No lor. Im defining this topic to that of IT stores in SLS only. I agree that maybe in other places, indian shops could provide better service than the chinese shops.Originally posted by jeg:I think this whole stereotyping of bad service from shops run by indians is just racist.
I think there are equally sucky service shops that are run by Chinese or even Malays.
Its just that maybe there are more Indian shops that tend to be BUSIER with customers. Surely there must be a reason they are busy. Good Service? Cheaper products?
So basically i think this thread is racist.
I think it wont be if u can sincerely say that you have NEVER experienced bad service from a shop run by chinese...Originally posted by sinicker:is classifying (and narrowing options) by race a racist action...?
Think of it this way. Im describing the shop.Originally posted by jeg:I think it wont be if u can sincerely say that you have NEVER experienced bad service from a shop run by chinese...
But perhaps when you use race as an option to "narrow" or "classify" when race has nothing to do with Quality Of Service it does seem racist then.
Sure anot, I always go to the one @ the 2nd level, cheapest so far in SLS & friendly leh.Originally posted by shade343:Went down there yesterday to buy a 1GB SD card. When I enquired for the price of the card, that bloody person behind the counter ignored me. So I asked again and he told me " you really buying or not?" Then he take the product and chucked it in front of me.
KNN! What kind of attitude is this? At least those chinese shops give me better service lor.... Cant help but feel that the guy was being racist.![]()
It is better to include the shop name rather than label the incident as generally 'indian'.Originally posted by shade343:Went down there yesterday to buy a 1GB SD card. When I enquired for the price of the card, that bloody person behind the counter ignored me. So I asked again and he told me " you really buying or not?" Then he take the product and chucked it in front of me.
KNN! What kind of attitude is this? At least those chinese shops give me better service lor.... Cant help but feel that the guy was being racist.![]()
Most of them yes. Can see their manner of dressing is not local.Originally posted by pat33:I heard this from ppl. Most of the Indian shops owners in SLS, they are usually Indians from India and they are not really interested in the locals because they are front for carrier exports to India to escape their heavy import tax.
You can say bussinessmen who knows how to exploit their own laws to make money.....