Originally posted by Justy:
Remember being punished by mum when young to maintain the horse stance >.< Her dad's a martial arts teacher before he died.
Anyway martial arts now is more like a dance imo. Its quite hard for me to fight and yet not hurt the opponent. Yes its a defensive skill, but when you do fight, you fight to maim if not kill... Thats when you really bring out the maximum potential ar... Winners in spars may not win in actual life or death combat.
Myself? Don't practise any martial arts form now. Although i was quite interested in Jeet Kun Do and Akido. In the end i find the theories useful but not the forms or stances. Reading their works, i think the masters (creators of the martial arts form) understood the essense of martial arts, and they tried to impart that to their students, but the students only captured the shell but not the essense.
I believe in not having any set/fixed moves/forms/stances. Bruce Lee got it right, 90% if not 100%. I like his statement that by giving his form of martial arts the name JKD, he had already fixed it in a form and that has in turn limited its potential.
There are no forms, no stances, no enemy, no self...
*Just babbling haha... read too many martial arts stories liao*
Martial arts of course hard lah. Simple need to teach you meh?