Yes down with transperancy, down with democracyOriginally posted by caramon.:It is time to put this unhappy episode behind us and start donating again. The NKF scandal captivated, angered and even confused some Singaporeans. See what transparency brings - nothing but unhappiness and anger. The main lesson from the NKF episode for me is that transparency is best avoided because it brings so much unhappiness. Before the NKF scandal, everyone was so happy with the NKF, gladly donating to the charity....I wished things have continued that way so I get to watch those highly entertaining spectacular NKF shows....I believe many Singaporeans like myself really miss those shows.
I strongly suggest, for Singaporean's own good the following 'transparency' questions should be outlawed:
1. How much does it cost to build a HDB flat?
2. What is the GIC doing with our money? What is their performance?
3. How is our CPF managed?
Why frustrate yourself asking questions that won't be answered in the first place? If answered, they might be upsetting and make you unhappy.
u forgot the gift from our beloved government.. the forever popular upgrade of your flats...financial report of the programme?Originally posted by caramon.:It is time to put this unhappy episode behind us and start donating again. The NKF scandal captivated, angered and even confused some Singaporeans. See what transparency brings - nothing but unhappiness and anger. The main lesson from the NKF episode for me is that transparency is best avoided because it brings so much unhappiness. Before the NKF scandal, everyone was so happy with the NKF, gladly donating to the charity....I wished things have continued that way so I get to watch those highly entertaining spectacular NKF shows....I believe many Singaporeans like myself really miss those shows.
I strongly suggest, for Singaporean's own good the following 'transparency' questions should be outlawed:
1. How much does it cost to build a HDB flat?
2. What is the GIC doing with our money? What is their performance?
3. How is our CPF managed?
Why frustrate yourself asking questions that won't be answered in the first place? If answered, they might be upsetting and make you unhappy.
yea, its no use to blindly support charity organisations when they are abusing everyone's money.Originally posted by jeramy:siao... just because it hurts to know the truth then u choose not to know it?
doesnt that sound like escaping from reality?
whatever..truth is truth.. cant be denied.
It's funny how caramon took his time to think carefully before he writes and yet some of his readers simply can't get the implied meaning.Originally posted by jeramy:siao... just because it hurts to know the truth then u choose not to know it?
doesnt that sound like escaping from reality?
whatever..truth is truth.. cant be denied.
Yup.Originally posted by curiousOrange:It's funny how caramon took his time to think carefully before he writes and yet some of his readers simply can't get the implied meaning.
caramon,Originally posted by caramon.:See what horrors transparency brings. The heart pain of realising that for every dollar you donate during those NKF shows - half went to MediaCorp for organising the show, the rest went to NKF administrative overheads and 10 cents goes to the patient.
If every cent collected went directly to the patients, kidney dialysis would have been practically free like in Malaysia.
Let me urge Singaporeans NEVER EVER let another NKF type revelation happen, it is so painful to know the truth:
1. Stop trying to dig into various institutions to find out what they are doing. Just have trust, trust makes you feel good and sleep well at night. Don't ask what GIC is doing with our reserves just accept that it is in good hands.
2. Stop asking for more transparency - otherwise what we dig out can really shock us.
Questions like : "How much of the cost of a HDB flat goes directly into building the flat? "...should be outlawed.
We have to believe that Singapore is a country of high integrity and low corruption....and continue to perpetuate this view so as to retain our good reputation to outsiders. Others will view us with envy, so long as we believe, they will also believe. Straits Times will help to play a central role in these beliefs. Imagine - if Durai did not sue Straits Times, the good times and the NKF shows would have gone on forever.....and ever. That would have been so wonderful.
Lets not forget that NKF was once viewed as a world class organisation that other countries wanted to emulate.