people are just so materialistic~!!Originally posted by Xcert:If U are asking if ITE accept ex-con as a student...I think they do...even unis and polys do...as for staff...I not sure...U have to find out from them...
Don't think ITE will not accept you except on grounds of academic records... you serve your time.. you are free to study all you wanna...Originally posted by guohui:i use to have that 'special IC' when i was under supervision when i first release from prison. but now i have my normal IC.
SCORE got help me look for job but i want to apply for other job also.
by the way do ITE accept ex convict?
Rubish!Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:They will go down to CID at the Police Cantoment Complex and check..
most government has departments to check whether this person has criminal record... This will only be applicable if the applicant is going to be employed in sensitive area... I would recommend that you do not need to reveal unless deem necessary... For example, if you are going for emigration, you really need to declare cos the emigration department needs you to verify with singapore police force on your record status...Originally posted by guohui:hope someone can help me...
i have gone to prison before. i know i must declare to employer that i have criminal record. but can someone tell me how my employer can find out that i was in prison? how do companies conduct background check? is there some govt office that all employer can call?
but will all employer check? is it safe if i don't declare?
For ur case, u can work anywhere else in singapore or in other country except their government departments or sectors...Originally posted by guohui:i use to have that 'special IC' when i was under supervision when i first release from prison. but now i have my normal IC.
SCORE got help me look for job but i want to apply for other job also.
by the way do ITE accept ex convict?
Alamak.... i write such a long reply as above you still ask this kind of question.Originally posted by Xcert:actually...after talking for 2 pages...any one here actually has the experience of going down to the Records Office and running a check on someone,most likely in the course of their work(HR,etc)?
[/url]paiseh...didnt see clearly...me bad....Originally posted by Ponders:Alamak.... i write such a long reply as above you still ask this kind of question.
Yes.. i am involved... no need to go down to CID. All you need is make an arrangement with CID beforehand (like opening a credit account with them)
So you just submit a list of names to CID and CID will reply to you after checking and bill you later.
This list is only for the company's own reference only and cannot be used for other purposes.
Some countries require you to show a certifcate of no criminal conviction if you want to apply for Visa or migration visa .. look like the one below. However this cost about $50 and cannot apply without supporting documents.[/url]
best is b4 looking for job go cantoment get the form to certify u got no criminal records...like dat save all the trouble.Originally posted by Ponders:You all ah..... no such thing as different IC one lah. THey got different IC.... not an a mark or sticket on a pink IC.
ok.. i worked in human resources dept of a MNC.. this is the process.
The form you apply for work will ask you if you have criminal record. If yes, please explain, etc etc.
Whether yes or no, the company will submit the list of shortlisted candidates to CID for background checks. More sensitve industries (petroleum, chemical) will even submit a list to ISD.
Within 3-5 days, they will reply stating if people in the list have records. If they have, CID will print out an offence summary included in the reply. If no records, CID will stamp "no criminal record" next to each name on the list.
ISD will reply likewise. ISD will stamp "no security risk" or something like that. forgot liao.
Ok, here is the confusing part...
1. Not all companies will conduct background checks, a CID check is $18 per person if i am not wrong. ISD check is more expensive. If a small company have like 10-15 applicants, they will spend quite a sum.
Since the company i worked for is an MNC, they spend about $800-1000 weekly to do background checks.
2. If your company did not do background check, and you stated no in your application. If you get hired, and later on they found out you got record, there are few thigns they can do to you.
Fire you. quick and easy.
Sue you then fire you. because you lied in the application so the employment contract is no longer valid thus they sue to claim some $$ back from you. This is usually the cost of hiring another person in your place.
DO nothing, ... because they yellow ribbon supporter.
3. what happens if you have criminal record and stated yes in the form? There are also few things they can do to you.
Employer will immediately reject your application because they have a strict no record policy.
Employer will consider your application due to the minor nature of offence but you will not be placed priority if there are candidates of equal qulification but no record.
Employer will ignore your record because they decide your offence was due to "teenage stupidity".
hope this helps. and good luck
Cannot. CID do not anyhow issue you the Certificate one.Originally posted by chunyong:best is b4 looking for job go cantoment get the form to certify u got no criminal records...like dat save all the trouble.![]()
Hey man, I did not say that everyone will get checked. Depends, you know?Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Rubish!
Do you think the HR has so much time to check on every single new employee?
They only do checks on the managerial level and above.