Em...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I think transport should be free. Transport making profits, yet bus and MRT fares increasing. And do you know that polytechnics and universities are at the far end of different parts of Singapore? Polytechnic and university students pay adult fares, every month come up to a lot of money. If never buy student pass, then must pay adult fare. Then JC students don't need to do. Unfair.![]()
f.u.c.k. it really unfair.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I think transport should be free. Transport making profits, yet bus and MRT fares increasing. And do you know that polytechnics and universities are at the far end of different parts of Singapore? Polytechnic and university students pay adult fares, every month come up to a lot of money. If never buy student pass, then must pay adult fare. Then JC students don't need to do. Unfair.![]()
But u also recive pension or welfare if u unemployed or old. Medical is subsidised. What goes out from u comes to u eventually. But singpapore? What comes to u goes out from u eventually.Originally posted by sbst275:Em...
Even in Europe, public tpt operators also make good profits, even better margin that SG
Because not just of currency, also that they have stable profit... Because govt collect all the fares, govt pay them
Pension comes from the 47.5% annual income tax you pay when you're working.Originally posted by Mr Soh:But u also recive pension or welfare if u unemployed or old. Medical is subsidised. What goes out from u comes to u eventually. But singpapore? What comes to u goes out from u eventually.
Go to Finland.Originally posted by Mr Soh:f.u.c.k. it really unfair.
do they get free nokia n70?Originally posted by foxwalk:in Finland education is free, including transport and meals. For tertiary education, people pay just a nominal sum, something like 100+ euros per semester.
don't be silly.Originally posted by alexkusu:do they get free nokia n70?
Seriously, where all this pension talks came from?Originally posted by Mr Soh:But u also recive pension or welfare if u unemployed or old. Medical is subsidised. What goes out from u comes to u eventually. But singpapore? What comes to u goes out from u eventually.
I rather die a man with even $1 in my pocket which i can say it rightfully and permanently belongs to me than die a pauper
They make very little profit leh....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I think transport should be free. Transport making profits, yet bus and MRT fares increasing. And do you know that polytechnics and universities are at the far end of different parts of Singapore? Polytechnic and university students pay adult fares, every month come up to a lot of money. If never buy student pass, then must pay adult fare. Then JC students don't need to do. Unfair.![]()
Sure or not? 49 million made by SMRT little to u?Originally posted by shade343:They make very little profit leh....
Its good to be a student in Finland....In fact you can spend your whole life just studying in Finland....Originally posted by foxwalk:in Finland education is free, including transport and meals. For tertiary education, people pay just a nominal sum, something like 100+ euros per semester.
So Singtel or NTUC FairPrice making more profits you not bothered?Originally posted by Mr Soh:Sure or not? 49 million made by SMRT little to u?
In the case of SMRT, They had to depend on a Tax writeback of 33 million...without it, they would be in the red liao.Originally posted by Mr Soh:Sure or not? 49 million made by SMRT little to u?
NTUC Fairprice is subsidizing us in the form of rebates(link points) They also give back the profits to the public what.Originally posted by sbst275:So Singtel or NTUC FairPrice making more profits you not bothered?
If they list, then that so called 'social responsibility' is goneOriginally posted by shade343:NTUC Fairprice is subsidizing us in the form of rebates(link points) They also give back the profits to the public what.
I hope they list on SGX....
it really depends on the culture and society. in finland, all the education is free, but their literacy rate is 100%, hence disproving that if education is free, no one or few would take it seriously. it really depends on the society as a whole.Originally posted by lost.sheep:if education if free den wad's the point of studying?
i like i go i dun like i dun go lor free anw mah who cares not my money or my parents'
finish liao oso get degree (dun siao until 4 years get nothing, dun look nice =P)
wont appreciate it if u dun hav to pay for it
in the end will just kena abused
but i still think it's abit too high...can be cheaper lah but not free until...
u get the point...
don't think they will do that since the government wants these foreigners to make up for lack of local talent (which is ironically, molded by the government, and schoolkids are encouraged not to question, hence not to think in ways other than the ways the schools tell them to think) and most noticeably, lack of population make-up.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Since singapore's tertiary education institutes are WORLD CLASS, it means that many foreigners are queuing to get into them. Thus, MOE should set the fees the foreign students are paying to be 3 times as high.
This has 2 benefits. Firstly, it ensures that only the rich foreign students can come here to study and when they come, they will spend much more money here than poor ones. Secondly, the extra 2 x fees can be used to subsidise the local students.
What makes you think the higher fee can go to subsidise?Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Since singapore's tertiary education institutes are WORLD CLASS, it means that many foreigners are queuing to get into them. Thus, MOE should set the fees the foreign students are paying to be 3 times as high.
This has 2 benefits. Firstly, it ensures that only the rich foreign students can come here to study and when they come, they will spend much more money here than poor ones. Secondly, the extra 2 x fees can be used to subsidise the local students.
MAKE MORE UNI ...AND ALLOW POLY GRADS TO ENTER UNI EASILY...AND ONE MORE THING...ALLOW DA POLY GRADS TO SWITCH COURSE WHEN THEY GO UNI...IF THEY TAKE ENGINEERING IN POLY DOESNT MEAN THEY NEED TO TAKE ENGINEERING IN UNI TOO..BE MORE FLEXIBLEOriginally posted by Alfresco coffeeshop:At least for first year of NTU/poly ect......What do u feel ?
This is the least Govt can do for NS serving Singaporean males