kyoto zzzz....Originally posted by alexkusu:Kyoto is a nice place to visit... japanese culture..
have u learn how to speak japanese then?Originally posted by applesweetgirl:-_-"
just very interested in japan's culture and the country itself. ^^
wahaha. yeaps.Originally posted by pqr:have u learn how to speak japanese then?
hi. maybe next year but during my hols or so. the later part of the year.Originally posted by stormax:When do you want to go?
& do you have any places you want to go?
budget ?
Shopping spree or want to see sceneries?
Try to visit Asakusa Kannon Temple (Senshoji).Originally posted by applesweetgirl:hi. maybe next year but during my hols or so. the later part of the year.
i would really like to visit harajuku. that's my main part i want to go.
budget is $2000
i won't really go shop there la. coz things are ex. rather shop in hk. but if i see things i like, i would want to buy.
i want to see sceneries as well..that's why i asked about hokkaido..but if i'm going to tokyo (most prob), i won't go to hokkaido...coz too far.
i would like to visit a temple...(so many temples..>"<) i would like to visit interesting places ba. i did a list of the places i wanted to visit last year...but i have lost the list. T^T any recommendations can write here ba. ^^
Sennsoji isn't a very good example of a Japanese Temple.Originally posted by Mao x 2:Try to visit Asakusa Kannon Temple (Senshoji).
Here's a Japan Guide for you!
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2164.html
Hiya;Originally posted by applesweetgirl:hi. maybe next year but during my hols or so. the later part of the year.
i would really like to visit harajuku. that's my main part i want to go.
budget is $2000
i won't really go shop there la. coz things are ex. rather shop in hk. but if i see things i like, i would want to buy.
i want to see sceneries as well..that's why i asked about hokkaido..but if i'm going to tokyo (most prob), i won't go to hokkaido...coz too far.
i would like to visit a temple...(so many temples..>"<) i would like to visit interesting places ba. i did a list of the places i wanted to visit last year...but i have lost the list. T^T any recommendations can write here ba. ^^
ahaha.Originally posted by nomood:Hiya;
If and when you get to Harajuku, don't be disappointed hor! It's not a sprawling huge place; it's composed of small individual stalls instead.
I really think that Shibuya is where you want to be. And despite all the 'i don't think i'll shop there' i really think that there will be a high tendency for girls to go ballistic all over. Though of course, i don't know what you'll like.
A budget of around 2k should be fairly realistic.
My ticket with NWA costs me 550, but that was inclusive of a flight to Shanghai as well. Tokyo was a stopover. You can be prepared to lose up to 1k easily (since you're staying in ryokans) in accomodation + food + transport assuming a length of 10 days in Tokyo. Another 450 to go shoping... it is a little conservative. but hey, who in their right mind will go travelling without a credit card?
But you should do fine with 2k.
ahahah!Originally posted by nismoS132:my friend and i accidentally stepped into LaForet at harajuku once thinking it was just another shopping centre. i'd say the experience was rather intersting. must go place for females, boyfriends and brothers not advised.

Ikebukuro is another red light district in japan.Originally posted by applesweetgirl:ahaha.
i've just saw some pics of Harajuku..really not what i thought it was. but nvm. would still go there and have a look. Shibuya is nearby anyway, right. haha. and i guess i would go to Meiji Shrine ba. coz everything around that area. hmm.
i've found a good accomodation at Ikebukuro...for food...maybe i'll just eat at fast food restaurants T^T...should be cheaper right. aiya. when i'm richer, then i go to try food at good restaurants there next time! >"<
transport...hey..just want to ask...the JR Yamanote Line...actually how does it work huh..dun understand also. and got any pass that would make my journey cheaper?
some main stations of Yamanote Line in order...
Tokyo
Shimbashi
Shibuya
Shinjuku
Ikebukuro
ahh..i dun have credit card. T^T and i'm still confused about airfares..a trip to there and back...how much will the airfare cost? if i take, say, JAL....any cheaper alternatives?
thanks so much for everyone's help so far! ^^
rate is $1.47 lah...where got 1.42?Originally posted by SBS9845X:By the way, when I went to Japan last year, the exchange rate was expensive, SGD$1.58 to 100Yen. Now, currently, the rate has gone so much cheaper, at SGD$1.42 to 100Yen. I am planning to go for a 5-6 Day break at Tokyo during the March Holidays. Will be visitng places like Tokyo Disneyland and Mount Fuji.
thanks. haha. sounds like a great trip! ^^Originally posted by SBS9845X:You have come to the right place with the right question at the right time! I myself have been to the three places (Tokyo, Harajuku, Hokkaido) you want to ask about. I went last year at December 2004. Spent a week there. I paid SGD$2230 for the tour package, and brought along about SGD$500 for the trip. I did not spend much, as my uncle was the person who spent money on the skiing and snow mobile in Hokkaido. Here is my trip report...
