Yup agree, religion is not a number game. We r not playing game n statistic.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:but as laurence82 always said, quality over quantity. Buddhism doesnt seek to quantify followers quickly. aggresive preaching and evangelism seems foreign to buddhism, even though the teachings has spread around the world.
Thanks for agreeing with me.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:You are also right.
actually, just want to say, if a buddhist attend dharma centre/dharma talks, then they will also know about the sutras/teachings.
but the problem is. lots of ppl self-claimed/bai4 bai4 buddhist. they are not real buddhist who take refuge in three treasures, seek and practise the dharma. neither do they go dharma centres.. so in the first place they are not buddhists.
so hopefully, in future more people will look into the buddhist teachings
Tat show tat a lot of ppl have lots of view on christianityOriginally posted by SMAPLionHeart:just one thing related to christian can cause so much implications
That's correct. Few will enter by the narrow gate.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Yup agree, religion is not a number game. We r not playing game n statistic.
Haha .. I hope you are not talking about me.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Typical traits of a siao on christian... They will not listen to others as their god lan jiao is the most tua ki in the whole world.
so what if they believe in the teachings but do they seek refuge in the three treasures and practise the dharma?Originally posted by shade343:I thought a bhuddhist was just somebody who believes in the teachings of Gautama Bhuddha?
You could also try asking a Muslim if he follows the 5 pillars of Islam besides reading the Quran while you are at it.Originally posted by Icemoon:so what if they believe in the teachings but do they seek refuge in the three treasures and practise the dharma?
That you have to ask our Muslim friends here lor. Haha .. let them speak for themselves.Originally posted by SBS9611D:You could also try asking a Muslim if he follows the 5 pillars of Islam besides reading the Quran while you are at it.
do they necessarily need to do that in order to be a bhuddhist?Originally posted by Icemoon:so what if they believe in the teachings but do they seek refuge in the three treasures and practise the dharma?
perhaps eternal now would be in a better position to ans your qn since he is a bona fide Buddhist.Originally posted by shade343:do they necessarily need to do that in order to be a bhuddhist?
and that is because the people that practice christianity's actions allow people to have views on christianity =DOriginally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Tat show tat a lot of ppl have lots of view on christianity
You know wat. There was a time I went to a mega church in the west. The founder shouted they have the highest church attendance in Singapore and had broken the past record. This really makes me sianz......... Comparing thier church attendance with other church..... What is this man?!Originally posted by Icemoon:That's correct. Few will enter by the narrow gate.
Too bad those mega churches are playing the number game. I guess one good thing is they donate more money, and hopefully some of it benefits the society.
no one like to flame u, u are asking for it. 1 sec u say this next sec u try to carry their balls. pleaselah, if u are sincere in creating harmony here stop your crap and fark off. does it make sense to youOriginally posted by Icemoon:perhaps eternal now would be in a better position to ans your qn since he is a bona fide Buddhist.
dun flame me .. but I have less respect for those who claim to be xtians or buddhists but their actions reflect otherwise. like a buddhist should spend more time practising the dharma or even Zen Buddhism, instead of going temple ask for 4D! not to say going to temple to ask for help is wrong, since Buddha will not reject those who seek his help (if this doctrine is nonexistent, pls correct me).
you see the faith of these pple are so shallow .. that's why they convert to be xtian .. muahaha
it is like if your foundation is no good you will get swept away by the wind. This is the pt I'm trying to make here. too bad some pple dun understand and I suspect they are trying to label me a siao on christian.![]()
haha .. they got say they have the highest no. of criticisms levelled at them also?Originally posted by happyharvest:You know wat. There was a time I went to a mega church in the west. The founder shouted they have the highest church attendance in Singapore and had broken the past record. This really makes me sianz......... Comparing thier church attendance with other church..... What is this man?!
Let me guess. The founder's wife is a singing star. Am I right?Originally posted by happyharvest:You know wat. There was a time I went to a mega church in the west. The founder shouted they have the highest church attendance in Singapore and had broken the past record. This really makes me sianz......... Comparing thier church attendance with other church..... What is this man?!
Err.... growing in number or growing spiritually?Originally posted by Icemoon:haha .. they got say they have the highest no. of criticisms levelled at them also?
but then hor .. to paraphrase one charismatic pastor, if you have large membership doesn't mean you are growing (in the theological sense), but if you have small membership definitely means you are not growing.![]()
I never carry their balls. from the beginning till now, all my criticisms are levelled at those who claim to be buddhists or taoists but having shallow faith. In fact I question whether they can be called buddhists and well .. we have a bona fide buddhist here who at least agree on this point.Originally posted by No_Problemo:no one like to flame u, u are asking for it. 1 sec u say this next sec u try to carry their balls. pleaselah, if u are sincere in creating harmony here stop your crap and fark off. does it make sense to you
No surprise that Catholic church is losing its numbers quite significantly.Originally posted by happyharvest:This is nonsense. In this modern world, how to attract more youth to church? Need to play some games right? Conservative churches don't do this.
Your guess is as good as mine.Originally posted by iveco:Let me guess. The founder's wife is a singing star. Am I right?
To me, a good bhuddhist is somebody who does good and be good and follow the teachings of bhuddha. Not necessary to visit temple everyday and take part in the activities...etc etc.Originally posted by Icemoon:perhaps eternal now would be in a better position to ans your qn since he is a bona fide Buddhist.
dun flame me .. but I have less respect for those who claim to be xtians or buddhists but their actions reflect otherwise. like a buddhist should spend more time practising the dharma or even Zen Buddhism, instead of going temple ask for 4D! not to say going to temple to ask for help is wrong, since Buddha will not reject those who seek his help (if this doctrine is nonexistent, pls correct me).
you see the faith of these pple are so shallow .. that's why they convert to be xtian .. muahaha
it is like if your foundation is no good you will get swept away by the wind. This is the pt I'm trying to make here. too bad some pple dun understand and I suspect they are trying to label me a siao on christian.![]()
yah about your second statement. it remains to be seen how some of those so called buddhists understand about the teachings of Buddha in the first place. haha .. what are the three treasures? explain to me dharma and sangha. can they?Originally posted by shade343:To me, a good bhuddhist is somebody who does good and be good and follow the teachings of bhuddha. Not necessary to visit temple everyday and take part in the activities...etc etc.
thats also probably my answer to someone who asks "name me a church in singapore"Originally posted by happyharvest:Your guess is as good as mine.