PA SSC, I'm going for that course after my O's.Originally posted by valentinoo:Anyone know where to go for the course? whats the cost like ?
Originally posted by valentinoo:
RSYC only got one location.Originally posted by valentinoo:ya i almost want to sign up for da rsyc ones..but its held at west coast..very far..
going to work as boatman ?Originally posted by valentinoo:Anyone know where to go for the course? whats the cost like ?
Originally posted by Pitot:RSYC only got one location.
For PASSC, they have a few locations. However, only Changi has the course for PPCDL.
The main objective of the Powered Pleasure Craft Driving Licence Course is to train participants in the safe handling of powered pleasure crafts (which include powerboats registered under “SZ” and “SZH”) within the port limits of Singapore. Conducted at PA Sembawang Sea Sports Club and in accordance to the guidelines stipulated by the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore, participants will be taught the followingnot sembawang??
AFAIK, sembawang close door liao. Left, Changi , East coast, Kallang, n Pasir Ris.Originally posted by valentinoo:not sembawang??
dats kool coz i live at da east side....Originally posted by Pitot:AFAIK, sembawang close door liao. Left, Changi , East coast, Kallang, n Pasir Ris.
Out of 4, only changi has docks for boat. The rest are all along beaches. Kallang is along River.
Changi is a great place, i went there for my Kayak courses. Then can go to CV makan oso. Great place.

PPCDL is for boats that do not operate commercially. For eg, u have this licence for own puproses. The passenger on ur boat are non revenue.Originally posted by Uncle_MooMoo:can drive powerboat only or can drive big yatch also har?
yeah I mean if I get a PPCDL, what size of boat am I qualified to drive? Just power speedboats or big yatches(for personal use) as well?Originally posted by Pitot:PPCDL is for boats that do not operate commercially. For eg, u have this licence for own puproses. The passenger on ur boat are non revenue.
Boats different from cars or aeroplane. They vary from big to small.
I think it is possible to drive a yacht for personal purposes yes. I suggest you go double check if you really interested.Originally posted by Uncle_MooMoo:yeah I mean if I can a PPCDL, what size of boat am I qualified to drive? Just powerboat or a big yatch(for personal purposes) as well?
I'm planning to go for the course. So is the thread starter. Perhaps we can arrange to go together? And the lesson will be split into 2 parts, theory and practical. Practical is handling of the craft while theory is the rues and regulations of the sea.Originally posted by Uncle_MooMoo:ok thanks, I think I will go for the course when I'm free.
can tell more about the course, like what kind of boat will we drive, is it hard etc.?
also what topic will be covered in the course, like navigation vectoring etc., maths have to be good? I'm quite a blur person so I usually prefer to prepare beforehand if it's complicated
thanks alot
?[/img]Yes, I think we will be qualified if we have PPCDLOriginally posted by Uncle_MooMoo:Valentinoo, do you know what the navigational chart reading theory is like? So anyway after I get the license, I can drive boats like:?[/img]
ya i studied all that...ocean, coastal, celestial navigation...chart readings...but its another story that i cant remember itOriginally posted by Uncle_MooMoo:Valentinoo, do you know what the navigational chart reading theory is like? So anyway after I get the license, I can drive boats like:?[/img]