Originally posted by chronicles:
Some people think that weight-training is all about drinking 1000 protein shakes and trading solid food for protein drinks instead.How do i know?I keep seeing idiots put 4 whey protein servings into one drink and drink straightaway after their exercises without even eating carbohydrates to drive protein into muscle cells faster through insulin.
hmmm........got alot of factors to consider. i was 55kg last time, now is 64kg...my friend say i look 'bigger' although i can still fit into my shirt which i have worn 2-3 yrs liao...
4 servings too much lah...4 servings is 80g of protein AT LEAST.....
in order for muscle to grow, protein is important but so is carbo. after workout u have 60 mins to pump in carbo and protein...after 60 mins u pump in the absorbtion not so good....so called window period lah.
its not how much protein u take at a go, its how much u take a day. for me, the ideal is 130g per day for max growth but i dun hit it anyway. it is important to drink 1, ONE serving of protein shake every now and then through out the day. u really need protein to grow and eat more carbo oso. multivits help too, it makes u eat better....

note that the regular whey u take is speedily absorbed one so dat explains why u need to spread out the servings out evenly as u dun want ur 'fuel' to run dry after 3 hrs. casein protein is more time-released but lower in bio-availability....so b4 u sleep its good to take a serving of casein or cottage cheese so during the 8 hrs ur 'fuel' is not totally 0.
afterworkout best is take weight gainers but not those which have high sugar content cos it will make u fat easily and u be a round ball of lard in no time. seen a guy, shorty, totally rounded....totally no cutting...see him go suntan i dunno wanna laugh or cry. yes, he has lats. yes he has pects but all covered in a layer of fat....dats fugly...totally ugly.