WHAT THE FCUK??Originally posted by valentinoo:Lee Kuan Yew: Race, Culture and Genes.
Three women were brought to the Singapore General Hospital, each in the same condition and each needing a blood transfusion. The first, a Southeast Asian was given the transfusion but died a few hours later. The second, a South Asian was also given a transfusion but died a few days later. The third, an East Asian, was given a transfusion and survived. That is the X factor in development.
Lee Kuan Yew at the University of Singapore, 27 December 1967, as reported by Chandra Muzaffar in his letter to the author, 14 August 1996.
Racism is rarely far from the surface of Asian societies, and this is especially true of those multiracial societies that feel the need to promote racial tolerance as part of official ideology. Yet even in these cases, promoting racial tolerance does not necessarily imply the promotion of racial indifference. Singapore's multiracialism, for instance, encourages a high consciousness of one's race even as it insists on tolerance. Further, it has been considered by many as a covert form of discrimination in favour of the majority Chinese and against the minorities, especially the Malays. This article is an attempt to advance our understanding of Singapore's idiosyncratic version of multiracialism by casting new light on the thinking of its primary architect, Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew.
Despite official denials there can be little doubt that there is an unofficial pro-Chinese bias in Singapore, and that in spite of the structures of "meritocracy," and sometimes because of them, the Malay minority in particular has suffered structural discrimination. Even a cursory survey of recent history confirms this impression. For two decades after separation from Malaysia in 1965, for instance, the Singapore government had an unofficial policy of excluding Malays from the Singapore Armed Forces and the police force because of concerns about their loyalty. Not only did this practice deny Malays a traditional source of employment, but it made other employers reluctant to hire them because they were, technically, still eligible to be called up.(1) At the same time, the government exaggerated, possibly unintentionally, the structural impediments to Malays' educational advancement. At the time of separation from Malaysia, Malay students in Singapore had already been disadvantaged inadvertently because they were streamed through Malay-language schools which were staffed by under-qualified teachers, and which used substandard Malay-language text books.(2) These schools had very high attrition and failure rates from the beginning, but after separation even the successful students faced unique linguistic and academic hurdles in their pursuit of higher education. After separation, not only did the Malays find that their language had little economic value, but they discovered that their schools had not prepared them for tertiary education in the new Singapore. The first problem was that unlike Chinese-educated Chinese attending Nanyang University, and English-speaking Chinese, Indians and Eurasians attending the University of Singapore, the Malays had no tertiary institutions in which they did not face a language barrier. In fact Malay students' command of English was so poor that they alone were required to take an oral examination as part of their entry requirements to university. Further, as part of the push for national and economic survival in newly-independent Singapore, university scholarships were restricted to those students pursuing technical and science disciplines, and the inadequately staffed and poorly resourced Malay-stream schools had left their students singularly ill-equipped to qualify or compete for these scholarships.(3) The Malay's problem was compounded by their continuing socio-economic marginalisation,(4) and by the near-universal perception that their underachievement reflected their racial and cultural defects: that they had grown up in the "soft," lethargic Malay culture which did not encourage studiousness, enterprise or hard work. Between their educational and employment disadvantages, and the psychological impact of being told that their problems were the result of their ethnic culture, it is not surprising that Malays are still at an economic disadvantage today.
rest of the article is here
http://www.expatsingapore.com/ubb/Forum7/HTML/001200.html
coz im from singapore fool....this is an article based on facts...wht stir up racial discord...Originally posted by vito_corleone:racism against other races exist in more extreme forms in m'sia, indonesia and thailand, why you never highlight...you could be thrown in jail for trying to stirr up racial discord
wow dumb ass ..its also taken from NTU lollOriginally posted by kahlen:The website is "EXPATsingapore".
How TRULY reliable is it?
