Won't happen. Our NSFs are already so bloody cheap. Nobody will take the kind of allowances the gahmen pays for a full time and possibly hazardous job.Originally posted by Mr Fugue:.........btw, cross-fingers that gahmen outsource NS as well~!
compare NS trainings to construction work, the latter is tougher and more dangerous!!Originally posted by av98m:Won't happen. Our NSFs are already so bloody cheap. Nobody will take the kind of allowances the gahmen pays for a full time and possibly hazardous job.
But yes, for once I agree with Caramon. Stop wasting time and money on competitive sports. Look at the finals for many international competitions these days. One can be forgiven for mistaking them for domestic mainland chinese competitions!
So SAF will in the future be mainly comprised of mainland chinese and banglas? Then young singaporean men will not have to waste 2 of the best years of their lives liao.Originally posted by Mr Fugue:compare NS trainings to construction work, the latter is tougher and more dangerous!!
hence, I think should be workable to invite people from around the region to work for us as NSmen.
I was thinking more of those who already had training in undisclosed camps by the tamil tiger and abu saaf... Then no need BMT... go straight to infantry and commando... Save even more money!!!Originally posted by av98m:So SAF will in the future be mainly comprised of mainland chinese and banglas? Then young singaporean men will not have to waste 2 of the best years of their lives liao.![]()
nice twist, I was nearly misled.Originally posted by SilverPal:Can always get foreign talents to do NS for us!!! I'm sure many ppl in 3rd world countries are dying of hunger and getting $240 a month is more than they ever get in their own country...
After NS, we can outsource the governing function... Then sg ppl can really sit back in orchard, look at foreigners walk by us... hopefully drop a few coins in our tins...
my TRUE sentiments exactly, and NO hidden meanings~!!Originally posted by av98m:So SAF will in the future be mainly comprised of mainland chinese and banglas? Then young singaporean men will not have to waste 2 of the best years of their lives liao.![]()
.............dun make me sleep.Originally posted by ablazegal:seriously.
i think this whole issue about the outsourcing thing just undermines the government's efforts to promote nationalism and a national identity. Sorry dear gahmen, but things like nationalism and pride of our own country + people CANNOT be bought or purchased.

I think we should just give up on sports altogether. Whats the point in getting any sporting accredition either internationally or regionally. It doesn't make any difference to our wallets or our lifestyle. So what if we produce a Tiger Woods or a David Beckham? He would be the only rich one. His wealth won't be distributed to us. We can busk in his glory... true... but it would only be short lived and never touch our bottom line.Originally posted by caramon.:Singapore are expects to win more medal in the coming SEA games thanks to the imported talents from GuangZhou, Fujian province etc. You see, these athletes have no hopes of representing China in international competition but when they come to Singapore, they can smash our national records with ease and win regional games such as South East Asian Games.
Of course our regional neighbors like Malaysia are still stuck in the old-fashion thinking that it is worthwhile to train up their own indigenous talents and improve the performance of homegrown athletes through sheer hardwork. Oh what a joke, while they try so hard to spot local talent, train them, nurture them, ....Singapore through its INNOVATIVE foreign athletes import method, beat them like nobody's business.
Singaporeans can sit back relax and busk in the glory that our imported athletes brings home. Why train so hard? Why sacrifice shopping time, tours, movies and good restaurant food? Singaporeans should give up competitive sports altogether - why? Because you can spend all your time trying to beat your fellow indigenous Singaporeans, then when you think you can represent Singapore, the sports council import someone from GuangZhou and you become the subsitute. Now how stupid will you feel when that happens?
We, Singaporeans have such good leaders that we get to feel the thrill and glory of victory without much effort, we should sit back and enjoy this success that our leaders have engineered. Other countries are so stupid to try to train their own indigenous talents to win, make all their school children take part in Sports Day to choose local talent.
We should get rid of Sports Day altogether and call it a Theme Park day whereby the entire school take time off to visit Sentosa or Haw Par Villa.. We can eliminate the agony of defeat by importing the best, and beat our Malaysian/Indonesian sporting rivals with consummate ease.
