Pray, specifically how would contraceptives degrade marriage as an instituition? For some married couples, no contraception means bearing more kids than they can afford. And this lead to stable and strong families? This is the exact problems they have in developing countries - no contraception, too many kids in poor families.Originally posted by twocents:Read Lucas' article again. He's saying that the ad attempts to equate 'contraceptive' to 'wedding ring'.
Such an association degrades marriage as an institution, and stable family ties as a building block of society. Since the govt recognises stable and strong families as a building block of society, some govt department needs to be responsible to vet advertisements to ensure that they are in line with the mainstream societal values and ethos.
The article's call for relevant govt depts to exercise more oversight is justifiable. But the govt dept concerned of course also reserves the right to respond or not respond.
if looking at the event singularly, its wrong to pinpoint the guy based on his religionOriginally posted by laoda99:i wonder why christians always take the blame....haizzz
They like taking the blame what, let them be.Originally posted by laoda99:i wonder why christians always take the blame....haizzz
Apparently someone needed to drag up other stuff or else he had no case.Seems to me that's a agenda hunt by a chappie who has too much time on his hands.Originally posted by twocents:Rubbish.
Lucas Ho Wei-Jie didn't mention he is Christian in the Straits Times article, nor did he say he is speaking on behalf of Christians. The viewpoints expressed are his own, and are just traditional. Lucas could be Buddhist, or Muslim, or Hindu, for all we care. His article doesn't tarnish any image of any religious group.
I think you're a bit confused.Originally posted by laurence82:Pray, specifically how would contraceptives degrade marriage as an instituition? For some married couples, no contraception means bearing more kids than they can afford. And this lead to stable and strong families? This is the exact problems they have in developing countries - no contraception, too many kids in poor families.
Who said they are? You brought up the word. Mainstream doesn't mean universal. As there is mainstream, likewise there will also be sub-stream, sidestream and sub-cultures.Originally posted by laurence82:Are you sure these are universal values?
actually it might turn into a troll or bar thread if we discussed his issue as he is. dun u think so?Originally posted by laurence82:actually, like i said, the event could still be debated without needing to take into account the religion of that guy, issue is issue....
i just dont like this pushing of his values on the whole of Singapore through the government
people will get influence......why don't you post positive ads instead or some others ads.............and yet our society will not change because of an ad but that ad is one of the way to influece minds of the pple and slowly slowly........Originally posted by FireIce:the ad itself is innocent
it's up to ppl to interpret as they like......
i think it's a pretty good campaign
our society will not change bcos of an ad
Masochism?Originally posted by laoda99:i wonder why christians always take the blame....haizzz
there are cognitive differences between our state campaigns and private sector media drives.Originally posted by ^tamago^:ads' influence can only go thus far. it's up to the human mind whether to accept it or not.
if they're so effective, we would have been able to do things like arrest the fall in birth rate, reduce smoking rate etc. the ads have been around since the 80s, but human mind and practicalities are more significant factors than a poster campaign.
Actually, for me, his choice was condemned not simply because of his choice, but his lack of argument and strong support for his stance.Originally posted by LazerLordz:there are cognitive differences between our state campaigns and private sector media drives.
the effectiveness is laid out pretty clear for all to see.
Lau, yes, at the risk of reducing this to a GY style top-down approach, I'm only saying that we don't have to drag religion into a matter of personal morality and choice.He doesn't like where this is going, and it's his free choice too.
We cannot denounce the choice of one man just because the majority thinks he is por-lampahing the state or GY's misguided words in a weak, pathetic defense of state policy.
It's a free choice to lobby for more conservatism, perhaps realpolitik dictates that by due logic, an endorsement of a campaign by the state does have a bigger weight, and ironically, isn't that what we have been lacking? Citizen-driven social activism.
paiseh la.Originally posted by laurence82:Actually, for me, his choice was condemned not simply because of his choice, but his lack of argument and strong support for his stance.
