and use the goddess of moon jutsu to slow down time also....Originally posted by FaTe_TwisTer:use ur sharigan or whatever jutsu you have to cheat lah!
If you suck at summary... don't attempt to use your own words. Like what my teacher says... don't sacrifice your content marks to attempt to gain language marks...Originally posted by glossy_matte:Although english cannot be improved remarkably in a day, you can try flipping through the dictionary and copying down new words. Might help in your paper 1, you never know. =) I have this gut feeling informal writing will be up.
As for paper 2, do NOT copy and paste from the passage. Use your own words accurately if possible. Read up on summary skills, summary stands 20/25 marks if I'm not wrong. ( I ABHOR SUMMARY!)
Comprehension is just comprehension(duh?!); understanding of passage.
Anyway, usage of bombastic words is good but NOT too frequently otherwise everything turns banal. Make sure you know the exact meaning of word before using it.
My two cents' worth. =) More tips please! I need help too!
thanks for the advice.. hmm.. bt wad do u means by proficient english?Originally posted by joeacid:Dun use proficient English and NVER do it in 'O' level.
But do read through the words like connective words, common grammer mistakes and simple verbs.
Remember to write in readable writings, becoz markers HATEs to read but they still have to.. so dun make urself stupid by writng like a monkey.
Hmm... Paper 1... dun go out of point.
And a Taboo thing to do is... NVER NVER RECALL a story u've read or written before even if the question is very very close to it.
Becoz recalling will greatly affect ur writing skills as u spend ur energy recalling. It's not ur fault, everyone has the same problem.
And PLEASE take note of the time.. if u hav enough time... read it again and again and again and again and again... until the time is up for checking mistake... even if u read until u wanna puke like.. still read... remember this will definately help de.
Paper 2... Read the passage carefully and if possible... write a small few words summary for each paragrph... so that u dun hav to hunt for the answer all over again when doing the questions.
Apply the Skimming and Scaning tactic u learnt in school.
If not confident of the answer... write it in pencil 1st... later on... if u still have enough time... check like wat i said for the paper 1... and change ur answer if u found any mistake accordingly.
I hope this helps... Although i'm not longer in Sec Schools... i'm still taking the Cambridge Papers.. and i'm sure i know those Prof better now than i do last time![]()
Paper 1: Must as well write exposition or argumentative... better. Narritive is SuckyOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Paper 1: Describe the object or person you are writing about, don't just write out. For example, she has long, silky black hair not she has long black hair.
Paper 2: Just don't write out of point. Writing more does not mean correct answer. They want an answer straight. For summary, avoid grammar mistakes. Try to get full marks for language portion to score if you are weak at spotting points.
Hmm...Originally posted by Depressed...*sigh*:Can give more comprehension tips?
Must know how exposition. If not, you will regret it after you got your O Levels results. Got lots of tips from teachers last year, but don't know where I threw them.Originally posted by striderz_o405:Paper 1: Must as well write exposition or argumentative... better. Narritive is Sucky
Paper 2: Summary just try to pick out points. Write in own words. Do a draft ALWAYS. That helps.
Of course you need the points. But narrative writting will be so ordinary that the markers will just give ordinary marks.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Must know how exposition. If not, you will regret it after you got your O Levels results. Got lots of tips from teachers last year, but don't know where I threw them.
oh sry, proficient English means chim English or the use of skilful English. It's not that dun use it skilful but dun use those too profound wordings... Ang Mo Hates them, and becoz they know it's asian... they hate it even more when u use them maybe? oh btw, i know that Ang Mo over there also dun use profound words deOriginally posted by Itachi:thanks for the advice.. hmm.. bt wad do u means by proficient english?
Right. Choose whatever suits you. Creative write narrative, not creative write exposition. But remember, don't write out of point.Originally posted by striderz_o405:Of course you need the points. But narrative writting will be so ordinary that the markers will just give ordinary marks.
Exposition is ok if you get facts. It's somehow like the newspaper review for CL.