well, it's true that christians have to give tithes right? offerings are some sort of optional though...Originally posted by M©+square:I'm not sure if changing CG will help.
What i understand is that it's a church culture to give generously in offerings and tithings.
Many worshippers in CHC left for this particular reason. Of cos many stayed because they believed in supporting the church.
Different cultures.
who gave us the knowledge to plant our own food?Originally posted by FBI:I tell u how she kelong. Actually her album sales not v good. Got ppl buy u know why? becuase all the CHC's members supportted her. Now that's not correct. I really hate it when the pastor say " B4 u eat u msut thank god for the food he give u all". NOw that's BS! We plant our own food!
Check the police records if u have access to them then.Originally posted by laurence82:Har? Stalked?
Zun bor?
I'm not sure how you interprete how the service leader used the pulpit to encourage generous offerings.Originally posted by The Emperor:well, it's true that christians have to give tithes right? offerings are some sort of optional though...
look lah.. u r not obliged to give if u dun wanna give. that's wad i'll tell my frens. but then i'll also add that if u believe that God will bless u after ur generous giving, then give with a cheerful heart and blessings will be given back to u.
if they leave because they have to give, then pls, dun go other churches because christians are called to be generous givers. and other churches will also practice the same.
That bad experience makes me wonder not about the religion but the intention of the so called "christians". My dad was not in favour of christianity and after this incident was converted to "anti-christ". My mom used to attend churches but there was this one incident that makes her leave the faith. And I, used to be from a christian missionary schools in which Kong was from too and I did served Christ for a period at that time when I was young but now thinking back, I'm glad i'm not with CHC. I've moved on.Originally posted by The Emperor:those people are really too much already.. seriously, it's not the way of evangelizing. well... pls dun let this bad experience stop u from knowing more christian frens.
Hmm.. okie. let me explain that tithes ARE in fact very important, because it opens up the windows of heavens so that blessings will come down upon the giver. But as for offerings, the more the better. and the amount of offerings given signifies your love for God and how much u r willing to sacrifice.Originally posted by M©+square:I'm not sure how you interprete how the service leader used the pulpit to encourage generous offerings.
To me i feel uncomfortable in hearing generous offerings bundled with goodies and blessing from God.
I have not hear that CHC treats offering as OPTIONAL.
On your last para, i think you might have the wrong perception over these people.
Those people who left loves God and they are more than willing to give in their offerings and tithings, they are generous givers.
But they question the intention of CHC's methodology of harvesting finance.
They should go to other churches if they do not feel comfortable in CHC.
Other Churches do not emphasis Money and Offerings and Blessings through offerings more than CHC.
You can ask around.
:::I sense you get defensive over this issue? A much debated issue eh?
Cheers
I was told too. In fact, there will be an announcement every 5 mins reminding the members to get those cds before they leave the church!Originally posted by FBI:I tell u how she kelong. Actually her album sales not v good. Got ppl buy u know why? becuase all the CHC's members supportted her. Now that's not correct. I really hate it when the pastor say " B4 u eat u msut thank god for the food he give u all". NOw that's BS! We plant our own food!
i'm so sorry to hear about this...Originally posted by yjtang71:That bad experience makes me wonder not about the religion but the intention of the so called "christians". My dad was not in favour of christianity and after this incident was converted to "anti-christ". My mom used to attend churches but there was this one incident that makes her leave the faith. And I, used to be from a christian missionary schools in which Kong was from too and I did served Christ for a period at that time when I was young but now thinking back, I'm glad i'm not with CHC. I've moved on.
haiz... there's no perfect church. it's good to get a church that u can plant urself in and mingle around with nice people rather than letting all these stupid stuffs get into u for they'll only make u feel worse.Originally posted by yjtang71:I was told too. In fact, there will be an announcement every 5 mins reminding the members to get those cds before they leave the church!![]()
Foxtrot Uranus! _|_Originally posted by The Emperor:Hey Finisher, S T F U!![]()
Yo, i know what i'm talking about and i know the CHC's vision and their culture.Originally posted by The Emperor:Hmm.. okie. let me explain that tithes ARE in fact very important, because it opens up the windows of heavens so that blessings will come down upon the giver. But as for offerings, the more the better. and the amount of offerings given signifies your love for God and how much u r willing to sacrifice.
no offerings doesn't mean no blessings if you give ur tithes faithfully. but the offerings actually bring in more blessings lah..
i hope i clarified what i can interpret so far.
anyway, CHC has a vision different from other churches. Every church has their own vision to follow. as for CHC, their vision is to build a great house for the Lord and to reach out to the Asians like the mainland Chinese etc...
no offerings = no blessings? no. read again pls. no offering doesn't means no blessings if one tithes. tithing opens up the windows of heaven.Originally posted by M©+square:Yo, i know what i'm talking about and i know the CHC's vision and their culture.
you may wish to be referred to this thread regarding about offerings.
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=163107
On the highlighted red portion. I tried hard to accept what you're saying.
Maybe your presentation is not clear.
Allow me to share my thoughts.
Tithing = Covenant of God and men
Offering = Worship onto God.
1) More is not always better.
Singing more worship does not equate better worship session.
2) Amount signifies amount of LOVE onto God.
This is one of the most superfical explaination.
If i'm rich, i give much.
If i'm poor, i give as much as i can though not as much as rich man.
Does it mean i love God less?
Does it mean i worship God less?
Does it mean my sacrifice is lesser?
But no matter how much one have given, God sees the heart, the motive and intent of Giving.
Church sees the amount. This is a in your face statement. But true.
3) No offering = no blessings?
Explain. I cannot agree with this unorthdox statement.
Cheers
The 1st para corrected liao.Originally posted by The Emperor:no offerings = no blessings? no. read again pls. no offering doesn't means no blessings if one tithes. tithing opens up the windows of heaven.
maybe my presentation wasn't clear. my point is not abt talking who give more or who give less. regardless of who u r as a person (rich or poor), the amount u give (more or less according to wad u have) will determine how much u love God.
And God sees the heart of the giver. the more the better if his heart is willing and if his heart is for God.
I also going@! Nite@!Originally posted by The Emperor:i'll talk abt this again with u someday... gtg sleep liao. fight the z monster..![]()
material offering? u mean the building? the building is part of the church's vision - to build the House of God.Originally posted by M©+square:The 1st para corrected liao.
yup. We agree that the heart condition of a Christian on offering is more important than the material offering itself?
Do we agree on it?
Cheers
Material offering means $$$Originally posted by The Emperor:material offering? u mean the building? the building is part of the church's vision - to build the House of God.