i rather si-nger-pore. the rest of u all?Originally posted by newcomer:So which is the right pronunciation?
okay. just dont make us see you be the one complaining if one day you meet an ah beng who ends his every sentence with cb.Originally posted by SexyChin:Why care how other people speak? They have the right to choose how the speak.
Now adays where ever i work at town area i will get to see young singaporeans talk english with american accents. What's more when they talk they give u a impression that they talk as if they're very high class like that How come must they talk american accent english, talking correct singaporean english (Not singlish) is very low class meh?the case mentioned above not so bad.
Apparently, you haven't heard how angmohs talk here in Spore because what you said is so wrong. Angmohs do try to imitate singlish! And I've heard many of them doing so which is kinda funny. There're a few who refuse to use singlish though. My only guess is that they could be either too proud of their native tongue, or they simply don't know how.Originally posted by Nikar:the case mentioned above not so bad.
the worst is when singaporeans talk up to ang-mohs in caucasian-accents so that they can build "rapport" with the ang-mohs and also get the ang-moh to understand them.
why is it that the ang-mohs don't try talking in asian-accents instead, considering that they're in Asia?
one day, assuming that around 2015 and China is the no. 1 superpower, does it mean that in Raffles Place and City Hall, those fake singaporeans will imitate those beijing/shanghai accents?
DOGS! i'll throw my left-over chicken drumstick bones to these scums after i've finished eating.
Apparently, you haven't heard how angmohs talk here in Spore because what you said is so wrong. Angmohs do try to imitate singlish! And I've heard many of them doing so which is kinda funny. There're a few who refuse to use singlish though. My only guess is that they could be either too proud of their native tongue, or they simply don't know how.nah! u lost the point! it's not whether about using singlish or queen's english : it's about the pitch and imitated accent.
Originally posted by newcomer:Apparently, you haven't heard how angmohs talk here in Spore because what you said is so wrong. Angmohs do try to imitate singlish! And I've heard many of them doing so which is kinda funny. There're a few who refuse to use singlish though. My only guess is that they could be either too proud of their native tongue, or they simply don't know how.
Which part of mine isn't about imitated accent? Please...Originally posted by Nikar:(newcomer)
nah! u lost the point! it's not whether about using singlish or queen's english : it's about the pitch and imitated accent.
that's the reason why i can't stand asians borned in western countries, like those asian-americans. poor fools! do these guys even know their own real history, their culture, before they start riding on the american wave and act haughty? they're nothing but a bunch of lost fools that belong neither-where in this world.You'll understand why some, in fact most ppl who try to imitate the local accent when you get a chance to study or work abroad. Try using singlish in America or Britain and tell me how it feels or sounds like.
You'll understand why some, in fact most ppl who try to imitate the local accent when you get a chance to study or work abroad. Try using singlish in America or Britain and tell me how it feels or sounds like.who in the world said anything about using singlish abroad? oh my!
That I very much agree with you. However, reality isn't always so perfect, if not never perfect. You'll to a certain degree throw in a few "accented" words into a singlish-american speech, no matter how you firmly believe you should use standard English.Originally posted by Nikar:while i'm no fan of lee kuan yew, i gotta say he's a good example of how singaporeans gotta speak to westerners : standard english with singaporean accent(NOT singlish with singaporean accent, please).
actually .... i get quite a kick out of speaking in extra thick Singlish accents to my ang moh friends where I am sometimes .... they'll go blur and "huh" .....Originally posted by newcomer:You'll understand why some, in fact most ppl who try to imitate the local accent when you get a chance to study or work abroad. Try using singlish in America or Britain and tell me how it feels or sounds like.
Your last part is insulting.Originally posted by Nikar:(newcomer)
nah! u lost the point! it's not whether about using singlish or queen's english : it's about the pitch and imitated accent.
the ang-mohs don't need to talk in singapore accent for us to understand them, nor do they have to throw away their beautiful and classical culture(English!) just to build fake rapport with us.
for us singaporeans, all the more we musn't talk into pseudo or full ang-moh accent to get "accepted" by the ang-mohs.
to each his own, and it's better to be natural and not dilute cultures.
the next time i see some singaporean(especially the women in Raffles Place) talking up to ang-moh(girl or guy) in fake ang-moh accent just to indirectly suck-up to them, i'll wring their throat out so they can't talk!!!!!
that's the reason why i can't stand asians borned in western countries, like those asian-americans. poor fools! do these guys even know their own real history, their culture, before they start riding on the american wave and act haughty? they're nothing but a bunch of lost fools that belong neither-where in this world.
im still like so trying to perfect my indian accent english.Originally posted by Fatum:I assure you, as long as you speak clearly and enunciate your words clearly, nobody really gives a f.uck about your accent .... I find those fakers who go " I'm like, I'm like" with every sentence like dumb blondes very irritating instead ....
no such thing as a British accent too .... there's the Irish brogue, the Scottish burr, the cockney twang, and the patrician drawl ...Originally posted by SilverRevo:Seriously a British accent own an American one.
Bloody Hell ...
Sadly no one gets used to my chinese.
I have an unidentified accent with it ..![]()
hahah.. what for sia?Originally posted by digicharat:im still like so trying to perfect my indian accent english.![]()
oh my god .u know nothing about china ,north east ppl and south west ppl speak similar mandrin .Originally posted by Fatum:no such thing as a British accent too .... there's the Irish brogue, the Scottish burr, the cockney twang, and the patrician drawl ...
ditto Chinese ... those from the north east cannot be understood by those in the south west ... and they all cannot understand overseas chinese's mandarin ...
do you ? ... I suppose you've been there ? ... or you're from there ?.... (in that case let's play guess the clone)Originally posted by fly with a pig:oh my god .u know nothing about china ,north east ppl and south west ppl speak similar mandrin .