thread starter not chinese lah.Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:we originate from china. and wad's the fuss with how mediacorp organise their programmes?
yeah... v true... in fact, most dramas series hav eng subs.... tht means non chinese are still able to watch chn8 shows....Originally posted by crazy monkey:indian and malay watch chn 8 also![]()
because of advertising revenue. chn 8 reach wider audience so got more budget to produce shows.Originally posted by fenixfire:haiyah, how i know what the tv ppl call themselves...oh yea hor..mediacorp..paiseh...my apologies..but tcs ..can use to illustrate my point, so also good..
Yea..i'm not chinese..not pure chinese at least..i also watch chinese television, its not bad..way better than channel 5..the question is why is that so?
would there not be a vicious cycle?as the chinese channels are getting better viewership due to their better programming, the ad revenue would always be higher and its just becomes circular, to get the english channel out of the twilight zone, something needs to be done right? then only, can we possibly have some parity? having two chinese channels just go to show how far the chinese programming has gone, while the u-turn on channel i goes to show how much english programming sucks..Originally posted by crazy monkey:because of advertising revenue. chn 8 reach wider audience so got more budget to produce shows.
still got ally mcbeal?Originally posted by FireIce:the times when i watch ch 5 are for under one roof, PCK, mr bean and movies with brad pitt......
not to forget ally mcbeal!
sian of survivor and amazing race
I can't stand it when there are too much Chinese ads on CH 5.Everything has its own place.Originally posted by fenixfire:yea, can watch but still..the fact is that there seems to be continual improvement of the chinese channels, what the hell is the channel 5 people doing? and well..what is mediacorp doing to improve the situation? If they wanna like this, then might as well make everyone learn mandarin , then can watch tv without reading subtitles, and wah lau even channel 5 got chinese ads all,only lately also then malay and indians one are aired, just for balance sake.
Hey, I like ally mcbeal too.Originally posted by FireIce:the times when i watch ch 5 are for under one roof, PCK, mr bean and movies with brad pitt......
not to forget ally mcbeal!
sian of survivor and amazing race
me fav is biscuitOriginally posted by TooFree:Hey, I like ally mcbeal too.![]()
i have to agree, saw a bit of it..and her name is super sexy!Originally posted by FireIce:me fav is biscuit
and portia de rossi is soooooo pretty
true.Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:Because channel 5 cant compete with other channels eg HBO, Star Movies. It cant even compete with Hallmark, AXN. All the shows they shown us are so outdated that you will surely have watched them in cable tv already.
Plus, even if they produce local english dramas and sitcoms, the show will still get slammed most of the time so basically channel 5 is just there for the sake of it only.
i'd rather watch aksi mat yoyoOriginally posted by HyuugaNeji:Because channel 5 cant compete with other channels eg HBO, Star Movies. It cant even compete with Hallmark, AXN. All the shows they shown us are so outdated that you will surely have watched them in cable tv already.
Plus, even if they produce local english dramas and sitcoms, the show will still get slammed most of the time so basically channel 5 is just there for the sake of it only.