somehow i feel this Mr Goh is going to be in deep sh*t esp his name is brought over in public domain n saying how incapable of his professors are. if i were him, i will be worried whether i will be 'mark' by the pple he complained.Originally posted by John Wong:To those making fun of his Engleesh rite, I understooded exactly what he was trying to say. and he is complaining about tutors and lecturers whose english carnot even B understooded. So what's the problem?
If all you can say after reading the thing is to say 'he should improve his engwish if he wants to be took seriously' you are really stupid idiot. Why don't you try writing some essay or argument in your non native language, stupeed dumbos omfg idiotz.
Anyway, I SUPPORT YOUR CAUSE!!! jia you and I hope you actually get some change from The Man, otherwise at least I'm sure this email is making him sweat a bit anyway.
how come MAE n MPE always like to do impulsive things one?Originally posted by chunyong:Form a 'club' of more than 10 people need to register with MHA's Registry of Society, need to pay S$200 unless NTU officially 'accepts' his 'club'. Prior to fulfil either of them, he better dun do anything stupid. Hope you all also don't 'crazy around' with him.
So if you know that guy personally, kindly 'advise' him before something 'ugly' happens. He can submit his application via the Registry of Societies Electronic System (ROSES
Not me not me, I only say NTU engineering undergrads the english standards is questionable nia.Originally posted by John Wong:To those making fun of his Engleesh rite, I understooded exactly what he was trying to say. and he is complaining about tutors and lecturers whose english carnot even B understooded. So what's the problem?
If all you can say after reading the thing is to say 'he should improve his engwish if he wants to be took seriously' you are really stupid idiot. Why don't you try writing some essay or argument in your non native language, stupeed dumbos omfg idiotz.
Anyway, I SUPPORT YOUR CAUSE!!! jia you and I hope you actually get some change from The Man, otherwise at least I'm sure this email is making him sweat a bit anyway.
Who cares, i not joining his rubbish. dat time got 2 fellas from EEE also wanted to do something similar...dats way in 2005 but i htink natural death liao...dat time got simi lanjiao council, buddy system simi lansai...end up oso LPPL...Originally posted by 798:how come MAE n MPE always like to do impulsive things one?
i find some undergrads these days always think they are smarter than their prof. their mindset need to change if not next time go outside work confirm will die one.
Glory to the Quitters on high.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Pls they aren't quitters.
They should be known as the Enlightened
Are you part of the cause? If so, I do not rate your chances. You see, in the real, adult world, presentation is extremely important. It is irrelevent what his first langauge is. It is irrelevent that he 'can be understood'.Originally posted by John Wong:To those making fun of his Engleesh rite, I understooded exactly what he was trying to say. and he is complaining about tutors and lecturers whose english carnot even B understooded. So what's the problem?
See response above.Originally posted by Rexdriver:Only an idiot won't be able to comprehend the message behind the email. Maybe when you're able to deal with substance rather than form should you come to this forum to post comments.
Fool.
Just like lawyers, Engineers have a certain 'style' of English which appear to people outside the engineering circle as 'questionable standards'.Originally posted by ditzy:Not me not me, I only say NTU engineering undergrads the english standards is questionable nia.
/runs away.
Nabeh, not singaporean also kao peh.Originally posted by 798:woohoo! the news has spread on strait times.
dat guy is a 2nd Year Mechanical student, Asian scholar from malaysia, penang.
i wonder how he's going through for the rest of 2 years.
i know many of the students in ntu will feel the unjust of the system in sch. but tis kid sounded really rude by commenting how bad the prof's teaching n mocked at his seniors. he could have phrase his sensence in a more polite way...
quote by tnp today:Originally posted by ditzy:Nabeh, not singaporean also kao peh.WTF!?!?!
yeah! i wonder how will ASIAN feel rite now? worst case dat student might get his scholarship terminated and kicked out of uni.Originally posted by ditzy:Scholars are usually sponsored one right? Got scholarship one right?![]()
Na beh, on scholarship not paying fees, not singaporean somemore kao peh. WTF?!?!?!Originally posted by 798:yeah! i wonder how will ASIAN feel rite now? worst case dat student might get his scholarship terminated and kicked out of uni.
even if he's lucky, his movement will be blacklisted by the prof, staffs n master students from now onward for the comments he made.
is it so hard to adapt pple's english? i guess patience in understanding difference types of english is also a challenge in uni.
damn pro hor.Originally posted by ditzy:Na beh, on scholarship not paying fees, not singaporean somemore kao peh. WTF?!?!?!![]()
who say foreign talents dun concern for this country?Originally posted by LazerLordz:damn pro hor.![]()
Ah yes, the oft used excuse by those unable or do not want to improve their English.Originally posted by BillyBong:Just like lawyers, Engineers have a certain 'style' of English which appear to people outside the engineering circle as 'questionable standards'.
Unfortunately, it is a misunderstood form of language which is clearly still readable and definitely comprehensive.![]()
to each his own lah. heck care cos if u want to learn, it's up to u. good or bad english doesnt matter cos as long as u communicate well, it's fine.Originally posted by lwflee:Ah yes, the oft used excuse by those unable or can't be bothered to improve their English.
I have a Chinese flatmate who has only been speaking english for 3 years. His standard of English, both written and spoken, apparently surpasses that of this 'scholar'.
Conclusion, if you have bad english, you are young, and you can afford an education, its your fault full stop. Stop making up excuses for laziness and incompetence.
Hey, I agree. It is a choice. Lots of people get by and thrive even though they cannot and have never written a proper sentence in their lives.Originally posted by 798:to each his own lah. heck care cos if u want to learn, it's up to u. good or bad english doesnt matter cos as long as u communicate well, it's fine.
to ask a engineer to brush up his english is as if asking a doctor to write properly as his handwriting is horrible.![]()