eh 3-4 years ago what do u expect?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Looks like you'll have to change the mboard if your caps leak like the image posted.
And, 250w is seriously under!
At least have 350w for that buffer to handle more load.
HP model of yours is rather dated. High time for a change.
250 watts for all these specs, don't think it is enough.Originally posted by FadeToBlack:ok all i know about is..
integrated dolby 5.1 surround sound ready
256mb nvidia geforce fx5500 with tv-out port
integrated 10/100 base-t eternet card
160gb HDD
768 DDR RAM
7xUSB 2.0 / IEEE 1394
With your specs, I don't suggest upgrade. Just buy a new PSU. It's not too expensive to replace one.Originally posted by FadeToBlack:eh 3-4 years ago what do u expect?
that would be three. its fairly good now, and it must have cost you a bomb back then.Originally posted by chanff8:agree with mayi. yr specs are too good to get a new computer. just change the PSU
Don't think HP people will tell you.Originally posted by FadeToBlack:so what's the problem? is it my PSU fault?
btw anyone with HP computers here too? may i ask what is ur PSU brand and supply? i think maybe my bro might have switched my PSU, so checking with other HP people.
You plug in the same PSU (250 watts) into your brother's computer?Originally posted by FadeToBlack:ok now there's new findings..
The same thing when i plug my bro's speaker.. the right speaker isn't working..
Home on fire liao. So many plugs to one socket. Want to die ar?Originally posted by octega:Are u dasiy-chaining ur peripherials to a single wall socket?
i.e. One wall socket, u connect
1.) PC
2.) Printer
3.) Speakers
4.) Hi-Fi
5.) TV
6.) Fridge
7.) etc.
If yes, just isolate only ur PC and ur speakers (i.e. only switch these 2 on) and see if the 1st problem still exist or not.
If still have, isolate the 2, one wall socket to PC, one wall socket to speaker.
(u might need extension wire for this test).
If dun have problems liao, simply means either ur PC or ur speaker is drawing too much power and requires and individual wall socket for usage.
If still have problem, use another speaker and test under isolate conditions (i.e. 2 wall sockets). This will isloate the problem down to the speakers or the PC.
I can only recommend until here, anything down to PC or speaker level will require a technical person to be on-site liao.
Just my recommendations
3 to 4 years old liao, warranty period should be over.Originally posted by newmanmback:if still under warranty u may want to check with the manufacturere about this problem....if they can fix for u foc better. if u want to check psu power rating not enough easy...get another psu and hook the power connector to the hdd and cd-rom and floppy and processor fan, and other fans u may hav in your chassis....the other components (m/b, processor ect) is still conecoted to and powered by the 250watts psu. the other signal cables still connectoed to the mainboard as usual no change. switch on the extra psu and the existing psu before you power up the computer. play the same music track over and over again and let it run to see if there is any up down sound issue....no issue then definitely psu rating not enough...still go issue may be other problem![]()
Alamak. U got read properly or not. -_-"...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Home on fire liao. So many plugs to one socket. Want to die ar?
Please, go get an extension (the one with many sockets for you to plug in). Like that very risky.
I mean this part:Originally posted by octega:Alamak! U got read properly or not. The above is a troubleshooting procedure.
i.e. One wall socket, u connect
1.) PC
2.) Printer
3.) Speakers
4.) Hi-Fi
5.) TV
6.) Fridge
7.) etc.
A multiplug extension is not going help. It is best to identify what high powered devices are there. Fridge, TV,etc. These devices are best served on a single socket that is controlled via the circuit breakers.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:
I know. Better than risking your life. I still waiting for Fade to reply.Originally posted by octega:A multiplug extension is not going help. It is best to identify what high powered devices are there. Fridge, TV,etc. These devices are best served on a single socket that is controlled via the circuit breakers.
The lower power devices still can use them. (PC, Micro Hi-Fi, etc).