And LL, speak write in simpler england leh.>.<
Meaning letter writer should not start writing letterOriginally posted by monoslayer:y ppl here like to argue in chim chim english one.. i read liao headache leh.. aiya.. each one say one sentence less n the world will b a better place!![]()
The idea is that even if contraception is sometimes beneficial within a marriage, but if contraception is equated to marriage, then the concept of marriage is degraded, because marriage should be much much more than just contraception alone.Originally posted by laurence82:Again, people still cannot specifically state how contraception can degrade marriage. Its not enough to say marriage is marriage, contraception is contraception and whats all this talk about giving partner IUD? I see contraception as a first an foremost guard against unwanted pregnancy in pre-marital sex, if and only if we cannot forestall such action. It plays a part in marriage, by inculcating the values of family planning, rather than bearing more kids than one could afford. Of course, religiously, i cannot prescribe such course of action for Catholics or the Muslims.
Will contraception then degrade the instituition of marriage? Rather, contraception plays a part in the instituition of marriage, and other things, including prevention of unwanted pregnancy, AIDS, STDs and other ills.
In an argument, its not enough to state your own values in the guise of a good analysis. Its not enough to state marriage is marriage, contraception is contraception, and then stating that anyone would doesnt know is confused. The validity of your argument is challenged when people starts to ask 'why would these two be mutually exclusive?'. I have already pointed out how these two things are linked.
Again, I found someone trying to apply the utilitarian-Jeremy Bentham-what not views in rather disturbing ways. Pray what is defined as the mainstream values and norms, I asked this before, before you blatantly state that the government has the duty to uphold the societal norms and values yada yada.
Because this sounds a lot like the PAP, when questioned about matters such as censorship, George Yeo, for example, was yakking away about Asian conservative values without defining what they are, and worse of all, to simply state that and turn that into a policy 'supported by the majority' of Singaporeans.
Its not universal as you admit, that has broken some freedom of rights, you could not define and prove what they are, you have already exhorted a dictatorial-utilitarian view so commonly used by authoritarian government. I think, before the debate goes on, we have to stop this value-stating as if they are right and happened to be there, before anyone could could go in and analyse the issues deeper.
The flimsy explanation doesn't change my perception that Tamago has a private agenda and was trying to provoke attacks against Lucas personally and Christians, going by his earlier posts.Originally posted by ^tamago^:it's quite strange that there is nothing on his blog that suggests he is an extremist, and knowing what he is in his daily life merely affirms what he is. do u actually thought that has been detrimental in this discussion? would it have the same effect if i had merely stated that he is xtian? at least giving him a friendster profile gives us an idea of how he is like.
do u know why i have set it in the first post? if not, we will merely be disgraded to a discussion dictated by a first few posts of innocent forummers who come in and say things like, "is he human?" or "is he a man?" and no one looking at the kind of background he is coming from.
if i simply put a note saying he is a xtian, or just a staunch one, would u not guarantee tat ppl will be misled and start stereotyping faster than they type here? their minds would have wondered elsewhere. it's better setting the record right. this is what he type, verbatim. i dun judge (other than giving my viewpoint and invoking a discussion) him based on wat he type and then cover it up completely saying "this guy is like this, this guy is like that" which is dangerous, i provide the resource for everyone to read it for himself and make his stand.
i put this here so that we can have a proper discussion about it, cos, indeed, the discussion has degraded to senseless one-liners at edmw and no one had posted it here. we had discussed such difficult topics like jc-poly (pls dun start again) and things like tat, why not this?
in any case, i have put my stand that he is not going to do any good to xtians in general. i've been in and out of the xtian circle, and i've been in discussions with a lot of outsiders who had misjudgements about xianity, and shun it at any meagre attempt to explain. evangelism will become harder. this will only make the task harder. this is my view. in any case, i'm standing on top of it, not saying he is right or wrong, but telling you this is the consequence.