I call this article bullshit.
the article is written in 1999....Malay started slower? explain...Originally posted by OH-FF:1967 leh , So long ago , that time Malays started a bit slower , so must admit that it's relevant during that Time lah!!![]()
(10) A few years earlier, Lee used his 1989 National Day Rally address to defend the Government's programme of encouraging Chinese immigration from Hong Kong on the basis that the birth rate of Singapore's Chinese is lower than that of the Indians and Malays. The numerical preponderance of the Chinese must be maintained, said Lee, "or there will be a shift in the economy, both the economic performance and the political backdrop which makes that economic performance possible."(11) Lee enumerated several reasons why maintaining the Chinese proportion of the population at current levels was necessary for economic prosperity - including the "culture" and "nature" of the Chinese. Without a hint of irony, Lee also took the opportunity to assure Malays that they need not fear Hong Kong immigrants taking their jobs because the immigrants will all be high income earners. In 1977 Lee treated Parliament to a four hour post-election victory speech which could best be described as "uninhibited." In this speech, Lee told the multi-racial chamber, "I understand the Englishman. He knows deep in his heart that he is superior to the Welshman and the Scotsman.... Deep here, I am a Chinaman."(12) In recent times, Lee has not only been more forthright about his racial views, but he has also confirmed that he held them at least as early as the beginning of the 1970s. In October 1989, in an interview with Malaysia's New Straits Times, Lee revealed that after he read Mahathir Mohamad's The Malay Dilemma(13) in 1971 or 1972, he found himself "in agreement with three-quarters of his analysis of the problem" of the economic and educational under-performance of the Malays.(14) According to Lee and Mahathir, the problem was both cultural and genetic.(15) Lee noted with approval that Mahathir's views were the "result of his medical training, and ... he was not likely to change them."(16)wow now i understand why there is so many HK and China ppl here...
They started to accept other races into their community slower. And also learnt to build competition slower with the competitiveness of other races.Originally posted by valentinoo:the article is written in 1999....Malay started slower? explain...
any malays here who agree wid this guy assumption?Originally posted by OH-FF:They started to accept other races into their community slower. And also learnt to build competition slower with the competitiveness of other races.
An Example is that Some "Malay-blood" is still trying to find indifference plausible. When actual fact , there is always a difference , Juz like why you think that Japanese "Neh Neh" is more expensive than that of the Fhilipino.
Competition is not about who can do better "Cheap Labour" its about quality and also adding value to the whole "products" of the community.
how u know they r exaggerated?Originally posted by kahlen:It's not 100% true, lots of the sentences are exaggerated. Sigh.
ya.. slower start at 1967 and till 1999 someone still talking about it as slower...like what PAP will tell u... some ppl dun wan to run faster but except others to slow down and let them pass?Originally posted by OH-FF:They started to accept other races into their community slower. And also learnt to build competition slower with the competitiveness of other races.
An Example is that Some "Malay-blood" is still trying to find indifference plausible. When actual fact , there is always a difference , Juz like why you think that Japanese "Neh Neh" is more expensive than that of the Fhilipino.
Competition is not about who can do better "Cheap Labour" its about quality and also adding value to the whole "products" of the community.
will u agree that u are stupid?Originally posted by valentinoo:any malays here who agree wid this guy assumption?
r u trying to imply that malay r stupid?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):will u agree that u are stupid?
crap crap is ok.. thinking that u are so great and start calling others name are not...![]()
Nothing against the more sophisticated Hongkies, but the mainlanders are a major threat, especially those from the Far North. Even people in Guangdong cannot stand them.Originally posted by valentinoo:wow now i understand why there is so many HK and China ppl here...
i am trying to imply u are stupid.. regardless of race. get it?Originally posted by valentinoo:r u trying to imply that malay r stupid?
now u r being racist....
well neways wht do u think of the article? or u cant be bothered to think?![]()
so you mean to say what goes on in other parts of the world is insignificant and you're trying to display either a self-centred or superior attitude?Originally posted by valentinoo:coz im from singapore fool....
since you talk so much go down to oz lor still complain what farkOriginally posted by valentinoo:i dont understand u Faggots here...this is about Singapore..keep bringing other countries in for FARK....i think u guys has no problem wid it coz u dont face it...and when u migrate to australia..then complain kanna racist remarks...
eediots