i tot only forum_dude 1 isOriginally posted by huiz:coz the keyboard spolit liao......![]()

Oy! Me Bored...........................Originally posted by coffeeortea:for example
hi, i am extremely bored
vs
hi....... i am extremely.......... bored............
which one is more convincing?
Originally posted by kivichio:its an informal speec/conversation orientated style of writing. Its meant to convey the pause within a statement, or perhaps to denote the way we end a statement.
Noticed that some people punctuate each sentence or fragment with a "......" even though a comma or even a full stop would be the logical choice.
I can understand the usage of Singapore slang or internet abbreviations as they increase the speed at which you can type and articulate yourself, but "......." requires six key strokes instead of one.
And its not just in SGForums, or even singapore forum sites. Its everywhere on the internet.
An example (left annonymous):
[b] Yet another jive pad spawn ....
list down all the kopitiam exoticas you can think of ... see which of you can confound the kopitiam aunties ... Twisted Evil
"aunty ! ... teh si siew tai ka nai ! ...... Laughing
(Its included even after an exclamation point)[/b][/b]
i dun understand what you are talking about............................................Originally posted by banzie:Simply because writing message has evolved. In the past there is no need as letters written are read days later. But for now we often chated and messaged in real time. The words helps to expression your expression better. It is useful. Its rubbish to think that a language should forevever remain the same. Even english language evolved over time since ancient time to suit us better. Mean are also often changed. So therefore language changes to suit us now better.
Originally posted by kivichio:mai huan lo la...
Noticed that some people punctuate each sentence or fragment with a "......" even though a comma or even a full stop would be the logical choice.
I can understand the usage of Singapore slang or internet abbreviations as they increase the speed at which you can type and articulate yourself, but "......." requires six key strokes instead of one.
And its not just in SGForums, or even singapore forum sites. Its everywhere on the internet.
An example (left annonymous):
[b] Yet another jive pad spawn ....
list down all the kopitiam exoticas you can think of ... see which of you can confound the kopitiam aunties ... Twisted Evil
"aunty ! ... teh si siew tai ka nai ! ...... Laughing
(Its included even after an exclamation point)[/b][/b]