I didn't quite read what the first post deep enough to fully understand what he was trying to say.Originally posted by ablazegal:seriously.
i think this whole issue about the outsourcing thing just undermines the government's efforts to promote nationalism and a national identity. Sorry dear gahmen, but things like nationalism and pride of our own country + people CANNOT be bought or purchased.
You forgot to mention one area - cybergames.Originally posted by spinex:If the garment wants to concentrate on sports. Sports like soccer, swimming, track and field, and other physically demanding or physical frame related sprts (basketball) should be thrown out. We can never be as good as the africans, europeans or americans mainly because we don't have the size, strength or history to compete in the international arena. We should compete in sport with weight catergories like boxing, weight lifting (remember our silver medal at the olympics), martial arts (wushu, silat) etc or sports which requires accuracy or mental toughness eg golf (mardan), billards, chess, shooting, archery, bowling etc. This would be more focused and may help us to win medals in time. So much money in soccer is ridiculous and fruitless.
Oh my.. another idiot. How did i fail to notice this moron when I was replying to the creator of this post. But don't you worry. I shall address your silly post now.Originally posted by spinex:I think we should just give up on sports altogether. Whats the point in getting any sporting accredition either internationally or regionally. It doesn't make any difference to our wallets or our lifestyle. So what if we produce a Tiger Woods or a David Beckham? He would be the only rich one. His wealth won't be distributed to us. We can busk in his glory... true... but it would only be short lived and never touch our bottom line.
Moreover Singaporeans are just not very sports minded. We are more concerned about our studies and making money. Sports will never be a priority. We are also a very small nation with only 5 million people. It is very unlikely that we would be able to compete with a country like China (1.2 billion people), USA (500 million) people etc. There is a small talent pool and a small sports market. We can produce from time to time a Mardan, but we can never produce a Tiger Woods.
Many years ago after Singapore was "thrown" out of the Malaysian Cup. The government embarked on a billion dollar project to boost our fledging soccer industry. Look where that has gotten us. We are now worse than ever before. The money could be used to feed the poor people in singapore for a very long time.
Sports is important mainly only for health reasons and not for winning trophys.
It is a waste of money to pay foreign atheletes to compete for Singapore. This idea of must always win (in all areas) at all costs is a little obsessive. We should just accept the fact that we are just not a sporting nation and that there are other areas of excellence that we can be proud of. If we Singaporeans cannot do it, why bother to recruit foreign talent. There is nothing shameful of not being able to produce a world class sportsperson from a country as small as singapore. We can be world beaters in a lot of other ways.
If the garment wants to concentrate on sports. Sports like soccer, swimming, track and field, and other physically demanding or physical frame related sprts (basketball) should be thrown out. We can never be as good as the africans, europeans or americans mainly because we don't have the size, strength or history to compete in the international arena. We should compete in sport with weight catergories like boxing, weight lifting (remember our silver medal at the olympics), martial arts (wushu, silat) etc or sports which requires accuracy or mental toughness eg golf (mardan), billards, chess, shooting, archery, bowling etc. This would be more focused and may help us to win medals in time. So much money in soccer is ridiculous and fruitless.
Go easy on him Brown...Originally posted by Farmer Brown:If you think our population is a stumbling block, then tell that to the Swiss. They've got a population that's 3 million more than us and they've got a former world no. 1 tennis player. They've got soccer teams that made EPL teams sweat it out in the Champions League. Yes they may have a bigger population, but please don't tell me that the 3 million extra that we don't have is the difference. Oh now i can hear you say "but they are ang moh what". Ang moh so what? Tell that to Fandi Ahmad who went to Holland to play footy before Park Ji Sung even kicked a ball. Yah ang mohs are naturally bigger and stronger, requisites which make up a good sportsman. But so what? You can be big. You can be strong. But if you have no heart, you might as well not bother. And from what you've wrote, I can see you have absolutely no heart and determination. Throwing in the towel even before you try. What kind of spirit is that? Where did you learn that from? Tell me where.. so that when I have kids of my own in future, I will make sure they avoid the path that you took.