That's what I asked her! Got 2 other questions also and although I managed to solve it, it took me quite some time! The method I used they oso haven't learnt lor. Wl eh, now primary school standard damn high man.Originally posted by Qing^.^:eh u sure primary maths ma? so difficult
U are smart.. mayb i shld say i stupid but i really dunoOriginally posted by DeathEdge:Hmm im damn noob to primary sch maths but maybe u try to make 18:13 into 4:3 by adding units into it.. agar agar u should get 20:15 by adding 2 to each side.. so 2 unit = $246 ; 1 unit = $123.. so total 20+15 unit = 35 unit = 35 x 123 = $4305.. if wrong dont find me coz.. i said le im noob to primary sch maths =x
Sooo sooo high lor..Originally posted by newcomer:That's what I asked her! Got 2 other questions also and although I managed to solve it, it took me quite some time! The method I used they oso haven't learnt lor. Wl eh, now primary school standard damn high man.
It's wrong lor...Originally posted by DeathEdge:Hmm im damn noob to primary sch maths but maybe u try to make 18:13 into 4:3 by adding units into it.. agar agar u should get 20:15 by adding 2 to each side.. so 2 unit = $246 ; 1 unit = $123.. so total 20+15 unit = 35 unit = 35 x 123 = $4305.. if wrong dont find me coz.. i said le im noob to primary sch maths =x
if cant use algebra..Originally posted by newcomer:Mr Koh's salary to that of his wife is in the ratio 4:3. Each of them saves $246 and spends the rest of their money. If Mr Koh's expenditure to that of his wife is in the ratio 18:13, find their total salaries.
Any help would be much appreciated.
P.S: Kind of embarrassed to not able to solve this qns for my little cousin.
eh how come the last part is *146/2??Originally posted by Ecxentrique:if cant use algebra..
the ratio salaries have to be multiplied by 5 to become 20:15
and expense ratio = 18:13
have to find the savings ratio..
hence salary ratios - expenses ratio = (20-115-13) = 2:2
hence savings ratio is the same.. i.e. 246= 2 units of the expense ratio
total salaries have to take (20+15)*146/2 = (35)*73 = 2555..
Wow you're a genius! Do you teach maths?Originally posted by Ecxentrique:if cant use algebra..
the ratio salaries have to be multiplied by 5 to become 20:15
and expense ratio = 18:13
have to find the savings ratio..
hence salary ratios - expenses ratio = (20-18 ) : ( 15-13) = 2:2
total salaries have to take (20+15)*146/2 = (35)*73 = 2555..
mistake on my part.. corrected..Originally posted by DeathEdge:eh how come the last part is *146/2??
pls see if the revised answer is correct.. used to teach my sis such stuff also..Originally posted by newcomer:Wow you're a genius! Do you teach maths?
pai seh.. c0ck eyeOriginally posted by Ecxentrique:mistake on my part.. corrected..
getting old.. haha and brain clsoing shop liao..Originally posted by DeathEdge:eh but 246/2 become 73 that part haven corrected leh..
Why is 246 = 2 units of the expense ratio? Why not salary ratio?
hence salary ratios - expenses ratio = (20-18 ) : ( 15-13) = 2:2
total salaries
yah.. dun want to confuse by using x which could mean i m using algebra to solve it. .and i think p sch maths cant use algbra stillOriginally posted by DeathEdge:pai seh.. cock eye -.- but * is X(times) right?
They do!Originally posted by Ecxentrique:yah.. dun want to confuse by using x which could mean i m using algebra to solve it. .and i think p sch maths cant use algbra still
cos the salary ratio is reduced from 20:15 to become 4:3. (reduce by 5 times)Originally posted by newcomer:Why is 246 = 2 units of the expense ratio? Why not salary ratio?
beri cheem explanation...anyway..Ecxentrique's answer correct or not?Originally posted by Ecxentrique:cos the salary ratio is reduced from 20:15 to become 4:3. (reduce by 5 times)
so the more precise representation of the unit to the real money has to be related to the expanded ratio units and not the reduced one.. else will underestimate
What is x and y?Originally posted by babymac13:should be able to use simultaneous equation.
Example
Mr Koh: 4x = 246 + 18y
let me know if you can solve.![]()
not correct i chop =xOriginally posted by Xcert:beri cheem explanation...anyway..Ecxentrique's answer correct or not?
let mr koh salary be "x".Originally posted by newcomer:Mr Koh's salary to that of his wife is in the ratio 4:3. Each of them saves $246 and spends the rest of their money. If Mr Koh's expenditure to that of his wife is in the ratio 18:13, find their total salaries.
Any help would be much appreciated.
P.S: Kind of embarrassed to not able to solve this qns for my little cousin.