---------------------------------Since, this is open news, it is NOT deemed confidential, and i let all have a look at whats to come.
NUSSU NEWSFLASH
---------------------------------
Fee Hike
Dear fellow students,
The NUS StudentsÂ’ Union (NUSSU) met with the University Administration on Friday, 10th February 2006, and was informed of an impending increase in tuition fees. The administration took efforts to explain the rationale of such an increase to us.
Despite our vigorous objection to the fee increase for AY2006/2007, remembering that the last fee increase was in AY2005/2006, the University Administration still deems such a measure necessary in order to keep up with cost increases. NUSSU is also disappointed that despite requests to be more involved in discussions for school policies affecting the students, there is no consultation before this fee hike is announced to the Union. Nevertheless, we are committed to exploring with the University Administration on viable ways of consultative engagement pertaining to school policies affecting our students.
The University Administration has given NUSSU the assurance that it will channel more money for financial aid for needy students in the form of bursaries and to fund new and innovative schemes such as the Subsistence Loan and the Work-Study Assistance scheme. Following the discussion with NUSSU, the administration has agreed to further increase this commitment – in total, the administration will be setting aside an additional $3million for financial aid schemes for AY2006/2007. NUS remains committed to ensuring that no deserving student is denied a tertiary education because of financial difficulty. More information about the financial packages may be obtained at the following link: http://www.nus.edu.sg/registrar/sfau/main.htm
Similarly, NUSSU manages its own NUS StudentsÂ’ Fund Bursary for needy students, more information of which may be obtained here: http://nussu.nus.edu.sg/~nussf/index.htm
The last round of bursaries and book grants has just been awarded and the next round of applications will be from 1 September 2006 to 30 September 2006.
NUSSU remains committed in upholding the interests and welfare of the students. We value your feedback at ([email protected]) and will encourage active discussions in the IVLE portal, under the link: “Fee Hike Response”.
We thank you for your kind attention to this matter.
Regards,
Quek Boon Guan Danny
President
Executive Committee
27th NUSSU Council
HSBC.Originally posted by charlize:Woo hoo.
Reminds me of an ad from some asset management company stating my kid would need half a million dollars for her education in the next decade or so.
Better start saving now.
You see adverts already on TV.Originally posted by FireIce:xiang dang nian if ur child can go uni, the whole village celebrates
not ur child can go uni, u have to start worrying how to pay for it
Since when it is not?Originally posted by charlize:You see adverts already on TV.
Something about can your funds meet your kid's potential.
Knn, everything is about money these days.
No money, cannot survive in Singapore.
NUSSU is also disappointed that despite requests to be more involved in discussions for school policies affecting the students, there is no consultation before this fee hike is announced to the Union.While I respect the work NUSSU is doing, basically, this shows NUSSU's opinion carries no weight.
world-class in singapore onlyOriginally posted by Jon G:But what to do? Want a world-class education? Got to pay for it.![]()
You don't seem to think nus world class meh?Originally posted by FireIce:world-class in singapore only
Well, NUS will surely pull out the Times Higher Education Supplement World University Rankings and show you that NUS is a world-class university.Originally posted by FireIce:world-class in singapore only
i can pull out a dozen other rankings that u have to scroll all the way down to see NUS nameOriginally posted by Jon G:Well, NUS will surely pull out the Times Higher Education Supplement World University Rankings and show you that NUS is a world-class university.![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:i can pull out a dozen other rankings that u have to scroll all the way down to see NUS name
I can still remember NUS was 18th in the world two years ago.Originally posted by Jon G:I was being sarcastic
Rankings have bias... Of course NUS will publicise those they do well in.
I know one China ranking has NUS in the bottom don't-know-how-many...
Seriously, I'm extremely peeved over this. It wasn't too long ago when they last raised the fees - last year, I believe?Originally posted by geodome:Even if NUS is highly ranked world-wide, it should not be a reason to hike school fees because NUS is a national university funded by public money. Almost everybody from Singapore enrols there because we don't have much a choice. It's either NUS or NTU for science/engineering/law and NUS/NTU/SMU for accouting/economics/business.. WTF.. What happen to our substantial government funding for higher education per student?
lol did you really think they care what the nussu says?? i mean nussu no poower at all lor why should they care. all they say every time is just oh we have heard your input but after consideration we are still carrying on. thank you for your cooperationa nd please waste your time with us againOriginally posted by Jon G:While I respect the work NUSSU is doing, basically, this shows NUSSU's opinion carries no weight.
But what to do? Want a world-class education? Got to pay for it.![]()