buy from a garang guni manOriginally posted by Einstein99:I wish to use AMD Sempron 2500, Motherboard with onboard graphics and sound and LAN, 512mB Ram, 80Gb HDD, DVD (optional) or CDR combo.
Is it possible?
What possible configuration can I get?
Originally posted by er_liang89:buy from a garang guni man
But I have been using AMD processors for almost 3 years already.Originally posted by Mariner:dun use AMD processors...if your fan spoil, ur whole motherboard can throw away cause they heat up very fast. if you want to overclock your processor use intel celerons one. my lecturer once show me a video of how those AMD processors burn off and the temperature sensors read over 300 degrees celcius when the fan was removed. this test was done when those guys used the com to play games. the intel processors just stall there and the computer hang. apparently they have something in the chip itself which will stop the work of the processor when the temperature gets too hot so as to protect the motherboard
Processor $102Originally posted by Einstein99:I wish to use AMD Sempron 2500, Motherboard with onboard graphics and sound and LAN, 512mB Ram, 80Gb HDD, DVD (optional) or CDR combo.
Is it possible?
that was in the past.Originally posted by Mariner:dun use AMD processors...if your fan spoil, ur whole motherboard can throw away cause they heat up very fast. if you want to overclock your processor use intel celerons one. my lecturer once show me a video of how those AMD processors burn off and the temperature sensors read over 300 degrees celcius when the fan was removed. this test was done when those guys used the com to play games. the intel processors just stall there and the computer hang. apparently they have something in the chip itself which will stop the work of the processor when the temperature gets too hot so as to protect the motherboard
Theoretically possible, but puting it together and getting it to run flawlessly is another journey in itself.Originally posted by ^tamago^:Processor $102
Mainboard $104 (MSI K8MM-V)
NIC $10 (COMPEX)
Memory $72 (Kingston PC-3200)
80GB HDD $99 (MAXTOR DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA-150)
CDR/CDRW/DVD Combo Drive $53 (SAMSUNG SM-352BRNS 52x32x52x16 IDE)
Total: $440.
so theoretically it's possible.
In term of heat emission, AMD is already below that of Intel that is Intel processor is producing more heat then AMD processor. Another thing is never ever use Celeron cos they suck to the core. Even with overclocking, they still have difficulty running multi-tasking, not to mention playing game if it is intended to.Originally posted by Mariner:dun use AMD processors...if your fan spoil, ur whole motherboard can throw away cause they heat up very fast. if you want to overclock your processor use intel celerons one. my lecturer once show me a video of how those AMD processors burn off and the temperature sensors read over 300 degrees celcius when the fan was removed. this test was done when those guys used the com to play games. the intel processors just stall there and the computer hang. apparently they have something in the chip itself which will stop the work of the processor when the temperature gets too hot so as to protect the motherboard
Mariner's knowledge outdated liao.Originally posted by NuLife:that was in the past.
new AMD desktop processors are BETTER than Intel.
fyi, they had just taken over Intel in desktop market sales![]()
Seeing your specs, I don't think it will be possible for it to cost less than $500, unless you re-use some, like your own sound card and LAN card.Originally posted by Einstein99:I wish to use AMD Sempron 2500, Motherboard with onboard graphics and sound and LAN, 512mB Ram, 80Gb HDD, DVD (optional) or CDR combo.
Is it possible?
$800 possible. I managed to do it.Originally posted by Gasfene:impossible unless second hand. even 800 dollars also quite hard to get methinks
S2500: Asus K8V-MX K8M800 VGA/SATA/LAN/6ch/AGP: $190Ai yo, you buy such expensive power supply and casing obviously cannot lah. You are buying a high end casing and high end power supply for a low end system.
PC 4300 Kingston DDR2 533MHz CL4 (1 piece 512MB): $75
Seagate 80GB 7200 rpm (SATA): $106
LG 52x32x52/16x Combo: $54
Cooler Master Centurion 5w/Side Window: $98
Antec True Power 480W 20/24 Pins V2.0: $160
Cooler Master TBF-B12 Tri Blade System Fan: $23
I scared that power supply not enough.Originally posted by nonameguy:Ai yo, you buy such expensive power supply and casing obviously cannot lah. You are buying a high end casing and high end power supply for a low end system.
He no say need enough or not enough.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I scared that power supply not enough.
But casing I tried already. Put the cheapest still over $500.
Ok lor. Minus PSU and casing. Because he never said he need those.Originally posted by M©+square:He no say need enough or not enough.
Can build one CPU with specs can liao.
Cheers
WahahahaOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Ok lor. Minus PSU and casing. Because he never said he need those.
So adjusted total: $448. Within budget. Problem solved.![]()