your whole life and all your blood and sweat. that is the singapore system. and pls note that all that you "own" is only rentedOriginally posted by ELK-05:In your own opinion,
how much will be required to,
1. Buy your own flat. (downpayment)
2. Marriage. (Wedding band, dinner)
3. Buy your own car (decent saloon)
here in Singapore...
ermm..okay...Originally posted by hisoka:your whole life and all your blood and sweat. that is the singapore system. and pls note that all that you "own" is only rented
30k???? for house?? abit low isn't it?? considering a flat will cost at least a few hundred k.Originally posted by ELK-05:ermm..okay...
Now let's talk figures..how much do you think you'll need in cash..
I reckon,
30K for housing,
10K for the wedding,
30K for the car.
Anyone in the know, or have already been through that stage in life care to share?![]()
I think i mentioned deposit in the first post...Originally posted by hisoka:30k???? for house?? abit low isn't it?? considering a flat will cost at least a few hundred k.
or are you talkign about deposit alone??
oopz sorry never see. paiseh.Originally posted by ELK-05:I think i mentioned deposit in the first post...
Very few people, especially young couples pay full amount....
I have no idea how much will be enough...it's just a rough estimate..How much do you think is required for a hotel wedding with say about 20-30 tables?Originally posted by MooKu:10K for wedding?
Unless it's going to be very small-scale and simple with few guests, is $10k enough?
yup..of course..Originally posted by hisoka:oopz sorry never see. paiseh.
anyway just bear in mind the installments. and for the car too. its not exactly pretty
have you considered renting a house?? no capital out lay and if you are lucky maintainence of the house also the other party payOriginally posted by ELK-05:yup..of course..
For the house, we could use our CPF to pay off the installments every month ( guess that's the best use of CPF)....Just have to make sure that there is sufficient input every month and that we stay employed!
The new car is the least important. The current one we have can last another 4-5 years...that will buy us sometime before we change..
I'm at that stage of life where you start to really think about the future with all the numbers and bills that come at you!
Sad but true...But it's part of settling down in SG, we've all got to go through it...Originally posted by digicharat:all the figures you posted are for downpayments which you worked your ass off for a few years before can pay them.
then after you paid the downpayment of everything, you have to slog your whole life away to finish the loan.![]()
We'll be living with my parents after marriage..so I don't think renting is the option for us..Originally posted by hisoka:have you considered renting a house?? no capital out lay and if you are lucky maintainence of the house also the other party pay![]()
I'm not very clear either, but my sibling is getting married so I roughly la hor heh.Originally posted by ELK-05:I have no idea how much will be enough...it's just a rough estimate..How much do you think is required for a hotel wedding with say about 20-30 tables?
Oh and the 10 K takes into consideration the Ang Baos collected that day..
hmmz rent out you flat and rent a landedOriginally posted by ELK-05:We'll be living with my parents after marriage..so I don't think renting is the option for us..
We're thinking of moving out to a bigger flat that can accomodate the family.
Bethrothal gifts?Originally posted by MooKu:I'm not very clear either, but my sibling is getting married so I roughly la hor heh.
Assuming one table cheap cheap $500, 25 tables will be $12,500 already.
Bridal gown and groom's suit (assuming no best man and bridesmaid) - cheap cheap $3000?
Plus if your family is traditional, you also have to take into account the ang pows for the younger ones, bethrothal gifts for your bride (jewellery!)...
Hrmmm okay lah maybe heh if you take into account the ang pows...I dunno.
Originally posted by ELK-05:So far from what I've gathered, I'm only expected to give her mom's side at least 10 tables..
Oh and the cakes too! Her mom's side will need to give out cakes right?Originally posted by ELK-05:Bethrothal gifts?I forgot abt those...not sure if it applies in my case..I've gotta check it out...hahaha...
So far from what I've gathered, I'm only expected to give her mom's side at least 10 tables..
I've had friends whose parents bought them a new flat. Others buying cars as wedding gifts..Originally posted by digicharat:my neighbour sponsor their son's wedding dinner.
Isn't it one?Originally posted by hisoka:you guys are making the wedding sound like a nightmare and serious money burner/waster![]()
any ideas how to convince a girl to forgo all that crap??![]()
Chinese restaurants are fine too..We haven't decided on the venue yet though..there's still about 2-3 yrs to plan for it...Now it's just the fund raising part...Originally posted by MooKu:Oh and the cakes too! Her mom's side will need to give out cakes right?
My wedding dinner hor, is referring to those in traditional CHinese restaurants and not hotels. If you're not planning to use their wedding invitations, remember to take into account the printing costs for your wedding invites.
It's not a nightmare..only just a big financial headache...Originally posted by hisoka:you guys are making the wedding sound like a nightmare and serious money burner/waster![]()
any ideas how to convince a girl to forgo all that crap??![]()
hold it together with the full month thingyOriginally posted by ELK-05:It's not a nightmare..only just a big financial headache...
But I feel its a must to hold a wedding dinner...It's once in a life time for the bride..
We'll ROM first...then hold the ceremony maybe a yr later..![]()