can supply me the contact details?Originally posted by kAdEn:Rafi from Waikiki dive center @ the concourse. Don't know if he's still there though....but i think waikiki charges slightly higher than some of the other dive centers out there....
Anyway, I'm looking for ppl to join me in taking up the advance course.
Thanks for the advice...but then the problem is within this group...there are students and working people....so time-wise its a bit difficult to get them all OK for lessons...so are U saying that we shouldnt take the course at the end of the year at all?Originally posted by erijazz:I would advise you to take you Openwater Diving Course within this month and not at the end of the year as moonsoon is drawing near around the region (for Pulau Aur/Dayang or Pulau Tioman). Next, some dive centre would propose students to do their openwater at sg, Pulau Hantu etc which I dont recommend for newbie as the visibilities are really poor compare to the former and it would affect your diving experience for a newbie.
its OK...the website will do just fine.thanks.Originally posted by kAdEn:www.waikikidive.com
i don't think it's wise to put just give you his number...not that i don't trust you or anything....
you could just request for him to be your instructor when you sign up though
Dont worry, they should have wetsuit that fit himOriginally posted by Xcert:An additional question...some guys in the group is rather big-sized....so is there sizes for wetsuits?sry if it sounds stupid...I have never been in a wetsuit before...![]()
There're sizesOriginally posted by Xcert:An additional question...some guys in the group is rather big-sized....so is there sizes for wetsuits?sry if it sounds stupid...I have never been in a wetsuit before...![]()
siao kia Edric was my classmateOriginally posted by erijazz:Any place you might wanna go for more opinion and advise, which is a diver forum;
http://www.finsonline.com/forum/
I did re-visit Phuket Similans after the tsunami during chinese new year, only some dive sites are affected by the tsunami, others are still in pretty good conditionOriginally posted by nomood:www.apachediver.com
that's where i did my open & advanced. very friendly folks.yah, monsoon season is either approaching or is here, though it's more likely of the latter. So popular spots like tioman and pulau aur will be closed to you. the season will reopen in march (i think? not sure)
& yah, i'd oso recommend that newbies not dive in crummy singaporean waters, where there is very little to see, if you can see through the water @ all. it's much more worth it to go that little farther north and see what you always see in the catalogue, crystal clear water!
on a side note, has anyone dived in thailand since the tsunami? how's the place like now...?
that's right ! .. i did my OW and Advance there too ....Originally posted by s|nNeD:well. u can check out Leeway
i got my OW and Advance from there.
just that its from NAUI and not PADI.
with regards to the monsoon season... Erijazz has provided enough info on that already.
Cheers
oh wow, phew. was thinking of going down to thailand when i'm back in singapore, since everything from redang to aur will be closed along the east coast.Originally posted by erijazz:I did re-visit Phuket Similans after the tsunami during chinese new year, only some dive sites are affected by the tsunami, others are still in pretty good condition![]()
hehe..Originally posted by Fatum:that's right ! .. i did my OW and Advance there too ....
George is a one of the pioneers of the industry in singapore ...
don't be put of by the appearance of his shop though ....
I have always thought that bad visibility in singapore waters is limited to certain areas like sembawang,changi,etc....thought the outer islands like St Johns and Sister Island would be better(not crystal-clear but better than longkang)...thanks for correcting the misconception of mine.Originally posted by Fatum:there are a few schools of thought as to where to go for your OW,
some say local, as the vis is so bad that you'll be a much better diver ....
on the other hand, you might get turned off diving altogether ...
last time i dived locally was in may .... it was like diving in a longkang ....
Good advice. I know I'd probably have quit diving if I did my open water in Hantu. It is a good training site for AFTER you finish your open water though. Or if you're like those seriously addicted folks who cannot tahan to wait until the season re-opens after monsoon.Originally posted by erijazz:I would advise you to take you Openwater Diving Course within this month and not at the end of the year as moonsoon is drawing near around the region (for Pulau Aur/Dayang or Pulau Tioman). Next, some dive centre would propose students to do their openwater at sg, Pulau Hantu etc which I dont recommend for newbie as the visibilities are really poor compare to the former and it would affect your diving experience for a newbie.