he said his friend is 22.Originally posted by ScArLeT kNigHt:Dont Tell Me Is Because He Is Still 7 Years Old...![]()
And Anyway,You Got Hole In The Heart Liao,How Can Still Live One??![]()
If he is able to survive up till now, his prognosis would be rather good.Originally posted by hkm_1:let say if a person have a hole in his heart from young. Will he be able to survive on medication alone? he is 22 now and he look normal on the outside.
my friend who has a hole will not look normal.eg he had purple lips instead of red and after so many years he is still 1.2 m tall only.
Know a sch mate, 1.65m +, look healthy & veri sporting type. During NS medical chk up, I heard from him that his heart got hole. He got pse E status & wif the Air Force, easy office job. I dun think he got any medication. It is best chk wif doctors.Originally posted by hkm_1:let say if a person have a hole in his heart from young. Will he be able to survive on medication alone? he is 22 now and he look normal on the outside.
my friend who has a hole will not look normal.eg he had purple lips instead of red and after so many years he is still 1.2 m tall only.
of course can live la. I think can cure one. haha.Originally posted by ScArLeT kNigHt:Dont Tell Me Is Because He Is Still 7 Years Old...![]()
And Anyway,You Got Hole In The Heart Liao,How Can Still Live One??![]()
Yeah... the hole provides a lower pressure for the blood flow as compared to the normal passageway where blood entering the right heart will go up the pulmonary arteries (which has a higher pressure). Depending on the type of hole in the heart, the blood will travel from right to left or left to right.Originally posted by Linkage:of course can live la. I think can cure one. haha.
anyway hole in heart = oxygenated blood and deoxy blood mix, so the lips purple lor.
Surgery lor.Originally posted by Linkage:of course can live la. I think can cure one. haha.
anyway hole in heart = oxygenated blood and deoxy blood mix, so the lips purple lor.
The human genome project allows the change of chromosomes only, and this affects genetic disorders such as Down's Syndrome, Turner's Syndrome or Edward's Syndrome which is often related to heart disorders.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Surgery lor.
30 years later got genetic engineering. Solve all these problems.
I don't mean the infectious diseases. I only mean the genetics disorders. But I don't think all can be solved.Originally posted by renorenal:The human genome project allows the change of chromosomes only, and this affects genetic disorders such as Down's Syndrome, Turner's Syndrome or Edward's Syndrome which is often related to heart disorders.
But it doesn't cure or change the course of infectious aetiologies such as Rubella, Toxoplasmosis etc...
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I don't mean the infectious diseases. I only mean the genetics disorders. But I don't think all can be solved.
So are you affected or not affected? You sounds as if you are not affected.Originally posted by applesweetgirl:ah..you all get me very worried...*bites nails*
i have a hole in the heart since i was born i think..but only found out when i was 5 years old i think. i didn't have an operation coz err..my parents divorced then somehow nobody care about me then also partly no money.
is it really that serious?
i'm 18 this year. err..i think my lips are rather black ba. >"< but i have no idea is it caused by my hole in the heart problem?
i live like a normal person. i go jogging 4km at least twice a week, i eat 3 meals a day blablabla...
anyone know more about the effects of having this illness? will it affect my future baby in any way?
ar...>"< this leaves me feeling so depressed!
today while i was jogging, i was thinking of how i want to bring up my future child in a good way. hahaha. i'm so lame.
Okay, here's the thing... you need to get your heart screened up by an Echocardiography (ECHO) and have an ECG (Electrocardiogram) done. Also, get a Chest X Ray (CXR) done as well. These are the basic most investigations to see how severe your heart condition is.Originally posted by applesweetgirl:ah..you all get me very worried...*bites nails*
i have a hole in the heart since i was born i think..but only found out when i was 5 years old i think. i didn't have an operation coz err..my parents divorced then somehow nobody care about me then also partly no money.
is it really that serious?
i'm 18 this year. err..i think my lips are rather black ba. >"< but i have no idea is it caused by my hole in the heart problem?
i live like a normal person. i go jogging 4km at least twice a week, i eat 3 meals a day blablabla...
anyone know more about the effects of having this illness? will it affect my future baby in any way?
ar...>"< this leaves me feeling so depressed!
today while i was jogging, i was thinking of how i want to bring up my future child in a good way. hahaha. i'm so lame.
In fact it is quite common, an abberant nerve bundle or tract that forms in the heart in between the atria and ventricles causes the heart to beat irregularly and sometimes just to channel an extra beat (ectopic beat), followed by a stationary heart and then a return to a normal rhythm.Originally posted by sinicker:
i have Wolff-Parkinson-White syndrome. it's believed to have caused the deaths of the few NS-men in recent months.
thing is, i am fit. Gold for NAPFA, 9.00 - 10.30mins for 2.4km run. in my college hockey team. cycle 40km each weekend.
hmmm...>"< sounds very serious! haiz...but i really don't want to go for operation....haiz.Originally posted by renorenal:Okay, here's the thing... you need to get your heart screened up by an Echocardiography (ECHO) and have an ECG (Electrocardiogram) done. Also, get a Chest X Ray (CXR) done as well. These are the basic most investigations to see how severe your heart condition is.
You seem to be normal, hence you are normal. But considering pregnancy in the future, prior to entering the course of it, you need to know the risk you have to take. The body undergoes enormous physiological changes during pregnancy, your blood volume goes up, your hemoglobin levels come down, your kidney has to work extra hard, your heart has to pump all the excess blood volume around the body to supply sufficient substances (oxygen, toxins and nutrients) to and away from you and your baby.
The heart is under severe stress during pregnancy and this is where all the symptoms you have not been having, will start to appear one by one causing a lot of distress. From shortness of breath, to awakening at night because of lack of air, to gross leg swelling, racing heart beat, chest tightness and cyanosis, all of these will accentuate itself as the heart is burdened. This is even worse during labor where the uterus has to contract at a great force to expel the baby out and when the placenta is retrieved, the bleeding will be often more severe as there is an autonomous regulation of blood flow back to your heart after constriction of all the blood vessels in the placenta (the placenta is an organ that has a lot of such blood vessels to feed your baby while in the womb). Such enormous blood flow channeled back to your heart will strain up your heart and can cause a severe collapse in the labor room.
Having a heart disease in pregnancy is a high risk pregnancy. You need to however get your heart checked up to find out the type of heart disease you are suffering from before attempting to get pregnant. Complete your family early, best depends on the condition of your heart.
It needs to be borne in mind that with each pregnancy, your heart gets worse, so having only a child or two would suffice in certain cases. But with our current advent of such great technology and ample follow ups with prenatal, antenatal and postnatal care, such great demands and risk are often reduced though problems may still arise.
Get your heart checked up FIRST!![]()
Possible, but it would have covered up in the earlier ages... it depends on the site, his could be an atrial septal defect which is common, though not as common as ventricular septal defect. In this condition, the valve may have shut it up (the foramen ovale). You can google it and have a look at the picture of how it looks like... You don't have to go for surgery, just go for a baseline check up on your heart... if it's too expensive, you can get it done in Malaysia...Originally posted by applesweetgirl:oh ya. is it possible that the heart heals by itself and the hole disappears?
i got one friend who has hole in the heart too..but he told me it seems to have healed at his latest checkup.
and this hole in the heart illness is quite common, isn't it...