dunno about the other 2, but I've always known chinese is the most advanced language in the world, its so simple yet so much more expressive than english. you can convey any meaning in CHinese but its not the case in English, somethings you just cant phrase in EnglishOriginally posted by caramon.:Language experts rank Chinese, Russian and Arab as the most advanced languages in the world, and not English.
In bed huh?Originally posted by FireIce:wah
then i mus be damn high status liao loh
i can speak english, my mother tongue, chinese dialects, a certain european language and the "world language"
Who huh? Who huh?Originally posted by sgboy2004:yah lor, got one ang mo kia here in the forum always use bombastic ang mo ... kao
you are talking sense for once.Originally posted by caramon.:Language experts rank Chinese, Russian and Arab as the most advanced languages in the world, and not English.
But singaporean, especially those in Shenton Way are extremely English conscious. They feel so damn proud that they can speak good English and so stupid of them to think that they are one above others for that.
If you are very proficient in both English and your native language, that's very good. But if you are very proficient in English and not your native language, that's not really something to be proud of.
Japanese with such poor English become the 2nd largest economy in the world. They show it with their capabilities. It is something singaporean should reflect on.
Not necessary so!! I speak a few langauges. I read Tang xi . I read "To be or not to be that is the question"Originally posted by caramon.:Language experts rank Chinese, Russian and Arab as the most advanced languages in the world, and not English.
thanks for helping me to elaborate.............Originally posted by sohguanh:Like they always say ang mo dabor tua kee, ang mo chabor tua liap nee. So of cuz the language English spoken is also dua liap lor.....![]()
BTW, what is Singlish?? Do be a smart Alex lah.... Have you heard how Jaimaican speak English? but they never claim Jaimalish??Originally posted by mistyblue:Hence I fully sarport Singlish...
When written in mandarin, it makes sense to those fluent in mandarin and it makes sense to them. When written in english, it does not make sense to the prc ppl, they might even find it extremely complicated and very lengthy.Originally posted by mistyblue:Have anyone read legal contract written in chinese?
-_-" Its extremely complicated and very lengthy.
When written in english, the terms started to make sense...
Its the effective use of the language that matters. Hence I fully sarport Singlish...
ta bian ca lor... she always say her ang mo best in class... call us cheena piang...Originally posted by polarsnake:Who huh? Who huh?![]()
isnt this because english is the worldwide language that majority of the countries know? im not trying to say that speaking good english = upper class. im just saying that english is already established throughout the world and is on a different level than other languages.Originally posted by caramon.:Language experts rank Chinese, Russian and Arab as the most advanced languages in the world, and not English.
But singaporean, especially those in Shenton Way are extremely English conscious. They feel so damn proud that they can speak good English and so stupid of them to think that they are one above others for that.
If you are very proficient in both English and your native language, that's very good. But if you are very proficient in English and not your native language, that's not really something to be proud of.
Japanese with such poor English become the 2nd largest economy in the world. They show it with their capabilities. It is something singaporean should reflect on.
world language.Originally posted by FireIce:wah
then i mus be damn high status liao loh
i can speak english, my mother tongue, chinese dialects, a certain european language and the "world language"
yr colon got history?Originally posted by antonsun:The mind of singaporean is very complex! Because of the history of colony!