practicals are called practicals for a reason.Originally posted by er_liang89:I have a Creative Live! Value sound card which I took from another computer. I am trying to install it into another computer(P3) of mine, but dont know how to do so. any idea how can I install into my computer so that it can work?![]()
if he know or his friends...why he ask in sgf right...Originally posted by Xcert:practicals are called practicals for a reason.
Try to ask ur friends...see whoever knows how to do it...to actually do it for U...or show it to U how its done.
You cross post. You want topic here or tech forum? I close the topic there ar.Originally posted by er_liang89:I have a Creative Live! Value sound card which I took from another computer. I am trying to install it into another computer(P3) of mine, but dont know how to do so. any idea how can I install into my computer so that it can work?![]()
The one which the card can fit is the slot. But very risky if other slots also the same size. Check manual the best.Originally posted by FBI:u open your cpu u see alot of slots right? jus insert into one of then can le.
THere will b one slot that is slightly diff frm the other slots, that one is AGP slot and that means it's the graphic slot.
U cannot insert into that onee
first of all...I didnt ask my friends about ringtones...Originally posted by R3SsH|n:if he know or his friends...why he ask in sgf right...
the same thing lei...if your friend know how to make ringtones out of mp3..den why u still ask in sgforums?
why not..people at tech forum will happily help him...Originally posted by Xcert:first of all...I didnt ask my friends about ringtones...
secondly...even if I did ask...all I need is a website address.
how to sufficiently describe the process of installing hardware?
best way is still to have hands-on demo.
any other issues U have with reference to the ringtone post?
look smart guy....I am suggesting to the thread starter that the best way to know hardware installation is to get instruction face to face...Originally posted by R3SsH|n:why not..people at tech forum will happily help him...
i only have issue that you think you can get spoon feed and ask without searching for answers while others cannot...
look dumb guy...you really think all his friends know how to install a sound card?Originally posted by Xcert:look smart guy....I am suggesting to the thread starter that the best way to know hardware installation is to get instruction face to face...
U dont learn driving from reading the advanced theory book right?
if U think that reading words on the screen is able to have an equal or better effect...be it from CC or Tech forum...welll...that's ur point and I am not disputing that although I dont agree with it.
all I need from the ringtone post is a website address to download....whereas this post requires detailed instructions on how to do hardware installation...its 2 different kind of requirement.
read FBI's msg, ignore the rest. juz be careful, don't force it in. drivers i suggest you download from creative website, the ones supplied by xp isn't dat reliable imo.Originally posted by er_liang89:I have a Creative Live! Value sound card which I took from another computer. I am trying to install it into another computer(P3) of mine, but dont know how to do so. any idea how can I install into my computer so that it can work?![]()
I am telling him to ask his friends since I feel that the best way is hands-on...if he doesnt have any one...then settle for the next best and hope people here would be kind enough to give him a step-by-step detailed way to get his installation done.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:look dumb guy...you really think all his friends know how to install a sound card?
installing a sound ain't driving a car...it is possible to give instructions to install it...whether or not this requirement or your ringtone post require different instructions is not the point...its the point that since u can ask...why not him?
its not that i am not happy with your ringtone post...its just that i am not happy that you ask him to find other ways when he already is here asking...if u cannot solve his problem here...den why post comments and ask him to go elsewhere for answers?Originally posted by Xcert:I am telling him to ask his friends since I feel that the best way is hands-on...if he doesnt have any one...then settle for the next best and hope people here would be kind enough to give him a step-by-step detailed way to get his installation done.
who ever said he cannot ask?
he can post whatever he wants to post...I can reply whatever I want to reply...U also also reply whatever U want to reply...correct?
so what's the big issue here?if U are not happy with my ringtone post...dun reply lor...simple what...
asking in forums is not the very last resort that people take to sort out problems...he could have encountered the problem and just posted it here...that's why I suggested that he takes a more practical approach to solve his problem.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:its not that i am not happy with your ringtone post...its just that i am not happy that you ask him to find other ways when he already is here asking...if u cannot solve his problem here...den why post comments and ask him to go elsewhere for answers?
