so-so means bad liao lah...i get ur unmentioned pointOriginally posted by ^tamago^:i have been to this clinic once before, cos my sec sch is near there. service is so-so.
True to some extent but it will not be feasible for the doctors to handle phone calls cos they will not be attending to their patients properly. Clerks are not paid much and they want less work...so not surprising that they will turn away patients.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Maybe next time the doctors should answer the phone, not the clerks. Non-medical personnel usually don't understand why certain cases require immediate medical attention. Either that, send them for courses. This is very bad.
most doctors that I see marry another doctor.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:maybe that's why doctors tend to marry their nurses![]()
True true. Even normal clinics do this. The clinic which I visit start to draw down the shutters exactly half an hour before closing time. But they are better. They close down completely. So all patients leave by backdoor.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:True to some extent but it will not be feasible for the doctors to handle phone calls cos they will not be attending to their patients properly. Clerks are not paid much and they want less work...so not surprising that they will turn away patients.
I remember working in a polyclinic before when the closing time was 5pm. The amahs drew down the shutters to waist level at 4.30 so departing patients had to bend low to get out. At 4.45, the shutters were about 20 cm off the ground...technically open but you have to be a cat to get in. At 5pm sharp...bang! it's closed.
It would be much better if the doctor's wife works at reception....maybe that's why doctors tend to marry their nurses![]()
Sure got uproar when people read this. They will ask what is medical ethics, what is good service and etc....Originally posted by feelingblue:i hope this thread get featured in webthread or ZB
Got such thing meh? Can choose whether want to see or patients or not? Talk about medical ethics.Originally posted by sgboy:This is not the first time that this clinic was in the news on such matters. Years back, it have the same thing too. I think the MOH say that clinics have the rights whether to see patients or not... but for this urgent case, is it very urgent? This, wait for the replies.
really?Originally posted by sgboy:This is not the first time that this clinic was in the news on such matters. Years back, it have the same thing too. I think the MOH say that clinics have the rights whether to see patients or not... but for this urgent case, is it very urgent? This, wait for the replies.
I go to LifeLink clinic near serangoon north and its 24 hours. Serives is good, reasonable for a private practitioner. His medicnines are even better than that of polyclicnicOriginally posted by dragg:extracted from ST forum.
I am writing to highlight an incident with the 6-10 Clinic and Surgery in Serangoon Central Drive on February 2.
At about 11.40pm, my father suffered a deep cut while working on an electrical appliance and he bled profusely. The bleeding did not stop and he needed immediate medical attention. I rang the nearest 24-hour clinic called 6-10 Clinic and Surgery, located in Serangoon Central Drive, to explain my situation and asked if the clinic was open.
I was told it was a 24-hour clinic only for 'old patients' ie. people who have visited the clinic before and have their records there. As my father had not visited the clinic before, I was told to come the next day at 8am.
I said it was an emergency but the clerk repeated the clinic's policy impatiently and concluded curtly, 'I said come back tomorrow at 8am, OK?' Stunned into silence, I said thanks and hung up.
Later around midnight, after my father had left for Tan Tock Seng Hospital, I rang the clinic again wanting to understand the rationale for such a policy.
The same person answered the call. I enquired about the clinic's policy of not treating new patients even when they needed immediate medical attention at a time when other clinics were closed.
I was told, 'This is the clinic's policy. I don't think it is necessary for me to tell you the reason. OK? Bye,' and he slammed the phone down. Unfortunately, I did not get the clerk's name.
It is clear from my experience that 6-10 Clinic and Surgery does not have a responsible policy and its staff members do not care about the legitimate medical needs of the community they serve.
The government has urged Singaporeans to visit the neighbourhood 24-hour clinics instead of increasing the burden on the hospitals' A&E departments, so I am extremely disappointed and shocked at what happened.
How do you expect people to visit the neighbourhood clinics if they display behaviour like this? Why are such policies allowed and for what reasons? Should the clinic's staff be tolerated when their behaviour is contrary to the Hippocratic oath all doctors take?
Amanda Lee Yinghui (Miss)
You stay near there?Originally posted by nullifi3d:I go to LifeLink clinic near serangoon north and its 24 hours. Serives is good, reasonable for a private practitioner. His medicnines are even better than that of polyclicnic
I stay at Hougang St 91 there, near the festival market.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You stay near there?