Not only that, but if you are proficient in 3rd languages and you are very adapatable and have overseas experience.Originally posted by Marco_Simone:MFA can forget it unless u have a sibei zhai 1st class honours...
Either that or you can blast in with a 1st class, you can't go wrong with a first class honorsOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Well, Arts graduates thrive better in nations with a mature tertiary sector that supports a large academic, media and policymaking base, with countless lobby groups and think tanks.
Since we are seen as general degree holders, guess we have to add our own value, in terms of pervasive analytical skills, even media skills like photography, editorial services...
It's full spectrum from now on, the more you can do, the better.
Originally posted by sohguanh:No arguments there... if u want to study for a specific purpose or aim, it pays to do some homework first instead barging in blindly.
My proposition is if want to go to less hot faculties, you have to excel and cannot afford to be just the typical common graduates. You have less leeway as compared to hotter faculties graduates.
My definition of hot may offend some but hey it is my 1 cent worth of opinion![]()
sure... you wait long long...Originally posted by DriftingGuy:The moral of the story is: Dont care what faculty or which university of iceland you come from. As long as you get 1st class honors, most of the big MNCs will open their arms and welcome you with high paying jobs and a high flying career![]()
x2Originally posted by CX:Thats why grads, irregardless of the degree, must work towards getting marketable work experience instead of instant gratification by "signing on" with MOE.
I still think that teaching is NOT easy money and NOT worth the sacrifice.
Originally posted by sohguanh:i wouldn't rule that out... most applications are modular anyway. can always outsource the less sensitive ones.
As for Indians cheaper, do you dare to build customised military IT systems using Indian programmers?
this is very untrue okieOriginally posted by vito_corleone:even in supposedly hotter courses, with a 3rd class degree you're as good as unemployed![]()
then u just get a passing degree and lemme see where u end up lor.Originally posted by Steph84:this is very untrue okie
how about u get a first class honours from whatever vietnam ho chi min sonofabitch university and then apply for a high paying job?Originally posted by DriftingGuy:The moral of the story is: Dont care what faculty or which university of iceland you come from. As long as you get 1st class honors, most of the big MNCs will open their arms and welcome you with high paying jobs and a high flying career![]()
then simply dun mention abt the honoursOriginally posted by vito_corleone:even in supposedly hotter courses, with a 3rd class degree you're as good as unemployed![]()
very obvious one the degree will just put there "so and so has taken so and so subjects"..employer will knowOriginally posted by FireIce:then simply dun mention abt the honours
say u have a bachelor's only loh
Actually not really true.. some companies rely heavily on their psychometric analysis and interview evaluation to judge whether a candidate can get a job or not.. While a 3rd class might have difficulty securing an interview in the first place should he manage to get one (many do) they might actually outperform those with 2nd lower/2nd upper...Originally posted by vito_corleone:even in supposedly hotter courses, with a 3rd class degree you're as good as unemployed![]()
you try getting even a lower 2nd class honours in law and attempt to enter the bar, be it here or even in the uk you see how much "evaluation" they'll bother to give you.Originally posted by DriftingGuy:Actually not really true.. some companies rely heavily on their psychometric analysis and interview evaluation to judge whether a candidate can get a job or not.. While a 3rd class might have difficulty securing an interview in the first place should he manage to get one (many do) they might actually outperform those with 2nd lower/2nd upper...
Of course if you have 1st class, president of student committee, organize this shit organize that shit, was dean's list the whole time and have great personality plus excellent communication and soft people skills and have a rich lao bei with connections then I got nothing to say la![]()
Hmmm you 2nd lower class honors law students don't get to take the bar exam to become a lawyer? I am not too sure how law faculty works but going by the bell curve, a huge number of students would be 2nd lower and below right.. perhaps approximately 60%? So only 2 out of 5 law students go on to have a chance to become lawyers?!Originally posted by vito_corleone:you try getting even a lower 2nd class honours in law and attempt to enter the bar, be it here or even in the uk you see how much "evaluation" they'll bother to give you.![]()
2nd upper class honours you can become a socilitor at best, in the uk you can still apply to enter the uk bar and in other countries, as for 2nd lower class honours, at the very best a socilitor, as for becoming a barrister you can forget itOriginally posted by DriftingGuy:Hmmm you 2nd lower class honors law students don't get to take the bar exam to become a lawyer? I am not too sure how law faculty works but going by the bell curve, a huge number of students would be 2nd lower and below right.. perhaps approximately 60%? So only 2 out of 5 law students go on to have a chance to become lawyers?!![]()
I see.. so a 2nd lower law student can still represent clients but could never ever be an expert on the law right? Does a 2nd lower lawyer who has been practicing for a long time ever get to be a barrister eventually? Or is this predetermined right from the point when they graduate that they will never rise to that level of position?Originally posted by vito_corleone:2nd upper class honours you can become a socilitor at best, in the uk you can still apply to enter the uk bar and in other countries, as for 2nd lower class honours, at the very best a socilitor, as for becoming a barrister you can forget it![]()
err upper 2nd class honours you can represent clients as a barrister in most commonwealth nations, however as far as i know, lower 2nd class you'll never become a barrister, only a socilitor at best(only can give legal advice), you may wanna consult the primary legal institution for more info. in singapore its strictly 1st class honours from certain universities only due to the saturation of the industry. i'm not sure about engineering though i'm not an engineer.Originally posted by DriftingGuy:I see.. so a 2nd lower law student can still represent clients but could never ever be an expert on the law right? Does a 2nd lower lawyer who has been practicing for a long time ever get to be a barrister eventually? Or is this predetermined right from the point when they graduate that they will never rise to that level of position?
Actually in engineering, 1 or 2 peeps I know who are getting 1st class honors are actually rejected by some companies while job hunting with the reason "they seemed too brainy for actual work"A lot of them actually went into R&D which sees the need for higher levels of education like a masters or doctorate... which given their academic excellence is actually appropiate i think
Then theres medicine on the opposite end of the spectrum because from what I heard from friends there is less pressure on them for achieving a better honors rank since most government hospitals/clinics will employ them anyway... at least thats what I remember anyway
Walao thats farked up man.. like that they study so many years come out only capable of giving legal advice and its a huge number some moreOriginally posted by vito_corleone:err upper 2nd class honours you can represent clients as a barrister in most commonwealth nations, however as far as i know, lower 2nd class you'll never become a barrister, only a socilitor at best(only can give legal advice), you may wanna consult the primary legal institution for more info. in singapore its strictly 1st class honours from certain universities only due to the saturation of the industry. i'm not sure about engineering though i'm not an engineer.![]()
as for doctors you can be assured most likely you'll get a job because the gov is kiasu about controlling and reserving medical jobs for locals due to national security reasons