Pls help do a search, since you're at it.Originally posted by Manager433:Someone already post this topic before liao. Pls do a search on the above topic.![]()
Asians are more towards collectivist culture lo. Angmor is individualist culture lo.Originally posted by Honeybunz:when you're single, "When are you getting married?" or "Got a boyfriend/gf or not?"
when you're married, "When are you going to give birth?" Since 2004, it has evolved into "When are you going to give birth? Now got baby bonus liao"
after you are married and have the first child, you think you can shut their mouth, YOU ARE WRONG! They will say "plan for 2nd one".
It seems that only Asians are like that. Angmor won't ask this kind of personal questions one.
You guessOriginally posted by happyharvest:Asians are more towards collectivist culture lo. Angmor is individualist culture lo.
So which question did your relatives ask?
Actually, you can just turn up late lo. Wait many go off liao then you come lo.Originally posted by Honeybunz:You guess
I have already come up with ways to run away from them in the next CNY, if I am not able to go on a tour during then.
Bingo! That's my plan. Either that or go on holiday (depending on whether got tour departure that clash with that or not.Originally posted by happyharvest:Actually, you can just turn up late lo. Wait many go off liao then you come lo.
Another thing to do is, just keep silence when they ask lo. But if they are a group of people asking questions like machine gun, good luck to you.
Luckily my relatives not as inquisitive as yours. Or maybe I'm more tolerant? It does not seem much of a problem to me leh. Last time when small small, quite fun. Really enjoy. Now all grow up liao, dunno why all settings and moods not the same liao.
Hmm... I would think they ask when you giving birth since you like baby photos so much lo.![]()
Originally posted by bladez87:next time at funeral ask when their turn lo...i rmb reading from forums someone said this
harnor harnorOriginally posted by F Bunta:I read somewhere that a guy was so irritated by old folks asking him "When is your turn?" during wedding dinners that he started asking the same question to them during funerals. They stopped talking to him after that.![]()
I think it just how they phrase their sentense in a way not pleasant to others lo. They just don't have the skill to do so. Maybe you are more well-educated than them or they are simply bad at this communication ethic lo. It's just their character or hobby you are hating, I guess. Maybe they just don't know about it. Actually if you dun feel like answering just say a few words or just smile back to them to hint them lo. Soon they will be sian liao. I think they are just being "concern" about you ba.Originally posted by Honeybunz:Bingo! That's my plan. Either that or go on holiday (depending on whether got tour departure that clash with that or not.
Wah lao, you damn lucky!
My one ah....
Say no money to get married or have children. Instead of saying something sensible like "start saving now" , they will say "naymind, get married first" or "naymind, give birth first".
tamade!!!
of course naymind lah! My money what!
Nowadays ah, why people get annoyed so easily one. Just shoot back "I don't know" can liao lo and if can give them a big wide smile lo. Soon they will have no topics to go further one lo. Why have to kick a fuss at those questions mah.Originally posted by Honeybunz:My girlfriend has been bugged by the question "When are you getting pregnant". She just got married last year but no kid.
She is so annoyed with that question from her husband's relatives (her husband comes from a huge family), that she feels like telling them this in the next CNY "Forget it. My ovaries are dead, due to stress from people pushing me to get pregnant. Gynae say one".
Because they don't know, they just wanna to show some concern mah. Maybe they ask the wrong person le. They should ask their parents, bro or sis or close friends lo. Maybe they are not too close to thier relatives lo. I agree, people don't like to be asked personal questions.Originally posted by Honeybunz:I think it's very inconsiderate lor, for anyone to ask personal question.
(At a wedding) "When is your turn?" - What if the person has relationship problem or no luck in love life and he's very unhappy about it already? By asking that, it's like rubbing salt onto his wound, like that.
(To a married person) "When are you getting pregnant?" - What if the person got miscarriage before but silent about cuz she doesn't want to talk? Or what if the person is already very perplexed about her infertility problem?
Concern is one thing. But also must know how to be considerate mah. We won't know what the other person is going thru.