For A level syllabus, just get 10 year series and the notes by any JC. VJC and TJC notes I'm not too favourites with them because when I was doing my As I read my friends' notes from these 2 schools and it seems they include stuff which is not required of us to study about. Don't know about other JCs but go for my school ones, TPJC. They are good!Originally posted by BillGates:Dear All,
I wish to provide tuition to O levels and perhaps A levels students after I graduate next year to earn some extra pocket money.
I'm currently doing an engineering degree and I hope to make it for 2nd Upper. (Else it's end of academic career for engineering) The last time I touched O levels subject was almost 8-10 years ago and I did not take the A levels.
How should I go about familiarising with the current syllabus and what kind of tuition approach should I adopt? ( That is, to teach or to help out when the student has query)
What is the rate for tuition now?
I plan to give tuition on Mathematics and Physics.
I plan to give tuition on Mathematics and Physics.[/b]I currently give tuition for 'O' level Biology, 'O' level Chemistry and 'A' level Biology (my favourite!).
Woah.. thats really deep... Hehe.. You must be a genius..Originally posted by UltimaOnline:I currently give tuition for 'O' level Biology, 'O' level Chemistry and 'A' level Biology (my favourite!).
'A' level Biology just had a major revamp of the syllabus. It's completely different from the 'A' level syllabus of previous years, and it's even completely different from the 'A' level syllabus from Cambridge and the rest of the world for 2007 and 2008 exams!
Singapore has it's own special syllabus, called H2 Biology, syllabus code 9747, created not by Cambridge, but by SEAB (Singapore Examinations and Assessments Board). Now 75% of the Biology syllabus is focused on molecular biology, molecular genetics and biotechnology. Basically bringing forward 1st year University stuff like Restriction Fragment Length Polymorphisms (RFLPs). SEAB says it's in line with the Government's move to push into Life Sciences for Singapore.
I actually enjoy teaching and tutoring the new H2 syllabus much better than the previous 'A' level syllabus. Those of you taking in JC1 this year taking H2 level Biology, Cheers and Have Fun!!!
wtf $100 per HOUR?Originally posted by Xcert:there was one guy in serangoon area teaching sec 4 maths last time...private terrace house...100 bucks per hour...but he's good lar...accountant by training...tutor by profession...
no....their parents are carrots kena choppedOriginally posted by xfool:wtf $100 per HOUR?
their parents millionaire is it?
I'm glad I faked my credentials real well.Originally posted by Xcert:there was one guy in serangoon area teaching sec 4 maths last time...private terrace house...100 bucks per hour...but he's good lar...accountant by training...tutor by profession...
Actually, I'm more concerned how to coach the students. And hope they don't give me stun questions. I'm just a normal student here who SAF (Study and Forget) too.Originally posted by newmanmback:now parents are very particular about the tuition teachers they can and i am sure they will want every dollar paid worth the money for their children. i am disappointed for someone who is studying up to higher levels of the tiertary education to ask....silly question here once again. go book stores browse the text books for the upper secondary level..see what students are learning now...if u do not know what to teach dun teach coz u will only plunge your students' results into the depths of hell
Say its a package deal lor, bridge, sand, and airspace.Originally posted by BillGates:Actually, I'm more concerned how to coach the students. And hope they don't give me stun questions. I'm just a normal student here who SAF (Study and Forget) too.
BTW, really can charge $60? I thought $25 to $35 only.
Like that how abt Masters and PhD grads, can charge more?
if u are cheap, ppl might think u no good...Originally posted by BillGates:BTW, really can charge $60? I thought $25 to $35 only.
Like that how abt Masters and PhD grads, can charge more?
every improvement in grade entitled to claim one buffet voucher from the mother.Originally posted by JLennon:any tutor with performance-linked bonuses?![]()
lidat no point tutoring kiasu distinction scoring students.Originally posted by FireIce:every improvement in grade entitled to claim one buffet voucher from the mother.
if child is school top student the tutor can redeem a cruise for 2 to phuketOriginally posted by JLennon:lidat no point tutoring kiasu distinction scoring students.
Where got so good deals one.Originally posted by FireIce:if child is school top student the tutor can redeem a cruise for 2 to phuket
if the child is singapore top student, the tutor can redeem a return trip ticket to las vegas
You think too much already.Originally posted by FireIce:if child is school top student the tutor can redeem a cruise for 2 to phuket
if the child is singapore top student, the tutor can redeem a return trip ticket to las vegas