jz get a wireless router should do... u have to look at the distance b4 placing the router but best is jz place in the middle...Originally posted by LancerVII:I am currently using singnet broadband.. maybe switching to maxonline at the end of the yr or early next yr.. I got some enquiries in mind.. let me cut it short..
I have 2 desktop computers at home.. one at my dad's bedroom, and the other at my sis bedroom.. the only activated cable point where my cable TV is at the living room... so, if I were to buy a wireless router, where should I place it? at the living room or at one of the bedrooms? wad about the wireless USB connector? connect each of them at my desktop computers?
hope someone can clear my enquiries.. thx...
I also think of this.. if it is so, the middle place would be my sis bedroom... but her bedroom does not have cable point.. only my living room one had been activated... my dad's room also have cable point.. but haven activated yet..Originally posted by BrUtUs:jz get a wireless router should do... u have to look at the distance b4 placing the router but best is jz place in the middle...
how far from the living room to sis n dad room?Originally posted by LancerVII:I also think of this.. if it is so, the middle place would be my sis bedroom... but her bedroom does not have cable point.. only my living room one had been activated... my dad's room also have cable point.. but haven activated yet..
as from the cable point in the living room to my sis bedroom computer is ardOriginally posted by BrUtUs:how far from the living room to sis n dad room?
put in living room lo, if cannot receive then use wireless repeaters...Originally posted by LancerVII:as from the cable point in the living room to my sis bedroom computer is ard
8-9 metres... den to my dad's bedroom is ard 10-11 metres...
place it at the cable point first, then check the signal strength for both computers and see if it at excellent. if it not, then move it around till you get max signal strength for both comp.Originally posted by LancerVII:I am currently using singnet broadband.. maybe switching to maxonline at the end of the yr or early next yr.. I got some enquiries in mind.. let me cut it short..
I have 2 desktop computers at home.. one at my dad's bedroom, and the other at my sis bedroom.. the only activated cable point where my cable TV is at the living room... so, if I were to buy a wireless router, where should I place it? at the living room or at one of the bedrooms? wad about the wireless USB connector? connect each of them at my desktop computers?
for at least the 802.11G standard,yes.Originally posted by ^tamago^:if i'm not wrong, placing it at the living room is enough for the wireless to penetrate into the room.
wad u mean? u mean the wireless G router like Linksys one?Originally posted by Xcert:for at least the 802.11G standard,yes.
wad do u mean by wireless repeaters? USB wireless connector I heard b4.. but wireless repeaters I never heard b4... how does it look like?Originally posted by BrUtUs:put in living room lo, if cannot receive then use wireless repeaters...
yup.not only linksys but for any wireless routers...802.11g is the current standard...there are also 802.11a and 802.11b wireless routers available...cheaper but signal strength not as strong...those can't pass thru walls...not useful for ur case.Originally posted by LancerVII:wad u mean? u mean the wireless G router like Linksys one?
Originally posted by LancerVII:wad do u mean by wireless repeaters? USB wireless connector I heard b4.. but wireless repeaters I never heard b4... how does it look like?

using singnet or cable has nothing to do with using routers or not.Originally posted by Agenda:Aiyo, If you want to use routers for Cable.. Rather just use Singnet la.. Cable very crowded 1 leh.. Esp at heartlands area
thx alot for yur advice...Originally posted by Xcert:yup.not only linksys but for any wireless routers...802.11g is the current standard...there are also 802.11a and 802.11b wireless routers available...cheaper but signal strength not as strong...those can't pass thru walls...not useful for ur case.
wait for wireless I more faster...Originally posted by photo_seeker:Wireless G is better strength
welcome.Originally posted by LancerVII:thx alot for yur advice...![]()
PLace any where also can... if ur router is G modelOriginally posted by LancerVII:I am currently using singnet broadband.. maybe switching to maxonline at the end of the yr or early next yr.. I got some enquiries in mind.. let me cut it short..
U say until shiok shiok...its illegal...Originally posted by a_guy:just buy a wireless laptop which can receive "G"signal..enough..cos 10 out of 7people will forget to lock..and u can go near to their house..tap their signal..use..and in the meantime...still keep ur singnet.. when u find maxonline..slower.. just switch to singnet lor... singnet net also has wirless..if u just want to have the convient of wireless only..
keep to singnet.. lah.. no need to change... maxonline which is sharing the same wire within ur area..if got many ppl use at the same..time.. were be very slow..too lah.. dun waste money...ok...