I dun know how true is this but one of my aunties told me that taka was built in a shape of a tomb to appease the souls whose bodies were once buried on that plot.Originally posted by markzz:Orchard HaunteD? Well.. many years ago, orchard road was a BIG cementary. Taka is alright la..doesn;t feel so spooky. Its Orchard Plaza(next to Cuppage) which I feel uncomfy in. THe toilets are creepy!![]()
Orchard, Tiong Bahru, Dhoby Gaut, Novena, Bishan, Braddell, Bouna Vista, maybe Redhill.Originally posted by sinicker:okay so what places are haunted?
1. Orchard MRT stn male toilet?
2. Bishan?
3. Novena/Newton
4. Dhoby Ghaut
whr else?
There's a small cemetery surrounded by HDB flats, beside the MRT tracks at Commonwealth Avenue called Yin Fah Kuan Cemetery.Originally posted by Icemoon:Ngee Ann Poly got to be the creepiest school. cos it was built over a cemetery and the place (junction of Clementi and Bukit Timah Road) was the dreadful Hill 200.
The cemetery was called Tai Shan Ting, a cemetery for the Ngee Ann Kongsi.Originally posted by Quincey:I dun know how true is this but one of my aunties told me that taka was built in a shape of a tomb to appease the souls whose bodies were once buried on that plot.
Went Ubin for camping and one of my boys got possesed in the tent. and worst of all is that that boy pitched his tent under a TREE and they were playing around with torch. But very fortunately, nothing serious happened to that boy; the thing left his body and he got fever the next day.Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:maybe u might wan to share abit wat happen there?
That's the old PS! In those days, we refer to it as YAOHAN because of the huge department stall that dominated it! Gone were the days where mac serves Milkshake! I miss feeding fries to the birds in the Istana garden as a kid! MAc was non aircon and its "window" are right next to istana garden! Sobs...I'm getting Nostaglic!Originally posted by redstone:
Orchard's Jewish Cemetery. Recognise PS in the background?![]()
A FengShui master told the New Paper few years ago that the shape n red colour of Taka is Good Fengshui..thus leading to its booming success! Maybe it really is to applease the souls and they in turn decide to bless the shopping centre with good luck? Or was it really FengShui at work? What actually is Fengshui?(dun tell me its Wind + water ar!Originally posted by Quincey:I dun know how true is this but one of my aunties told me that taka was built in a shape of a tomb to appease the souls whose bodies were once buried on that plot.
Looks a bit like mini Kranji War Memorial.Originally posted by redstone:There's a small cemetery surrounded by HDB flats, beside the MRT tracks at Commonwealth Avenue called Yin Fah Kuan Cemetery.![]()
the one at Kranji War Memorial and Yin Foh Kuan Cemetery not scary one.. it's only "found" body parts of belongings of the deceased.. not the whole body like evrywhr else.Originally posted by Icemoon:Looks a bit like mini Kranji War Memorial.
It belongs to the Hakka.
Buona Vista? Hmm .. I thought the cemetery should be what's now the Bus Interchange? The MRT station is located next to an ex-forest, don't think it was a cemetery last time.Originally posted by redstone:Orchard, Tiong Bahru, Dhoby Gaut, Novena, Bishan, Braddell, Bouna Vista, maybe Redhill.
All cemetery sites. Might be more.![]()
you mean si3 wu2 quan2 shi1 liddat? not scary meh? at least if you're buried whole .. you rest in peace.Originally posted by sinicker:the one at Kranji War Memorial and Yin Foh Kuan Cemetery not scary one.. it's only "found" body parts of belongings of the deceased.. not the whole body like evrywhr else.
Tangs also. Last time they were all skeptical when the owner bought the plot of land, as it was next or on a cemetery.Originally posted by redstone:The cemetery was called Tai Shan Ting, a cemetery for the Ngee Ann Kongsi.
Sounds familliar?
Yup, the owner of Ngee Ann Devt, which is the owner of Ngee Ann City.
Not only NAC, but also Wisma Atria, Meritus Mandarin, Cineleisure, and the park beside Wisma used to be the same cemetery.
i dont understand your 1st sentence leh.Originally posted by Icemoon:you mean si3 wu2 quan2 shi1 liddat? not scary meh? at least if you're buried whole .. you rest in peace.
Tang's old building was already on that site, I think.Originally posted by Icemoon:Tangs also. Last time they were all skeptical when the owner bought the plot of land, as it was next or on a cemetery.
So funny .. I thought Orchard Road was lined with fruit trees last time? They even have the "fruit tiles" on the pedestrain walk now .. na bei .. might as well put "tombstone tiles" right?![]()
I thought you meant the body was not buried as a whole.Originally posted by sinicker:i dont understand your 1st sentence leh.
I was probably referring to the old building I think .Originally posted by redstone:Tang's old building was already on that site, I think.
Below the super wide footpath is a canal!![]()
i dono hanyu pinyin.Originally posted by Icemoon:I thought you meant the body was not buried as a whole.
no choice. SGF like cannot input chinese characters.Originally posted by sinicker:i dono hanyu pinyin.
Yes, Stamford. From Tanglin all the way to Esplanade.Originally posted by Icemoon:I was probably referring to the old building I think .
Hmm .. the canal is on the Tang's side? You mean Stanford Canal? I thought it should be on the Taka side.
chinese characters also i dono.Originally posted by Icemoon:no choice. SGF like cannot input chinese characters.
he's malayOriginally posted by Icemoon:no choice. SGF like cannot input chinese characters.
that means the canal goes crosses orchard road somewhere? where does it cross the road, then?Originally posted by redstone:Yes, Stamford. From Tanglin all the way to Esplanade.
It comes out behind Somerset station and MacDonald House.![]()
It cuts across Orchard Road somewhere in front of Le Meridien, across the front Istana, PS, thru Dhoby G. MRT station, emerging behind MacDonald House row.Originally posted by kc_leung:that means the canal goes crosses orchard road somewhere? where does it cross the road, then?