its like instead of giving someone food...you asking him to go to the hawker centre...
my response for your ringtone post was that cos i feel there is already a thread on ringtone mp3 somewhere...and its not only one thread...therefore i suggested you to try searching for it...
the issue here is that i feel if u cannot give him constructive help...den u shld just back off and let the rest help him...i saw his thread but i just shut up cos i couldn't help him...![]()
seriously. it is my last resort, i wld google, ask my frens, ask my parents, ask everyone on msn. DEN come here post. cannot meh?Originally posted by Xcert:asking in forums is not the very last resort that people take to sort out problems...he could have encountered the problem and just posted it here...that's why I suggested that he takes a more practical approach to solve his problem.
I am not brushing his post off as some post lesser to mine.
my ringtone post is made after a quick search....
Search - mp3
Found 0 forums and 0 topics.
U may say that using MP3 as a keyword is too general...point taken...but as I was already saying in the ringtone thread...its a matter of whether people want to help or not...if they help....I appreciate....if they dont....then never mind....
you do get what i trying to say right...Originally posted by Xcert:asking in forums is not the very last resort that people take to sort out problems...he could have encountered the problem and just posted it here...that's why I suggested that he takes a more practical approach to solve his problem.
I am not brushing his post off as some post lesser to mine.
my ringtone post is made after a quick search....
Search - mp3
Found 0 forums and 0 topics.
U may say that using MP3 as a keyword is too general...point taken...but as I was already saying in the ringtone thread...its a matter of whether people want to help or not...if they help....I appreciate....if they dont....then never mind....
can....U happy can liao...Originally posted by Ito_^:seriously. it is my last resort, i wld google, ask my frens, ask my parents, ask everyone on msn. DEN come here post. cannot meh?
ya...I do get what U are trying to say....ur point noted,but not agreed.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:you do get what i trying to say right...
if you do...thats it...
i am not trying to be a smart alec and lecture you...but i feel that since he has stated his problem here..we will try to solve it here...asking him to go other place for answers has no point...
getting instructions on installing a sound card is possible via words on a screen...if not why u think instruction manuals exist?
let behave..Originally posted by Xcert:ya...I do get what U are trying to say....ur point noted,not not agreed.![]()
yes instructions via words is possible but not effective.instruction manuals exists for people with hands-on experience...as in....it can be a nerve-wrecking experience for someone trying to do hardware without a human guide....
I also believe that U got my point so lets leave the discussion as it is shall we?
**looks around for FI before heading to bed **Originally posted by R3SsH|n:let behave..![]()
I didn't know you can use 2 graphics cards together. Surprisingly, Windows never crash. Use either the old or new one. If the old one is integrated with the motherboard, disable it after installing the new graphic card. Don't be so dumb and disable it before installing new one. You won't see anything if you do so.Originally posted by er_liang89:thanks for all your help.i managed to install the sound card by configuring the bios setting liao. now i want to install my graphics card. presently, mine is at the pci slot, but my new graphics card in for the VGA slot. i inserted it together with the old one and installed using windows. but still nothing come out onto the monitor when i plug in my monitor into the new graphics card. i tried removing the old one but still can't work. is there any settings i need to configure before my new graphics card can work?
To add on to Ponders post:Originally posted by Ponders:Now where's the thread starter?
Let me answer his question and this thread can RIP.
1) Depending on your CPU casing, you might need a screwdriver.
2) remove outer casing, (remove 4-6 screws at the back, if any), newer casing are just sliding panels might not have screw.
3) look for a PCI slot. A typical Motherboard will have 1 AGP slot (usually brown) 3-5 PCI slots (usually black or blue).
4) Sound card should go to the PCI slot.
5) the slot might be blocked by a metal cover as part of the casing. Either you unscrew to remove it or you must wedge out.
6) if sound card is your only card, try to choose the furthest from your Video card so the heat can disspate better.
7) after inserting, there is a cable that extends out of your DVD/CD-ROM, you need to attach this to your sound card. but it is optional.your sound card is install... now replace your casing.