Day 1: Took NH902 from Singapore to Tokyo, Narita Airport. All Nippon Airways rocks! Watched three movies and aircraft was already going to land. The private TV screen on the back of every chair screened real nice movies.....watched Cinderella Story, I Robot and Dodgeball. Flight time is from 2355hrs to 0725hrs
Day 2: Reached Narita Airport at 0725hrs feeling extremely deprived of sleep....watched movies for 6 hrs on end.....japanese tour guide met us at the arrivals and brought us to the bus...another surprise, the bus was brand new, rolled out of the factory just a week ago....lolz...so lucky. Bus brought us to Tokyo city centre....saw some imperial park....lolz...boring but nice and cool. Temperature at Tokyo was 12-15 degrees celsius. Later went to Ginza for shopping......Ginza is a high class shopping district... Went for lunch, then bus brought us to Haneda Airport, also in Tokyo, to take a plane to Hokkaido. Plane was NH861, also ANA, in fact all my flights were ANA. Flight took 1hr30mins. Reached Hakodate Airport, the southern most point of Hokkaido. Another bus took us to Trappistine Convent, some nunnery....later went up to Mt. Hakodate by a big gondola. After that went for dinner then back to hotel. We stayed at Hotel Hakodate Royal.
Day 3: Had a great night's sleep and woke up for breakfast at the hotel cafe. After that the bus took us to the Goryokaku Park to look around, then to the famous Hakodate Morning Market. So many crabs and lobsters and seafood there....bought a fresh scallop and ate it on the spot....sweet and delicious, yum. After that went for lunch then took the bus to Lake Toya, which is 2hrs away. One thing, in Hokkaido, the sky starts to darken at about 3.30pm local time and thats about 2.30pm singapore time. At about 3.30pm Singapore time the sky wud be totally dark in Hokkaido! Thats only in winter though. Anyway, back to my bus ride to Lake Toya....Reached Toya and went to visit to Mt Showa volcano.....After that went to bear ranch to see bears....hmmm.....nothing much....went to hotel for tatami style dinner then slept in the nice tatami hotel room. Hotel also had hot spring facilities, enjoyed it alot The name of the hotel is Toya Kanko Hotel.
Day 4: Had breakfast at hotel then took the bus to Jigokudani/Hell Valley to see another Volcano....then went to Shiraoi Ainu Village.....had lunch...took bus to Sapporo. Took 2hrs to reach Sapporo. Shopped around, visit beer factory and went to play snow mobile....went up the snowy hill, temperature about -20 degrees. Came back down to the bus my legs and hands cannot feel liao...lolz. Had dinner then went back hotel.......APA Hotel and Resort (Sapporo).
Day 5: Had breakfast at hotel again, then visit white chocolate factory.....drove to Otaru, about 20 mins.....Otaru is so nice, whole town is like a music town......had lunch....went music box shop....then went back Sapporo and visited Odori Park, Tokeidai Clock Tower.....had dinner, then went to Chitose about 40mins then stayed at Hotel Nikko Chitose. Had chinese style dinner in hotel......
Day 6: Had breakfast in hotel again, then went by bus to Sapporo-Chitose Airport to take plane back to Tokyo. Flight NH56 took 1hrs 30mins to reach Tokyo's Haneda Airport. In Tokyo, visited Tokyo tower then went to the punk shopping area Harajuku, visited Odaiba Park, saw Venus Fort......had dinner, then went back hotel to sleep....Hotel Metropolitian Tokyo...
Day 7: Had breakfast at hotel, then went shopping at the Tobu and Seibu shopping centres nearby. Later took bus to Narita Airport. Flight NH901 flew from Narita at 1625hrs and reached Singapore at 2250hrs. Had a great holiday!
By the way, the snow mobile costs a BOMB. For two persons, one driver and one passenger, be prepared to pay 15000yen, which is about SGD$230! And as for the food there, I only paid for one meal at Tokyo. A bowl of ramen can cost 900 to 1000 yen, about SGD$15-16. The holiday I had was out of this world, but be prepared to spend SGD$10000 and above for a family of four.
I got 1.42 at Changi Airport's Money Changer at T1 just three days ago.Originally posted by pqr:rate is $1.47 lah...where got 1.42?
disneyland is more fun than disneysea...disneysea can just go at night if u have time...
wow! that is great! ^^Originally posted by SBS9845X:I got 1.42 at Changi Airport's Money Changer at T1 just three days ago.
hmmmm. the scene i saw was tons more chaotic. go on sundays, they have sunday specials.Originally posted by applesweetgirl:ahahah!
i have just did a search on yahoo on LaForet! wwooo!!! that's like, the place i wanna go! yes! thanks for introducing it! ^^
gaaaa!!
want want want! T^T
no actually rumor is that ikebukuro is controlled by taiwanese gangs. ever realise the large number of taiwanese in that area?Originally posted by nomood:Ikebukuro is another red light district in japan.It's supposedly the non-yakuza controlled district.
hmm, i doubt that the yakuzas will allow taiwanese gangsters on their turf. I mean, just look at their non-gaijin policy in shinjuku.Originally posted by nismoS132:no actually rumor is that ikebukuro is controlled by taiwanese gangs. ever realise the large number of taiwanese in that area?