being arrogant and snobbish, and ACS itself has often been charged as being a school only for children of the rich and elite. In the 1970s, there was a minor flap in the local press about ACS students flaunting their wealth to other less privileged students and the world at large, and the term "snob" began being applied to them. As a result, the school initiated strict policies on how much money a student was allowed to bring to school, and even what kinds of watches or shoes would be permitted as part of the school attire.
The dress code has been relaxed slightly over the years, but the myth of the rich and elitist ACS student still survives to a degree, despite the fact that students from all income levels were and continue to be admitted to the school. Admittedly, the presence of the Independent School, with its high school fees and free-ranging curriculum, has not helped to dispel this idea. Curiously, other schools in Singapore, even Independent ones, do not suffer from the same reputation.
The social history of the school in its Singaporean context provides a clue: at the very beginning ACS was set up by missionaries who taught with the intention of converting the locals; it was frequently attended by the children of the mercantile and social elite who saw an English education as a path to greater success. This dichotomy between material success and spiritual success has become entrenched. It is said (partly in jest) that while the graduates of other top schools might rule Singapore, ACSians own Singapore.
Source: Wikipedia -- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anglo-Chinese_School#Aims.2C_characteristics.2C_and_reputation
obviously written by acs ppls
lol. perhaps i forget to highlight the ptsOriginally posted by social87:lol.jealous man...i can tell...
seriously, i dun see the need to promote our small sch to the world. we're not a sch who think that we're the best anwOriginally posted by social87:u sound reallie sad ya noe...poor boy guess u're jealous that ur school doesn't have it...lol.maybe u can try writing for them...but i doubt it will be anywhere near this.
small means anything? or u're telling me to emulate your sch to shout to the world "hey hey!! my sch acs is a BIG BIG sch. also, we got a bunch of losers, arsholes, snobs, gays and brats. this fact is confirmed by the majority of the singaporeans. ya, pls believe me, it's damn true. pls take note of my sch. thanks."? dun need to hide anyway. we're not losers like u gaysOriginally posted by social87:haha...i can tell.
anyway since u say its small..
den i guess u can probably go hide in that hermit shell and yours and jolly well stay down there.
and pls dun ever come out again.![]()
Originally posted by skyfoo:You would be surprised by the amounts given out for bursaries..
lol. perhaps i forget to highlight the pts
[b]Although morally conservative due to its religious roots, the school has a reputation for producing students who are, if not brighter, then possessing sharp and inquisitive minds. The literary, debating and drama societies are particularly well-supported. ACS students also have a reputation for possessing a quirky sense of humor, with pranks being a long-established part of the school history.
see, u brats think that ur sch is the best. concrete evidence here.
The school's students have also been accused of being arrogant and snobbish, and ACS itself has often been charged as being a school only for children of the rich and elite.
may we know y the word "accused" appears? it's not as if they're not. it seems like everything is just a myth made up, which we all know it's a fact.
In the 1970s, there was a minor flap in the local press about ACS students flaunting their wealth to other less privileged students and the world at large, and the term "snob" began being applied to them. As a result, the school initiated strict policies on how much money a student was allowed to bring to school, and even what kinds of watches or shoes would be permitted as part of the school attire.
somehow prove that u brats are indeed snobs.
The dress code has been relaxed slightly over the years, but the myth of the rich and elitist ACS student still survives to a degree, despite the fact that students from all income levels were and continue to be admitted to the school. Admittedly, the presence of the Independent School, with its high school fees and free-ranging curriculum, has not helped to dispel this idea. Curiously, other schools in Singapore, even Independent ones, do not suffer from the same reputation.
as i mention above. any students in acs with family income of $1000 or less?[/b]
I dont have the statistics to compare, but I concur that since we cannot account for every student there bound to be some gays in SJI too.Originally posted by FireIce:i think im going get punched for this
but i think SJI more gays!
>run away<
You're just as deluded as that caucasian-wannabe who's going to be the first forumer from sgforums to be arrested. Not that it'll happen to you. Point is, you're deluded.Originally posted by social87:lol.jealous man...i can tell...
AUnt Yun, reveal urself as Crescent Girl sibor?Originally posted by Yunhaier:Bashing ACS again? Mai lai lar.
I know so many ACSians... that makes this ACS-bashing so untrue. It depends on who you know that creates the impression. I avoided snobbish people, so I don't bother about them or what school they are from. It is the people I avoided, not the school they attended. Damn wu liao lor... as if what school you come from makes a difference in Army, society, career or Love?
If you are capable, you will succeed in life.
If you are good looking, you are good looking.
what the hell does it got to do with the school?
P.S: Don't bash Crescent also.
/me sharpen knife.![]()
Cheers